Twitter – You’ll like it because we say you will.

on

I’ve written a few times about the “promoted tweets” feature of Twitter, but today I’m looking at the release of news that refers to rogue Tweets that may appear in your timeline because Twitter thinks you want to read them.  If that wasn’t unwelcome enough, you can’t opt out, so listen to Twitter, these rogue Tweets are what you want to read.

“One of our goals for experimentation is to continue improving your home timeline. After all, that’s the best way to keep up with everything happening in your world,” said Trevor O’Brien, director of product management at Twitter.

Source: The Inquirer

So, in theory this sounds great.  But great for who?

But there are times when you might miss out on Tweets we think you’d enjoy…..To help you keep up with what’s happening, we’ve been testing ways to include these Tweets in your timeline – ones we think you’ll find interesting or entertaining………..

Source: The Inquirer

I’m not sure when the purpose of social media was lost.  Maybe it was potential advertisers eyeing up the audience with greedy eyes? Maybe its Twitter trying to find ways to cash in on its massive user base?  I don’t know about other users, but if I’m looking for a topic, I’ll search for it.  If I’m interested in a trending topic I’ll click on it.  What I don’t think is condusive to a good social media experience is for complete strangers thoughts to pop up in my timeline when they are not even responding to something I’ve written.  When I want Twitter to give me strangers posts I’ll opt in, not have it thrust upon me with no option to opt out.  Lets hope that this “experiment” finishes shortly.

Some users on Twitter have been quite vocal about their dislike for this new feature and to me its purpose it obvious, it’s a way for Twitter to explore future money making opportunities.

I’ve a policy of blocking any user who promotes their Tweets.  Looks like I’ll be blocking the random strangers too.  I think Twitter, like other online services will quickly realise that users have a plethora of other options open to them.  Social media is transient and the next FB or Twitter is just around the corner (as well as the plethora of options already available).  Having these type of “features” is no bad thing, but take away people’s ability to remove them and you’ll find your user-base looking elsewhere.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter says:

    Me too.

    Wayne

Leave a Reply

