Intro music: “I fought the troll” by Tom Smith.  You can find more of his work here.

Hosts: Tim (OpenBytes) Roy (Techrights) Gordon (Thistleweb)

Featured Track: “Pianist Envy” from Chilly Gonzales

Today the show focuses on software patents, with a peppering of current news thrown into the mix.  I believe bad weather conditions contributed to rather poor connections during the course of the show, however the three brave souls battle elements to bring you episode 14!

Gordon recommends an oggcast in respect of copyright / patent issues:

http://www.softwarefreedom.org/podcast/2009/jan/20/0x05/

We look at Microsoft and mention the alleged sales of WP7, where Android outsells WP7 15 to 1 – Thais not surprising and Roy brings up a previous article I wrote about the relationship between Oprah and Microsoft:

https://openbytes.wordpress.com/2010/11/28/cry-havoc-and-let-slip-the-dogs-of-war-is-oprah-to-get-wp7-next/

I briefly mention the site mykindofphone.com which to me seems to try very hard to appear not from Microsoft, I also mention the Twitter response when I challenged it.

We talk about the “tax” Microsoft is putting on Linux phones and the companies victimized, along with considering the Apple market and the “power” of the Apple brand in respect of the user.

I briefly mention a MMORPG that has kept me occupied over the last day or so which will see a review shortly on OpenBytes and we end on Roy’s choice of track.

TechRights is currently hosting the audio (and Roy’s show notes).  I will be uploading to MediaFire shortly.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com / TwitterIdenti.ca

You can also contact me on Skype: tim.openbytes

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the OpenBytes statement, here.