TechBytes Audiocast – Episode 11 – 22/11/10

Intro music: “I fought the troll” by Tom Smith.  You can find more of his work here.

Hosts: Tim (OpenBytes) Roy (Techrights) Gordon (Thistleweb)

Featured Track: SPARKLE” by Honey Sac (published in SXSW 2009 Showcasing Artists)

We continue with part two of our discussion on Microsoft FUD and tactics, including privacy/security we then conclude with looking at the following articles:

NY lawyer gets jail in Dead Sea Scrolls case

Chinese bride sentenced to hard labour for retweet

Jolicloud’s Jolibook Netbook Hitting Stores

Due to time constraints, I will link to TechRights for episode 11 and will host on Mediafire by Monday.

UPDATE: The ogg version of episode 11 can be found here and the mp3 here.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com / TwitterIdenti.ca

You can also contact me on Skype: tim.openbytes

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the OpenBytes statement, here.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. satipera says:

    Very useful programme. The average punter thinks that if a company succeeds it must be because their product is superior or they have just worked harder in a “free and fair market”, not in the case of MS. I have to say though that the most memorable part of the audiocast for me was when you said that maintenance of Linux systems was so low after install that you missed the constant tinkering needed to keep an MS OS working. I laughed loudly until I remembered I was listening in ambulatory mode on my Ogg player and quietened down. That is the reason I left MS behind. I did not realise you were a masochist. I expect to hear shortly that you have sold your overly reliable Toyota and have imported a vintage Trabant with which you expect to be spending quality tinkering time with🙂 I really enjoyed the programme, please continue the good work.

    1. openbytes says:

      Thanks for the comments and I’m hoping you will be coming onto the show soon.

      In respect of “tinkering” it was sometimes quite rewarding to fix a Windows issue, especially when you look at the rather unhelpful (if any) error messages. That being said, I am strange, I am a 35 year old man who posts a picture of himself on the net in a cowboy hat and a “smeg head” t-shirt calling himself Goblin – Its a wonder I ever got married.

      I suppose though at the end of the day I wanted to get things done and whilst tinkering was fun it was rather a distraction from other more productive things.

      The plus of moving to Linux (on top of a far better computing experience) is that when a crowd of Windows users approach me saying “Help, I can’t get XXXXXXX working”, I can turn around and say “Sorry, I can’t help you, Im a Linux user”

      It always makes me laugh when I heard some people “claim” Linux is unusable and full of issues….I long for the day I have to get “down and dirty” with the CLI.

      Masochist? Probably! More likely though, I’m just a little unhinged.

      Kindest regards

      Tim.

Leave a Reply

