Web round up – Anonymous, Politics and Elite!

For many people (myself included) their computing memories of yesteryear revolve around this game.  The great news is the universe continues.
For many people (myself included) their computing memories of yesteryear revolve around this game. The great news is the universe continues.

Well not so much about politics since I’ve found an article results in a minefield of bad feeling, strong emotion and outright trolling played out in my comments section.  Suffice to say, with one or two exceptions, politicians are self serving weasel worded free loaders.

On that note I’ll start by mentioning UKIP.  Over the last few days they have tried to prove they are not a racist party and created something of a circus.  As usual with the interwebs, the only news about UKIP which trends is the news which looks bad for them.  Let me make my views on UKIP and similar parties very clear – I think their views are dangerous.  Sure, UKIP tries to put a shirt and tie on those of the BNP and EDL ilk, but the underlining message is the same in my view.  I’m very pleased to see Croydon as one of the many places to make a stand against this party.

A UKIP member called Croydon a “dump” and that could not be further from the truth.  I will make a point of visiting Croydon next time I’m in the area.  Any place that stands up to people like UKIP is a great place in my view.  So well done to the residents of Croydon who rise above the views of UKIP. – The local election results are coming in as I write this so I won’t make any further comments.

Another few days march on and I’ve still not recorded my solo effort – Techbits.  I have switched off Twitter in order to get some work done and whilst that seems obvious to anyone who doesn’t spend their working life in-front of a PC, for me it felt strange and isolated to run a machine without instant connection to the web.  That being said, without distraction I have finished much of the work I required and I’ve done a few calculations:

After checking my web-history and activity, on average when the on-line facility is available, here is how an 8 hour day of mine breaks down:

Playing online games – 1 hours

Twitter/web – reading/responding/following links – 4 hours

IRC/hangouts (chat) 1 hours

Doing actual work – 2 hour

Obviously times are rounded off, but it goes to show, 2 hours in every 8 being productive when I’ve the facility to go on-line.  I had considered getting my old 286 out of the loft, but that requires a dangerous adventure up a wobbly ladder and the navigation of loose boards just asking me to put my foot through the ceiling.

I’ve been listening to Anonymous Radio and despite initial concerns that it would be a radio show where people talked about setting the world to rights thinking they were trendy, I have been mistaken so far.  They have guests, tackle some decent subjects and its a good listen.  Not sure about the music element since there are many places to get that already, but its talk show element is decent enough and I’ll certainly listen again.   Strangely on their website you can log in with your Facebook account which sort of makes a mockery of the whole Anonymous ethos, but there you go.  AnonUK radio uses Spreaker and that’s a service I’ll be using for the next few weeks.  It’s web-based UI is very intuitive and it’s a great way to get your audiocast out there.

Remember the game Elite?  A while back now I covered the fan fiction writing of Drew Wagar who extended the Elite universe through his writing.  Drew launched a kickstarter appeal to fund him purchasing the rights to an official Elite novel and the time is almost here for the people who donated to get their copy.  This is a title both fans of the Elite universe and sci-fi in general will love.  There’s also Lave Radio where you can here the Elite universe expanded on pod-cast.  Check it out!

Yes the Olympics are Satanic! At least according to some.  To others they were a waste of money that inconvenienced people and held no interest to them.
Yes the Olympics are Satanic! At least according to some. To others they were a waste of money that inconvenienced people and held no interest to them.

On an unrelated note, there’s some footage of The Shard in London being struck by lightening.  For most of us I would assume that this is merely something of interest, but to one person in the comments section of the article, its because the Shard is apparently some sort of Satanic Structure.  They go on to say about the Occult Olympic Games, which if you were like me and didn’t want the Olympic Games and had no interest in them, the idea at least makes the Olympics more interesting – It’s the sort of stuff you’d get from David Icke and followers.  Whilst I think him and his crew talk utter nonsense, he is very entertaining and proves to me, that too many Sci-fi films are very bad for you.

Leave a Reply

