Venting in an old fashioned blog rant

Its time for a rant and a collection of annoyances from over the past few days.

They say its better to express it rather than bottle it up, so if I can entertain you at the same time then that will be an added bonus.

My first annoyance from this week is Youtube. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to sit through a forced 30 second commercial.  The main offender here seems to be Microsoft pushing its new console.  I’m fed up with it.  Sales for the Xbox One must be really dire.  Youtube has become somewhere far less appealing to me, I now find myself frequenting its treasure trove of goodies far less.  I suppose that’s no bad thing.  I should be getting on with work instead.

The professional troll.  Ever since vile people found they could make money on television, there are pretenders popping up all over Twitter.  Hiding behind their computer screens and an ethos of “It’s free speech, if you don’t like it don’t read it” they spread their abuse around the web in the hope that someone will give them a job. (Thats my theory anyway).  These bastions of bile have not yet realized that we do have freedom of speech, just with that freedom comes a little personal responsibility.  As adults I think we accept that actions have consequences, but these cowardly trolls who seek to upset people under the guise of faux “campaign” can’t grasp that its possible to put your opinion over without insulting complete strangers.

I’ve already ranted about Google Glass.  Its now been seen on Prince Charles, which I assume is some sort of endorsement.  For me a recommendation about tech from the Prince is akin to a recommendation for an antiperspirant deodorant by Steve Ballmer.  Google glass fan boys/girls can be a funny lot (and sometimes quite aggressive in their advocacy) there’s a good name for them which I saw on the net “Glasshole”

Here’s one thing that made me chuckle:

Microsoft has launched a buyback program to try to get MacBook Air owners to part with their laptops and replace them with new Surface Pro 3 devices.

Source: Computer World

Really? Trade in a Mac for Microsoft’s offering? That’s like swapping a Lotus for a pedal cycle.  At least it shows Microsoft is getting a sense of humour.

I feel better after that.  Thank you for your time.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter says:

    Man, Microsoft must be desperate.

    Wayne

    1. openbytes says:

      I think the release of Vista signalled the beginning of its desperation…

      1. Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter says:

        I’ll disagree with you. I think that Microsoft’s desperation goes back to Windows 95, when they shipped a product that was a technical failure.

        Yes, it sold a lot of copies. Yes, it gave them the first OS that could really compete with Apple.

        But it was an utter piece of crap.

        Before Windows 95, people often bought the upgrade. After Windows 95, people stopped buying upgrades unless they absolutely had to. Which is why I still know people running Windows 98.

        Wayne

        1. openbytes says:

          Its a fair comment, however my memory of time had hardware upgrades being very popular as everyone jumped on the “top specs” bandwagon to play some of the emerging 3d which up until then on 16bit amiga’s et al, had not been as impressive, we were also at that time (if memory serves) fully into the mult-media swing of things….then maybe my dates are off a little.

          1. Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter says:

            Think you’ve got the timeline right.

            But just because they hotted up their computers, often to play the latest MSDOS game (or run a BBS), it doesn’t mean they upgraded to Win95. After hearing about problems from friend who had upgraded, I stuck with Windows 3.1 for a long time.

            1. openbytes says:

              Right, now when I try to define specifics things get a little moody… So please feel free to correct things that I’ve mixed up….

              I remember buying a Pentium 100mhz to play Wing Commander 4. I believe it had to run on Windows 95 and I upgraded my specs and software accordingly this was one of many that didn’t run in the dos and were part (imo) of the revolution of gaming on the PC where the race for the ultimate specs was never ending and very costly….. 3.1 never impressed me mainly because I came from Workbench 1.3 which I found vastly superior in every way – although that could have been more to do with the fact I had used Workbench for years.

              1. Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter says:

                Hmmm. My memory was that Wing Commander 4 was a DOS game, but hey, that was 20 years ago🙂

                Did you know that Chris Roberts is working on a new game, the one he wished Wing Commander could have been?

                Star Citizen

                1. openbytes says:

                  You may be right there, my memory gets a little mixed, however I do recall a shift in gaming where Win95 was required. I was almost sure it was Wing Commander it may be something else.

                  As for Elite – Have you checked out the Pioneer project currently running?

                  1. Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter says:

                    No, do you have a link?

                    1. openbytes says:

                      I’ve covered it a few times over the years here…. Its a Elite: Frontier clone

                      http://pioneerspacesim.net

                      Absolutely fantastic FOSS project…..quite mature now too.

              2. Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter says:

                And then there’s Elite

Leave a Reply

