Take a stand against people paying to push their products onto your timeline.  Save Twitter!
Take a stand against people paying to push their products onto your timeline. Save Twitter!

A short post for today and it’s simply an appeal.

Over the last few weeks I’ve noticed that “promoted” tweets and users are being put into my timeline.  I’ve spoken to others who have reported the same issues.  I’ve tried to switch them off with the option in settings, yet to no avail.

I am not against Twitter making money from companies and their services, to which I would suggest that if companies want a Twitter account then they simply have to pay and then they can compete for your attention on equal grounds to everyone else – no promoted tweets for anyone.

People seem to forget, this is a social media.  It is a social media which is supposed to enable users to be social.

If people don’t want Twitter turning into another Facebook with in your face adverts all over the place, you need to say no now.

If you block and dismiss any user who promotes their account/services, there will quickly be a message sent out that people are not interested in their marketing campaigns.

I had intended on making a name and shame list of all the companies who would pay to push their products onto you, however I’ve spent the last hour blocking so many that it will take too long to list.

So if you don’t want Twitter turning into Facebook, join me now. #nospamforme