Some say Christmas has become too commercial, that the message behind Christmas is buy, buy, buy – followed with drinking and eating to excess………I’d agree and I love every minute of it!

So with the most important day in my family calendar done with, I’ve excelled myself and scored a win on four counts.  Firstly, I managed to be on the money with the wife’s presents.  Secondly I managed to watch Doctor Who uninterrupted, thirdly, at no point during the merriment did I receive the “look” from the wife which (amongst many other meanings) says “Stop drinking now or there will be trouble later”.  Finally I managed to avoid any Cliff Richard this year, he failed to get me either on TV or radio, theres nothing more anti-festive then a plastic Cliff popping up to sing a vomit inducing Mistoe and Wine.

Whilst TV showed the unavoidable array of talentless fake people, one good piece of entertainment was the Christmas Special of Doctor Who.  The specials are unique since they are standalone episodes to be enjoyed by all (not just Doctor Who diehards) and don’t really play an integral part in the Doctor Who timeline.  This year saw a take on a Christmas Carol, which worked very well having a slay (of sorts) being pulled by a flying shark, driven by the good Doctor.  Only Doctor Who can make all this plausable – and entertaining.

The rest of my day comprised of being sociable and playing GT5, which even has had a lengthy review on Linux Outlaws.  Its a great game and a very good reason to get a PS3 (if you haven’t already got one)

Looking towards the new year, TechBytes is hoping for an episode tonight, however this will be dependent on my mobile hotspot holding out.  Failing that it will be when I return home in the next couple of days.

My Christmas on ICE (Peppermint ICE) has gone very well and I’ll probably be mentioning that in the near future as I have been totally reliant on the work by the Peppermint Team to keep me productive over the festive period.

Finally, I’d like to wish everyone a happy and peaceful time.  Thank you for reading, thank you for listening and thank you for commenting.

All the best,

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com / TwitterIdenti.ca

You can also contact me on Skype: tim.openbytes

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the OpenBytes statement, here.