Audacious 2.4.0 – New release!

Audacious has its origins as a fork of Beep Music player and as it matured has been the media player of choice for me for a long while.  The latest release is 2.4.0, which doesn’t fail to impress with updates to its GUI and a plethora of features that you’ve come to expect from the creators of what to many is the defacto media player on their distro.

Audacious offers support for a huge range of codecs, including but not limited to: mp3, ogg, FLAC, wma.  You can see just how comprehensive this support is over at the official page: http://audacious-media-player.org/features

Get yourself a copy of this fantastic package today, if Audacious is not your default audio player, then shame on you!

http://audacious-media-player.org/

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the OpenBytes statement, here.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Actually I prefer VLC – use it for both audio and video (including downloaded flash).

    1. openbytes says:

      Im sure VLC just made a new release too……could be wrong….have to check.

      1. chew says:

        VLC had an update recently

        1. True, but only to the Windows version, to close the Microsoft Windows DLL security hole. It’s rather funny, we are seeing fixes from all the independent software people, but nothing from Microsoft itself.

          1. chew says:

            Linux and OSX as well, auto update picked it up last week on my Linux box

            1. Chew,

              You have to go to the website and read Security Advisory 1005 which says:

              Security Advisory 1005

              Summary : DLL preloading vulnerability
              Date : August 2010
              Affected versions : All VLC media player versions up to 1.1.3
              ID : VideoLAN-SA-1005
              CVE reference : CVE-2010-3124

              Details

              Due to the DLL loading design on Windows, VLC loads automatically a DLL from the current directory, if it doesn’t find it in VLC’s application directory or in system directories. A few modules of VLC are affected (only Qt4 and DMO are known at the moment).

              I suspect that they recompiled the OSX and Linux versions at the same time to keep the version numbers synchronized.

              Wayne

  2. Agent_Smith says:

    Say what you will, but for me, nothing surpass XMMS.

  3. Robotron 2084 says:

    GUI improvements? How bad was it before? This thing looks like the retarded offspring of a marriage between Winamp and Foobar 2000. Winamp is old as hell but its original skin from 15 years ago looked a lot more polished. The other skins aren’t much better. Wake me up when it starts looking as good as XMplay.

    1. openbytes says:

      Strange as it may seem, some end users prefer functionality over pretty visuals that hide a poor foundation….others don’t….

      Personally aesthetics don’t really hold much weight and in any case using it on my Sabayon rig it fits in rather nicely.

      Can I just confirm, are you being serious this time or are you just trying to “push my buttons” as you said before? It would be nice to know so I can measure a reply accordingly.

      Kindest regards

      Tim.

      1. Robotron 2084 says:

        Don’t be a tool. It’s an audio player, not an office suite. There isn’t anything remarkable about the functionality of Audacious in comparison with any other player for any other platform, even ones over a decade old. I don’t need to make things up to push your buttons. I can just call a turd a turd.

  4. openbytes says:

    Don’t be a tool. It’s an audio player, not an office suite…

    Ah…I see you are trying with “pushing my buttons” (as per your previous confession).

    Robotron, Im not sure what you are reading but I don’t believe I put it on a level anything more than it is, a media player.

    Funnily enough in the #techrights channels (please check the logs for yourself) I spoke with one of the Devs of Audacious, where if you care to look I stated that I didn’t even use the playlist feature and my need of a player was merely for podcasts and the odd music track, I think I made its “mission critical” status very clear (in respect of my needs) There could be 1000 packages which do exactly the same job as Audacious, but since Ive settled on it, it gives me the functionality I require and Im happy, why can’t I say so?

    Im not sure where mentioning a new release of software is classed as being a “tool”. Does that make you a “tool” then for XMplay?

    There isn’t anything remarkable about the functionality of Audacious in comparison with any other player for any other platform, even ones over a decade old.

    Agreed completely. Audacious though is the player Ive settled on, is defaultly packaged with Sabayon and fits very well with the default theme.

    On the subject of XMplay though some great news, since you say:

    Wake me up when it starts looking as good as XMplay.

    I checked the Wine compat chart and it appears XMplay is Wine compliant.

    Tell me Robotron how do my comments make me a “tool” for Audacious and yours don’t for XMplay…..

    I don’t need to make things up to push your buttons.

    Well you have made things up and that didn’t work. Infact every other tactic you’ve used – hasn’t worked either.

    I can just call a turd a turd.

    I think the level on which you operate was very clear even before that latest comment.

    Now Robotron, when are you going to live up to your promise of suggested harassment until I moderate the comment section?

    Let me remind you Robotron of what you said:

    I’ll continue to selectively comment anytime I wish until you break down and start moderating comments.

    Nope Robotron, its not working and it appears my writing is certainly pushing your buttons – I’d suggest you just don’t read it, my intention is not to bring people like yourself who cannot behave like adults to my blog. Of course the choice is yours…as Ive said I will never moderate comments.

    Tim.

    1. Robotron 2084 says:

      You’re getting all hard about functionality and foundations then you argue that Audacious is so great despite the fact it offers nothing exceptional and looks awful. Your praise over something shitty and your reasons for supporting it just because it’s FOSS makes you a tool. You know that, I know that, and the few hapless fools that stumble by to read this know that too. Be a man and just argue directly with someone instead of playing your little game of “You say this but I’ll twist it around to mean something else.” I promise you won’t regret it.

      Something you will regret is your choice not to moderate or censor comments. I’m going to make it happen, even if it means I have to go up to the next level. That being violent and sexual comments directed towards your you and your loved ones. All the way up to threats on your very life. You’ll either crack and start some form of censorship or close up shop altogether. You’ve got something to lose. I don’t.

      Moving on, the WineDB is about as trustworthy as a tabloid newspaper, but short of putting down that 12th pizza slice and installing it yourself, it’s the only thing you’ve got to support your limp dick arguments. WineDB is often wrong and only if you took the time to run XMplay yourself would you find that the GUI doesn’t display correctly and it has a tendency to up and disappear (crash). I can verify that from personal experience. Even the current entry in the database mentions the test results are very old.

      No matter where or how you run XMplay or Audacious, one looks like a horse’s ass and the other looks acceptable. Why even bring up Wine at all except to give you something to appear right about?

      1. openbytes says:

        Quote “You’re getting all hard about functionality and foundations then you argue that Audacious is so great despite the fact it offers nothing exceptional and looks awful.”

        I’ll ignore your rather silly “hard” comment (as I say, despite your admittion you won’t be able to push any of my buttons) and just say, it offers what I want and I don’t think it looks awful….what feature would you like to have seen? For me (as I said earlier, maybe you forgot) all I need is the occasional MP3 player. Audacious fits the bill and suits my Sabayon theme well. – Stop wasting my time Robotron, its called opinion.

        Quote “Your praise over something shitty and your reasons for supporting it just because it’s FOSS makes you a tool.”

        Liar. I praise some proprietary software too. Infact I settled with Sabayon because its the out-of-box proprietary formats that give me the functionality I want.

        Quote “Be a man and just argue directly with someone instead of playing your little game”

        Robotron, I only debate your comments directly, I even quote them. Maybe you can example otherwise? You would know all about “being a man” I suppose? Hide behind “Robotron” without ANY point of reference to your own efforts on the net. Please though keep trying to insult me. I grew out of rising to childish remarks like that years ago. And for heavens sake think what you type. We are talking about software here, not world peace. Maybe you should get out more.

        Quote “Something you will regret is your choice not to moderate or censor comments”

        No I won’t (and I’ll quote your words again at the end so people can be reminded of what you are trying to do) Do you seriously think your immature potty mouth will make me moderate? lol – you are merely showing yourself up.

        Quote “Moving on, the WineDB is about as trustworthy as a tabloid newspaper”

        I believe coming from you thats rather rich. People can always test for themselves.

        Quote “it’s the only thing you’ve got to support your limp dick arguments”

        How old are you Robotron? Argue like an adult and I’ll answer you.

        Quote “I can verify that from personal experience.”

        Yep and you’ll forgive me for not believing a word you say. If you said you were telling lies I wouldn’t believe you.

        Quote “one looks like a horse’s ass”

        And your silliness continues. Talk like an adult. I’ll respond properly.

        Now Robotron, I’ll remind everyone of your words previously so people can decide how much weight to put into your words, if that immature tirade was not enough, here’s your previous stance:

        Quote “I’ll continue to selectively comment anytime I wish until you break down and start moderating comments”

        No Robotron, it won’t work. Please continue.

        Keep trying,

        Tim.

        ADDITIONAL:

        Since Robotron seems to like his XMplay (and brought into question the WineDB) I installed it myself on Sabayon 5.3. It works fine, no problems at all.

        I still prefer Audacious, but XMplay default theme does fit in quite well with Sabayon too. I’ll get around to updating the WineDB shortly.

        Heres the screengrab of my desktop and XMplay playing a track….It’s “I fought the Troll” by Tom Smith….😉

        http://twitpic.com/2mdghj

        1. Robotron 2084 says:

          Listen, fat boy. I enjoy wasting your time. I consider myself a contributing factor in your early death. Given your approximate age and weight, proper exercise and diet are needed to get you up and off the computer. I’m betting the only exercise you get is sex. That’s assuming you could even get an erection to penetrate the layers of fat around your pimple-ridden groin to plow that hairy beast you call your wife. Still, what’s more important is getting back on-line to defend your honor. I’m just doing my part to keep your drumsticks banging away on the keys. You can’t just keep it simple, can you? You have to respond in agonizing detail, just to be sure you feel like a real man, ha ha ha. Well, giddy up and grab another bucket of chicken, bitch. Keep em’ coming.

          I don’t give a shit if you praise proprietary software or not. That wasn’t the point. Again, you can’t be direct, you have to change the context and meanings of what other people argue. Read again, I said you praise shitty FOSS programs because they are FOSS, period. End of point. I never even used the word proprietary, nor did I imply that you praise or discredit other software. Don’t worry, I’m sure you convinced everybody else. *wink, wink*

          Forever the broken record, you keep talking about efforts on the net. May I remind you again, not a single thing you’ve done on the net is worth two hot liquid brown shits. That’s the same for most anyone else on the Internet who feels high and mighty about themselves because they blog, tweet, or podcast about some bullshit somewhere. I know you believe you are doing all these great things. In the meantime, while you’ve got your lips around Roy’s cock swallowing that sweet load, keep telling yourself, “I’m winning! (on the Internet at least)”

          1. Listen, fat boy. I enjoy wasting your time. I consider myself a contributing factor in your early death.

            And this is why I now moderate comments. It’s impossible to have a serious conversation with trolls.

          2. openbytes says:

            lol. What a potty mouth you are.

            BTW, Im not fat, Im festively plump.

            1. Robotron 2084 says:

              Oh, it’s gets much worse, but I wanted to share a little something first. There are 5 main problems with XMplay under Wine.

              1) The playlist and EQ windows float above the main window when you slide them in. You were too lazy to move the panels yourself to see this. Click your mouse on the edges and slide them in. Oops!

              2) On the options menu, navigating to another page without making any changes still prompts you, “Are you sure you want to discard the changes?”

              3) No drag and drop, lol.

              4) Slow as fuck to start after being closed because Wine has to be restarted.

              5) It will crash, assuming you do more than play just one song and post a picture of it on the Internet.

              Yet again, your pictures don’t tell the whole story. But, we wouldn’t want that, now would we?

              1. openbytes says:

                People can try it for themselves. Non of those issues you listed, but then who are you trying to convince now? Do you think anyone will take you seriously after your little display?

                The only point you make which I can’t categorically deny is the “it will crash”. It hasn’t yet, but who knows in the future.

      2. OK, I just have to step in here.

        You’re getting all hard about functionality and foundations then you argue that Audacious is so great despite the fact it offers nothing exceptional and looks awful.

        I did a comparison between Audacious and Windows Media Player. Audacious was a lot nicer. Oh, and unlike WMP it wasn’t spyware.

        Something you will regret is your choice not to moderate or censor comments. I’m going to make it happen, even if it means I have to go up to the next level. That being violent and sexual comments directed towards your you and your loved ones. All the way up to threats on your very life. You’ll either crack and start some form of censorship or close up shop altogether. You’ve got something to lose. I don’t.

        That is correct. You’ve already lost you mind, so there’s nothing left to lose.

        1. Robotron 2084 says:

          You bore me.

          1. openbytes says:

            Im sure…

            Nothing else to say eh Robotron…I thought you were on a campaign to make me moderate?

            1. Robotron 2084 says:

              I have plenty more to say, my tiny penis wielding friend, but this small remark had nothing to do with you.

              1. openbytes says:

                We are perched on the edges of our seats, Im sure.

Leave a Reply

