TechBytes Audiocast – Episode 1 – 01/11/10

For the official first episode, it’s a shame that work made me miss an important feature.  Brandon Lozza is the guest today and being a Fedora ambassador, he is getting ready for the release of 14 on the 2nd of November.  He covers numerous topics with Roy and its a very interesting piece.

Roy and I talk about Apple, Android and Microsoft as well as discovering a difference in view with the word “consumer”.

We have a quick look at an article on Techrepublic and consider what our Windows binary of choice would be – Since FOSS offers so many great alternatives, it was not such a simple choice and I think our selections are far removed from the traditional Photoshop request.

I then take a quick overview of feedback, question why some people are claiming that I have a problem with the mp3 format.  And finally I quote the email of the week.  A two-word attempt at an insult, which was probably the funniest email I’ve ever received.  I’ll share that with you at the end.

Music for the show is by Tom Smith who kindly agreed to let us use it. Check out his great work on his homepage here.

TechBytes Episode 1 – ogg

TechBytes Episode 1 – mp3

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jargon Meatdead says:

    Waffles taste better when served with maple syrup.

  2. Jargon Meatdead says:

    These are so bad I almost (key word here) feel sorry for you guys. First, what’s the deal with the theme music? It literally sounds like the MIDI playback from a Sound Blaster 16 card run through a garbage disposal. Dump it. Right from the gate you’ve got to hit the dozen or so listeners right in the gut. Like what the Linux Outlaw guys are doing. Oh my God, when it starts out you hear that cool voice doing an impersonation of someone even more awesome than themselves… “Six Gun Productions, New Media, New rules”….. it’s so hardcore mega awesome! It just screams FOSS!

    1. openbytes says:

      Hello, firstly thanks for the feedback. Regarding the tune, many people have said they like it and more importantly both myself and Roy do. It kind of apt in respect of your comment because I noticed you’ve been trying to put that exact comment through a different handle and a proxy which appeared on the blocklist.

      Please don’t nymshift on my blog. Be responsible and stand by what you say. I am not yet in a position to check if the comment above is hidden behind an anon proxy, but suffice to say if it is it will be blocked.

      I have no problem with criticism, its when people do it hidden behind a proxy.

      UPDATE
      ——–

      And after returning home I find out I was right with my suspicion an insecure proxy used to plant comments here.

      For those that don’t know, I block IP’s which transpire to be people hiding their identity (with an insecure proxy) after a most vulgar and insulting tirade by one individual towards readers of this blog. Since then I have kept up to date with a decent blocklist, however theres some new ones now…

      Those have been added and whilst the comments from “Meatdead” will stand, no more will be accepted from that IP range. If “Meatdead” wants to post, they will have to do it under their own IP or not at all.

      As I say comments are welcome (good or bad) as long as you are willing to stand by them like I do mine.

Leave a Reply

