OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHaving a paid extension on my Google Drive capacity (100gb) cloud storage is something which I am increasingly coming to rely on in the days where I am not limited to one particular form factor for my productivity.

Unlike many users, my use of Google Drive is a little more than merely family photographs/video and is also a place for me to conduct the draft versions of much of my on-line writing.

Today, some users are experiencing Google Drive issues, be it intermittent connection or nothing at all.  Funnily enough I first encountered the problem (without being aware of the issue) when trying to access the drive via my Samsung S3.  I put that down to being in a bad signal area and not a fault on Google’s part.

Since returning home, my desktop PC connects, albeit slowly and I find the matter has been reported by other news outlets.

The affected users are unable to access Google Drive. We will provide an update by 3/18/13 4:10 PM detailing when we expect to resolve the problem. Please note that this resolution time is an estimate and may change

http://crave.cnet.co.uk/software/google-drive-down-for-some-google-investigating-50010686/

I also noticed another error today on the Google Drive (which does not seem to have been reported).  In one of my folders I have a collection of birthday pictures, it seemed that when I selected a picture from the preview thumbnail on my desktop PC, the picture shown was not the one selected.  Could this issue also be linked to the problems with Google Drive? We shall see.

In the meantime it does raise some important questions.  How does a cloud storage outage affect you? For most, it will be nothing more than an inconvenience but for a business, the results could be catastrophic.

It will be interesting to see what the cause of the issue is and one thing can be sure, with Microsoft’s competing Office 365, we can guarantee a slew of articles showing why you should choice Microsoft’s offering.

We can also expect this issue to be held up by the anti-cloud crowd as being the flagship reason why you shouldn’t trust your data to it and maybe cloud computing/storage’s greatest test of consumer confidence (depending on the severity of the issues Google Drive has)

Tim (Goblin)

Mail: bytes4free@googlemail.com

Skype: tim.openbytes