Intro music: “I fought the troll” by Tom Smith.  You can find more of his work here.

Hosts: Tim (OpenBytes) Roy (Techrights) Gordon (Thistleweb)

Featured Track: “I fought the troll” by Tom Smith.

Episode 32 is hosted over on TechRights: http://techrights.org/2011/02/22/techbytes-episode-32/

What happened to the show notes and links for Episode 31? I hear you ask.  I’m sorry,  due to my painting and DIY me and the family have been away from home so things have been pretty disorganized.  Putting that aside though, I’ll crack on with todays show.

First up we discuss KDE and KWIN, desktop effects and useful “eye-candy”  Myself and Roy go through some of our desktop favourites.

How to get a performance hit on Linux? – I mention that Linux handles just about whatever you throw at it.

Handbrake 0.9.5 is mentioned: http://handbrake.fr/details.php – As well as the often overlooked Avidemux: http://Avidemux.org

We talk about the new release on Wine and consider if running Windows  binaries is as mission critical anymore.

We discuss Android fragmentation and Google bowing to pressure from others.

Sir Steve of Ballmer – Not tea with the president but he’s being knighted in France?

Tablets – Microsoft, Microsoft, where for art thou Microsoft?

Chromium – Ive got a problem with it!

Copyright infringement: USA – The judge and jury of the world

All this and much more contained within 2 hours of Ogg/mp3 entertainment!

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com / TwitterIdenti.ca

You can also contact me on Skype: tim.openbytes

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the OpenBytes statement, here.