Update on OpenBytes policy – A relocation!

I won’t be censoring anyone, I won’t be deleting anything

Over the last few days Ive been giving that statement some thought.  Those who remember Robotron from his early posting will recall that he would try all sorts of tricks to try and get the better of me in debate of whatever false claim he was trying to make.  That for me was fine, as people saw he was easily shown up.  When it became obvious to Robotron that he couldn’t better me in a debate, his posts became increasingly vulgar and after the many comments of support, Ive made a decision.

Ive always prided myself on allowing freedom of speech for everyone, I think its a fundamental right and certainly something which should be supported on my blog.   Robotron tested that freedom by insulting just about anyone he could, posting the most vulgar and insulting comments.  If I was the only target it would not be a problem, I certainly can handle any petty insult Robotron’s twisted mind could conjure up.  However I found myself being offended on behalf of the other readers of this blog in probably the sickest display of comments Ive ever seen coming from one poster.

For the rest of you nothing will change.  I’ve always said I welcome a challenge to my opinions and prefer people disagreeing with me and having a good debate rather than all commenters “singing from the same hymn sheet”.   There should also be no automatic holding of comments when you post them.

For Robotron though, he cannot be allowed to post his filth here and by the time you read this measures are in place to prevent him from doing so.

I would ask you exercise a little patience whilst the filters are in place but since Robotron has proved over the last few days that he can offer nothing of value, his posts will be filed in the same place the ads for jewelry/shoes, in the spam bin.  Whilst the filter is being refined some of his vulgarity may slip through, so still exercise caution.  If there is such time when Robotron is able to post without using vulgar terms, he may be allowed back on.   In the meantime he will be gone and he will have to find another outlet for his vulgar and twisted mind.

I will still keep my no censorship policy by keeping all of his held comments and publishing them all every month or so on another site (to which I will post a link if anyone’s interested) these comments of his will be unedited, so whilst I don’t want them in my comments section insulting others, I can give him his freedom of speech elsewhere when I paste all of his comments in a text file that I will offer fir download every month or so.

Has Robotron “won”? Yes, I supposed he has, if his mission was to have his material moved from my comments section,  although since his posts will be still be offered for download, I’m not censoring anything, merely moving.  He has though managed to test even my freedom of speech policy and maybe people like Robotron show that the world is not yet ready for complete freedom of speech because some abuse it.

I don’t make this decision lightly.  As many who have known me over the years, Im stubborn and don’t change my mind on anything very easily.  If it wasn’t for the amount of contact by readers supporting such a ban and a flurry of new commenters giving me support, I don’t think it would have been as easy to reach this decision.

I draw no inference to the motives behind Robotron’s decision to try to destroy the comments, but one thing is certain, he could not do it with adult debate and had to resort to what we have seen over the last few days.

Rambling aside, I’d like to say to everyone else, continue posting – agree with, disagree with me,  I don’t care.  Thank you for allowing me to write on OpenBytes by reading and giving me over 2 years (so far) of enjoyment.

Unfortunately for Robotron OpenBytes will be “closedbytes” his filth will be published elsewhere.

Kindest regards

Tim.

UPDATE: He’s really gone for it this morning.  Alot of IP address (and ranges) have been blocked.  Quite simple to tell which proxies he’s using.  All have been reported to in regards to whats been posted here and hopefully he will find that some of them are not as anonymous as he thinks.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Tim,

    There are some people who don’t deserve to be considered human, and I’m afraid that Robotron appears to be one of them.

    As you know, I had a similar problem, and had to clamp down on comments. I didn’t like it either, but sometimes you have no choice. In effect, what you and I both have done is attempted to protect the those who enjoy what we are doing, from those who have no aim other than destruction.

    As to Robotron learning anything, I doubt that he or she will. But that’s his or her problem, not yours.

    Wayne

    1. openbytes says:

      Thanks for that….Your post helped me refine the filter slightly.. I suppose the test will be when Robotron tries his luck next…. I am pasting the comments into a text file so he still gets to “express” himself and Im still giving him his freedom of speech. I’ll have the file for download next month.

      1. Glad to be able to help!

        1. openbytes says:

          Now the test will come when Robotron starts up again.

          I hope he gets some satisfaction out of his hollow “victory”. He should be pleased, we are both happy now, I get to keep my free speech ethos and he gets the stage to himself in his very own textfile where he can rant as much as he likes, still uncensored and free!

          Fingers crossed the measures Ive put in place won’t need much tweaking when he starts his next round of potty mouth.

  2. Richard says:

    Good riddance. I may call you a troll, Goblin, but at least you’re a troll with enough good sense to recognize an obvious griefer. Just don’t let your aversion to swearing qua swearing become something to ban posters for …

  3. openbytes says:

    Hi Richard,

    I would love to discuss your definition of “troll” in more depth and how it applies to me. as I can’t really see how one can troll ones own blog or for putting my own opinions, but thats probably something we will cover in the future….

    RE: Swearing, you make a good point. Personally I don’t like it, however there’s others that use it and this relocation of Robotron and his expressions is for him alone, everyone else has managed to post here without being as grossly offensive.

    I hope people continue to post as they would normally do. In some instances there may be some refining to the filter, but the other measures to ensure Robotron’s posts get collected into one place should also help.

    Its going to be very easy to export all of his posts to a text file every month or so and when thats done I can offer the download for everyone to view if they wish.

    Everyone’s happy! – Sort of.

  4. I see the little slime is still trying. I know that you’ve always tried to treat people with respect, but this character doesn’t deserve any. It’s one think to argue with someone over a point, it’s another to do nothing but call names.

    It really makes you wonder how some people get so twisted.

    1. openbytes says:

      Is there some comments the filter has missed? A few slipped through earlier but it allowed me to refine further. Im not just running a filter…..

      Quote “It really makes you wonder how some people get so twisted.”

      Yeah, although in Robotron’s case he became twisted and sick because his “argument” was far too weak to better me in adult debate and he also lacked the intelligence. This is much easier for Robotron because he can just flood with vulgarity, lashing out at the world in frustration.

      Kind regards
      Tim.

      1. I got them in the email update, but they didn’t show on the site. I’ve emailed you the works.

        Wayne

        1. openbytes says:

          What is interesting in this whole sorry affair is that even the posters who fundamentally disagree with nearly everything I say, all seemed to agree with me about getting Robotron off the site and non of them support him. If he can’t even get the support of people who don’t agree with what I say, what hope is there for him?

          He couldn’t win the argument like an adult, so he tries like a child. The amount of abuse and death threats which I have received has surprised even me. Unfortunately for Robo the only place you can read it will be in his special text file available next month…

          Hows that for “Open” readers? I even let Robotron have his voice on Openbytes (albeit relocated)

          Kindest regards to all,

          Tim.

          1. He couldn’t win the argument like an adult, so he tries like a child.

            I’m going to disagree with you on that point. In my experience (and I have three of them) children don’t act like that. Spoiled adults act like that. Think Paris Hilton. Or Lindsay Lohan.

  5. stonemirror says:

    I think this is a tempest in a teapot, Tim, mainly because you’ve somehow gotten the impression that moderating comments constitutes some sort of “censorship”. This is decidedly not the case. You’re not a government, and you’re not infringing anyone’s freedom of speech by disallowing their drooling in the space that you’ve created and maintained here.

    If a troll insists on having his say, he can certainly set up his very own WordPress site, at no cost, and be as vituperative as he likes there. “Freedom of the press” does not mean that you’re free to use my press.

    Ban him, and don’t apologize for it, it really is just as simple as that. Don’t, however, indulge in the kind of nasty rhetoric that I’m afraid Wayne has fallen into here. Everyone “deserves to be considered human”. Go ahead and make the case that they’re a deficient human, but don’t expect a degree of respect that you’re not willing to show yourself.

    1. stonemirror says:

      (Actually, a very small number of people have, in my opinion, forfeited their right to be considered human, but the list runs to people like Idi Amin, John Wayne Gacy, Ted Bundy, Jeffrey Dahmer, etc.)

      1. openbytes says:

        Hi!

        Thanks for commenting. I think a “flaw” in my view is that I believe in a freedom of speech for everyone and even more so on a forum that I create (after all, I expect people to read my work, I should allow the same courtesy to them). I quite agree with it being “a storm in a teacup” what concerned me though was that other people had grossly offensive remarks directed at them. I don’t know the age range of readers to my blog or each of their views but I would expect many would have been disgusted by the filth that was posted.

        That being said though, I would not wish to display double standards, after all who am I to “judge” other peoples remarks?, and if I merely blocked the posts I didn’t like, how could anyone be sure that I wasn’t blocking difficult questions or people who were challenging my views with a damn good counter. I offer the vulgar posts (with full details of the thread, message number etc) so people if they wish can view what that troll had to say, at least they have a choice instead of merely stumbling across the filth in the middle of a conversation.

        Kind regards

        Tim.

Leave a Reply

