When must you shill for Linux? – A rather disturbing idea.

How many times have people accused me of “Microsoft Hater”, “Linux Zealot”, “Linux Unwashed”?  Comments like these (and many more vulgar ones) are often thrown by a Microsoft advocate with no argument to any person who dares to suggest there is an alternative to their products.  Its easy to dismiss a point of view with a single insult and the practice has been going on for years (and will for many more to come).

The purpose of this article is to report on a Linux distro and ask the question what would Linux users do?

I reported recently that I had been trying Elive and that due to the apparent lack of continuation of Wolvix (thats now changed) I was trying out many distro’s for my new distro of choice on the main rig.  With that in mind I eagerly downloaded Elive, from the professional site and the nice trailer it had me sold on at least a download and test.  And test I did.   The LiveCD functioned very speedily and was a very solid, reliable piece of software.

So far so good? Well no.  Due to limited time I had been running my secondary rig off the LiveCD and had not got around to installing it on the HD.  My mistake, if I had, I would not have wasted tweets (and lines in IRC) saying how good a replacement to my beloved Wolvix it was.

So what went wrong?  Well, whats not made clear is that Elive in fact wants a donation.  In itself not a problem at all, I fully support and champion the idea that hard work should be rewarded/supported, but Elive does it a little differently.  Firstly it requires payment before you can install it, so to me the donation comes as something of an enforced user contribution.  Secondly if you dislike the ethos of DRM, then you are not going to be happy at the fact that in order to ensure you have paid, an “install module” (unique to your PC apparently) has to be downloaded and present after payment.  Great stuff? This all came as a bit of a surprise since it is not clear on the site that you cannot install without payment, but the bigger surprise for me was yet to come if you want to get a “free” code to install Elive without payment:

Write an article about Elive on any website you like, we give you a free invitation code for this, depending of the importance of the website and how good the article is you can obtain up to 5 invitations.

Thats taken from the Elive website and found here.

Now over on reddevil62-techhead.blogspot.com/2010/03/elive-20-topaz-gem-that-comes-at-price.html which reviews the distro in detail and looking at the comments of users, on the whole this apparent covert way of asking for a donation is not well received.

But thats not my main issue with Elive and their “scheme”, what worries me is this free invitation “deal”.  I particularly dislike the part where it says “depending of the importance of the website and how good the article is you can obtain up to 5 invitations” which to me sounds like it would encourage that which Ive challenged so many times in the past – Articles on the basis of a freebie.  I wonder if this article will receive any free invites and I wonder if the average 1000 unique reads a day is deemed as important by the Elive creators?

This to me is wrong, very wrong.  I do not blindly download software, I do not skim through EULA’s or T&C’s without reading them properly, thats why I believe this whole donation scheme which the Elive creators have is rather poor.  I would not have downloaded it had I known that before I could test it on my HD I would have to either pay, or write an article about it (presumably to help promote the distro)  There is reference to payment on the site, however its far from obvious and Ive learnt a valuable lesson that even I now need to check the fine print of FOSS products….what has the world come to?

How many times have we seen bloggers who will write in the hope they receive a freebie from Microsoft?  Have we not seen articles from people where its alleged they have received a free laptop from good old MS?  If I did not highlight this distro, I would be hypocritical and I hope that it will also put an end to our Microsoft faithful who claim I only challenge Microsoft because its Microsoft.  Wrong doing is wrongdoing whether it be Microsoft, Apple or anyone else and whilst Elive may not be doing anything wrong (I’ll leave you to make your mind up), I certainly have covered similar practices in the past by other companies.

I may be strange but I only champion software which Ive actually properly tested and have an honest held belief in.  I think that to write an article with the intention of getting a freebie is not only dishonest but also very damaging to the reader who expects (and rightfully so) that whilst they may not agree with the article writer, their opinion is coming a position of not having a hidden motive.

So what’s next?  I am composing an email to send to the creators in the hope that they may have a reply to this article and in the meantime do wonder, how many invites will I get for this? – I’ll let you know.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the Openbytes statement, here.

37 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for the update on Elive. This points out a problem that I hadn’t considered. When I test a new distribution, I usually test the Live CD. I very rarely install it. And I guess I’m going to have to do full installs from now on, because this sort of scheme would mean that I’d rate the Distro at 0 Stars.

    There’s nothing wrong with making money. In fact I like making money. But tell me before I download your product what the rules are, so I can decide if I want to use my bandwidth on your product.

    And as to them buying good reviews – this is beyond disgusting.

    By the way, I mentioned Moon OS to you a while back. Like Elive Moon OS also uses the Enlightenment desktop. Rather than using a Debian base, it uses a Ubuntu base, and it’s my personal favorite. In my opinion it’s implementation of the E17 desktop is superior to the OSX, Gnome, KDE, and Windows desktops.

    One warning, the website has moved to Moon OS.ORG.

  2. openbytes says:

    Thanks for the reply, I keep meaning to check out Moon OS. Perhaps I’ll get a chance today.

    In the meantime Ive now emailed Elive creators for a response.

    A thought did occur to me, I wonder if Andre Da Costa knows about the freebies? Maybe we will see a PR campaign for Elive from him as he tries to get his hands on a free install?😉

    1. Heh. Hadn’t thought of that, maybe you should tell him and see what happens.

  3. openbytes says:

    It’s a tempting thought however do we really want to see comments such as “Its a shame Michael Jackson didn’t live to see Elive” ???? or “It’s a shame Michael Jackson isn’t Elive”

    I think I’ll leave it and hope that Andre doesn’t read this article!

    Kind regards
    Goblin.

  4. I think your obsession with a reviewers unit is very apparent and its quite obvious that its an anger or some form of frustration over not getting one why you still banter over it 3 years later. Walt Mossberg receives free hardware from many technology companies to review, but I don’t see you complaining about him. You can’t defend him either, because you honestly don’t know what he does with the hardware whether it is kept, sold or returned (we are talking about a guy who has been very good friends with Steve Jobs for many years and often goes out to dinner with him after Apple events).

    I have been blogging about Windows and Microsoft since 2004 way before they started sending anything to me for reviews. I always said nice things about their products even then, I often wrote amazon.com reviews about Microsoft products I bought and used. Microsoft never paid me then (and now) , in fact, I didn’t have any form of contact with anyone at the company then, this was around 2000 to 2001.

    Making up conspiracies is very wrong considering you don’t know what you are talking about. Please stop with the theory about living in a developing country means I am poor which leads to me getting products to review mean I sell them back for a profit. That’s liable and I could file a lawsuit against you for that. Its quite obvious your main intention is to destroy my reputation. I have tried to be open and respectful to you. You could at least return the favor. Associating with someone like Roy who goes around various websites writing lies about me should be considered shameful.

    It is fair to say you and Roy can be categorized as more mischievous than actual advocates of the platform you love. Why? Well, you spend 99.9% of your time attacking Microsoft, Andre Da Costa and anything that is not Open Source related. Even the same Open Source community that Roy loves doesn’t have any respect for him considering he does more damage than good by utilizing the relentless mentality of old to promote a personal vendetta again proprietary solutions. (In two simple words, may you and Roy should ‘grow up’).

    1. Andre,

      I attack anyone or anything that I feel deserves an attack. Microsoft I’ll admit is an easy target, the company’s management has a talent for screwing up that is almost beyond belief. They remind me of the General Motors of seven years ago, a giant which while it seemed solid, was actually standing in quicksand. I expect Microsoft to follow General Motors lead into receivership, unless they take positive action to reform management.

      As to taking freebies, there’s nothing wrong with it. The problem is when you don’t disclose that you’ve taken the freebies when you write a review. The term for this is conflict of interest. Any writer who wishes to maintain a good reputation, will avoid this, no matter how attractive the lure is.

      As to Roy – can you actually point to any inaccuracies in his reporting? If you can, I’ll happily write an article about it.

      Wayne aka The Mad Hatter

    2. openbytes says:

      Hi Andre! Nice to see you again.

      Quote “I think your obsession with a reviewers unit is very apparent and its quite obvious that its an anger or some form of frustration over not getting one why you still banter over it 3 years later. ”

      Funny that. Ive maybe made a handful posts in TWO years about your behaviour and to be fair, your PR is so obvious all I need do is quote you. Of course you won’t mention all the other sites and forums that have had problems with your behaviour, nor will you mention about your two supporting accounts on Cnet, but hey ho. – Why did you not challenge me in the past and why is your blog linking to mine….seems also you didn’t read my comment (which was said tongue in cheek), I’ll repeat it for you and then explain it in simpler terms.

      ” I wonder if Andre Da Costa knows about the freebies? ”

      First two words you need to note there Andre…..”I wonder” and “if”.

      “Maybe we will see a PR campaign for Elive from him as he tries to get his hands on a free install?”

      Next up pay attention to the word “maybe” and then if it hasn’t sunk in, read again the Openbytes statement which is linked at the end of the article and in particular paying attention to:

      “I have to remind you that this blog is my opinion. I encourage people to conduct their own research and form their own conclusions.”

      I’ll continue on with the rest of the response now.

      Quote “Walt Mossberg receives free hardware from many technology companies to review, but I don’t see you complaining about him.”

      That may be the case, but then he didn’t spend many months denying it, did he? He didn’t spend many months denying nymshifting only to confess on Twitter and he doesn’t bring dead celebs into any PR.

      Quote “I have been blogging about Windows and Microsoft since 2004 way before they started sending anything to me for reviews. ”

      Very nice, unprovable since you admit to nymshifting, however if this is a “I was doing X so many years ago” I remind you that I was using Microsoft products when you were a child and my first computer was before you were born. Since you talk about “nice things” its funny how those “nice things” are to the defense of Microsoft. – I don’t know why you are bringing this up, the article has nothing to do with you.

      Quote “Making up conspiracies is very wrong considering you don’t know what you are talking about.”

      What conspiracies am I making up Andre? Please tell me. Did you or did you not recieve a free laptop, did you or did you not nymshift on Cnet, I could go on, but you don’t answer those challenges.

      Quote “That’s liable and I could file a lawsuit against you for that. ”

      Please do Andre. See you in court. Are you saying you didn’t say any comments about MJ?

      Quote “Associating with someone like Roy who goes around various websites writing lies about me should be considered shameful.”

      Yes I agree with everything Roy says – don’t I Andre? Or is the truth that infact I don’t and there are many area’s that I disagree with him on. Funnily enough the only association I have with Roy is that I sometimes link to his site…..its funny that your blog links to mine…association by proxy?

      Tell you what Andre, why not just take me to court with this libel?

      Quote “Even the same Open Source community that Roy loves doesn’t have any respect for him considering he does more damage than good by utilizing the relentless mentality of old to promote a personal vendetta again proprietary solutions. (In two simple words, may you and Roy should ‘grow up’”

      Andre you can’t even be coherent in your argument maybe we should take a leaf out of your book then by nymshifting, using dead celebs to promote Microsoft and accepting free laptops (whilst denying it for months)

      The growing up needs to be done by you, would you like me to further example your behaviour on Microsoft Watch?

      ****COMMENT EDITED TO REMIND ANDRE OF WHAT I’VE WRITTEN AND TO ENSURE THAT HE UNDERSTANDS*****

  5. openbytes says:

    I won’t wait for Andre to return, as he never answers the challenges put to him, but he did raise one interesting point in his post. Forgetting that Andre seems to suggest that its immature to support a non-proprietary model….as he said here:

    Quote “the same Open Source community that Roy loves doesn’t have any respect for him considering he does more damage than good by utilizing the relentless mentality of old to promote a personal vendetta again proprietary solutions. (In two simple words, may you and Roy should ‘grow up’).”

    I would ask Andre to rethink that very carefully I as I do support a proprietary model on this very site…ive been doing it for years. I think Andre has conveniently forgotten that. Ive been the first one to say I can’t function without some proprietary solutions (such as GFX drivers) and Ive always said that for me a little bit of both is my choice, also please check out my views on copyright infringement….

    I am also at a loss as to why (like so many other different handles that appear here) like to bring Dr Schestowitz into discussion on my blog when he has his own site, his own opinions and in the majority of cases they are very different to mine. I enjoy talking to Roy, I enjoy reading his site but I don’t have to agree with him everytime to do that do I?

    I would encourage everyone to actually check on what Ive just said. The IRC logs show it, my opinions/articles show it. Of course I don’t think Andre will. Its far easier to make sweeping statements.

    1. I think that the problem is that Roy, like Richard Stallman, makes strong philosophical arguments to back up his points, and that people like Andre, who live by selling out, are terrified that people will start to listen. This is why you see so many attacks aimed at Richard Stallman, Roy, Pamela Jones, and others who won’t give in, and argue the value of Free Software.

      The people like you and me, who use mixed systems, are far less dangerous to them, and so we don’t get attacked so often – though I do have one goofball who told me that he wished that I’d die from cancer (you can probably guess who that was).

      And really, there isn’t an ‘Open Source’ community. Open Source is an oxymoron. There’s Free Software, and there’s a Free Software community. The Free Software community scares Microsoft, Oracle, Sony, Nintendo, Apple, the RIAA, the BPI, the MPA, and the MPAA silly. Widespread adoption of the values of Free Software (and the related Creative Commons) would wipe out those companies, while providing enormous value to consumers worldwide.

      1. openbytes says:

        I think though that the “bit of both” user is far more more difficult a problem for the Microsoft faithful. I champion proprietary solutions when they are better than the ones Im using and infact I’ve said many times before that I use FOSS because its better software not because its free.

        Its harder for the COLA wintrolls to counter that since they can’t put me into any group from which to insult. The inconvenient truth for the average Wintroll is that I actually think Mac’s are decent systems (the wife has one) and whilst I prefer my Linux choice, I will agree when many write about their love of their Mac.

        Windows for me is different. It was not fit for purpose for me (and looking at the wealth of problems reported and complained about, Im not alone)

        Its funny how when it comes to cheapening remarks Microsoft faithful will always try to group “Open source users” into one. The truth is we are all just users who use a diverse range of solutions which happen to be open source (or in my case with a mixture of proprietary) there’s no group here other than people using software and supporting an ethos of free software.

        The people who I label Microsoft faithful are different, they will neither accept nor value any alternative to Microsoft products and its in part thanks to them that people are getting curious about what Opensource is.

        Everyday I get highlighted new sites/blogs which are championing Linux and FOSS. Look on any tech forum and you will see references and praise towards it….thats a good sign and despite Microsoft and its ad campaign it shows that word of mouth and honest held belief are far better promotional tools that celebs appearing with Bill Gates and making unfunny jokes about shoes.

  6. If you look in the Reviews section of my Teching It Easy Blog you can clearly see that I made a disclaimer about the hardware I review that comes from Microsoft. (You are going quickly jump into a paranoid theory that I changed it quickly to suit my cause). Seriously though, you cannot be reasoned with and I will say the same about Roy. You say I should go discuss Roy’s behavior on his website. That is another example of you being very unreasonable considering there are lots of comments from you on his website about me dating back to 2008 in addition to trackbacks from this site on his website. So please avoid being a hypocrite. To be honest though, I will return to ignoring you as many have suggested. The only reason why this blog ever got any attention was simply because you wrote my name in the majority of your post and tags. OpenBytes is just a shell, there is nothing substantial here than a propaganda machine.

  7. openbytes says:

    Quote “If you look in the Reviews section of my Teching It Easy Blog you can clearly see that I made a disclaimer about the hardware I review that comes from Microsoft. ”

    Andre I’m not talking about any hardware review, Im talking about your lack of response in Microsoft Watch. How many months were you asked the question for? Would you like me to remind you? If memory serves you were only “outed” because someone found photo’s of you and the freebie.

    Quote “You are going quickly jump into a paranoid theory that I changed it quickly to suit my cause”

    No I’m not Andre because I don’t need to. The Microsoft Watch comments clearly show you repeatedly being asked about the laptop. That was nearly two years ago.

    Quote “You say I should go discuss Roy’s behavior on his website. That is another example of you being very unreasonable considering there are lots of comments from you on his website about me dating back to 2008 in addition to trackbacks from this site on his website. So please avoid being a hypocrite. ”
    Absolute rubbish Andre. The comments were all linking to your Microsoft Watch behaviour (see above) I may comment on Roy’s site (and at least I don’t do it under another handle eh Andre?)
    but I am not responsible for what he posts. Anyone reading the Microsoft Watch comments could have seen what was being reported anyway.

    Quote “So please avoid being a hypocrite.”

    Thats a joke isn’t it? Please refer me to anything I have posted about you which you wish to challenge. Did you not post under a different handle in Cnet? Did you not deny it on Microsoft Watch for many months only to finally admit it on Twitter? I asked you these questions in the previous comment yet you failed to answer, again.

    Quote “The only reason why this blog ever got any attention was simply because you wrote my name in the majority of your post and tags”

    Don’t tell lies Andre. You can count for yourself how many articles include you name, its tiny in comparison to the number of other articles. Look at my most popular posts to date (total hits) articles on you don’t even feature in the top 50. I do have you to thank for one thing though, it was your behaviour that inspired me to continue Openbytes and make it into a site with on average 1000 unique reads a day, thank you.

    Quote “OpenBytes is just a shell, there is nothing substantial here than a propaganda machine.”

    LOL…..Coming from the man who publically says he nymshifts, claims “Vista is loved” and that “its a shame Michael Jackson didn’t live to see Windows 7”

    Priceless Andre, priceless.

    So there you go readers, thats what it takes to be a Microsoft MVP.

    Remember Andre how I said two years ago on Microsoft Watch that your words and behaviour would come back to haunt you? Well now maybe they have.

  8. I didn’t become an MVP for commenting, I think you need to do a lot more research about the Microsoft MVP Program. I help people everyday get the most from their technology investments by writing informative articles about Windows and participating in Microsoft Answers forum. I do it out of genuine love for a platform I have been using for many years. Also, it gives me great satisfaction seeing users happy when I help resolve a problem they are experiencing. Microsoft does not award individuals for comments left on blogs. You seem to have a clear obsession with my being recognized an MVP. Why is it bothering you so much? Anyway, why are you concerned with a Microsoft award program? Shouldn’t you be promoting your open source agenda?

    Yes, I am Mr. Dee on CNET, adacosta (clearly its obvious that I am Andre Da Costa) on many sites. So what is the problem against having multiple aliases or using them to talk about my satisfaction with Microsoft products? You are just a difficult person and there is nothing I can do about that. Your main intention is to destroy, tell lies and make up ridiculous stories. Windows Vista was deployed on over 350 million systems world wide. I think that is a strong testament to how popular it was. You keep living in the past about its earlier technical difficulties when it was released in Janauary 2007. Come on, we are talking about a modern operating system that was released with a number of substandard hardware 5 years after the previous Windows release. The hardware that was released from a lot of OEM’s in January 2007 with Vista was like running Windows 2000 on a machine from 1995. When Vista was released on practical systems with 1 to 2 GBs of RAM which is pretty much the same for most Windows 7 systems today, there were no complaints. As for my tweeting “its a shame Michael Jackson didn’t live to see Windows 7” I said it out of sincere sadness. There were no intentions behind it. Considering that Windows is a pervasive platform, if Michael had indeed lived, he would obviously have gotten the chance to use it, just like over 100 million users are today and growing.

    Again, you cannot be reasoned with. You are self absorbed, you think everyone except for Roy is wrong. Its people like you who are causing Linux to suffer everyday. You are living in a warped mentality of for Linux and Open Source to win everybody else has to lose. You keep saying you don’t have anything against proprietary solutions yet you find a way to denounce it almost everyday on your blog. Its even ridiculous considering you said yourself you haven’t used any Microsoft products in years. How can you honestly be credible?

    1. goblin says:

      Andre I never said you became an Mvp for commenting , the point was that it would be expected that if Microsoft was to “award” Mvp status then they would at least research the individual lest they bring the title into disrepute. Didn’t your own blog say the title came with new responsibilities? And since you seem unconcerned with your behaviour why are you seeming so keen to distance the title from it?

      You try to say what the problem was with your nymshifting yet do I need to remind you how long you spent avoiding answering that on Microsoft Watch and your admition on Twitter only seemed to come when someone noticed two identical posts on the two accounts. It was not obvious Andre and I’m disgusted you would go down a justification route akin to “its ok, others do it”

      Moving further down you say I tell lies..really? For the second time of asking on this thread (and countless times over the years) where Andre, where?

      You are the liar and do it again even in your latest comment. You claim I think Dr Schestowitz is right and everyone else is wrong, yet I’ve said on this thread (and countless times over the years) that there are many subjects we disagree on. Please check back and think up a better lie if you are going to try and worm your way out of your past actions.

      Andre you can’t even be consistant, remember a few months ago when you came here with good wishes and linked my site on your blog?

      I would go into more depth and give more examples of your work of the past….(remember your comments to Joe Wilcox when he announced Mswatch were letting him go?) Unfortunately I’m on my HTC on the way to work, so that will have to wait until later.

      I repeat Andre when I remind you what I said on Microsoft Watch, “one day your actions and behaviour will come back to haunt you.”

      You forget Andre I’ve been evidencing your behaviour for over two years, I have quite a portfolio.

  9. He’s got you Goblin. A Microsoft MVP says you are a propaganda machine. And if someone that the greatest software company on the planet has declared a Most Valuable Professional says you are a Propaganda Machine, it has to be true.

    Guess it’s time to shut down.

    Actually I’d consider that one hell of a compliment myself.

  10. Andre:

    I help people everyday get the most from their technology investments by writing informative articles about Windows and participating in Microsoft Answers forum.

    And I help people get the most out of their technology investment by migrating them away from Microsoft products.

    Also, it gives me great satisfaction seeing users happy when I help resolve a problem they are experiencing.

    It gives me great satisfaction seeing users happy that they don’t have to put up with Microsoft anymore.

    Windows Vista was deployed on over 350 million systems world wide. I think that is a strong testament to how popular it was.

    The only reason Vista was on so many systems was that Microsoft works hard to keep alternatives out of the stores. No one loves Vista, or Seven. They just put up with them, because they don’t know of the alternatives.

    OK, I’ll stop picking on individual parts of your post, and close with one final statement. A very important statement.

    I do not know one person who has successfully migrated away from Microsoft who would ever be willing to go back. The software is just that bad. It’s not that Microsoft doesn’t have good employees. I know a lot of Microsofties, and they are intelligent, hard working individuals. The problem is management. They spend more time trying to lock out the competition, than working to produce software that people want to buy.

    This is why Apple is killing Microsoft on the top end of the market, and Linux is killing them on the low end.

    I’ve read Microsoft’s SEC filings. The company is like a house of cards. Two divisions (operating systems and business) provide all of the revenues, with all other divisions loosing money. The majority of revenues come from the business division, which is heavily reliant on Microsoft Office.

    The market share of Office is dropping steadily, and has already forced Microsoft to start cutting products. And of course Office is reliant on Windows. Mac Office used to be a profit center as well, however Apple’s release of the superior IWork product is killing Mac Office. And as Linux market share grows, it also eats up possible Office seats. Linux is over 10% of the global OS market, and will probably hit 20% by the end of 2011 due to adoption in the BRIC countries.

    And then you’ve got the United States. The country is in really horrible financial shape, and it will probably be 10-15 years before it recovers. This will push Linux adoption in Microsoft’s home country. Goldman Sachs has done more to help Linux than any other company.

    Microsoft is f*****.

  11. chew says:

    @Hatter
    +1
    “And I help people get the most out of their technology investment by migrating them away from Microsoft products”

    I can`t even count how many times I`ve been asked how do I get away from the problems I`ve had for years that never seem to get resolved using MS products.

  12. goblin says:

    @mad batter – I wouldn’t bother, he’s slipped back into or mode, as we saw on MS Watch he will probably only paste buzzword laced press releases.

    This however brings me nicely onto my next point. I think I have given Andre enough time to elaborate on his implication that I claimed he was from a poor country etc. What Actually happened was that many people were trying to work out why his posts sounded like desperate press releases. I offered a idea that said it would be very easy for Microsoft to get support from an impressionable young man by sending him a laptop worth thousands of pounds. I went on to say that IF this was true it was a low act by Microsoft. I made it clear it was only an idea and never mentioned it again. Even if it was true it was unprovable and not worth repeating. Of course Andre will try to say otherwise and since that comment was made a year ago and never explored further I ask why bring it up now when only a few months ago Andre was posting me good wishes and linking my blog to his. I suspect that I am seeing his last ditch attempts to worm his way out of his behaviour. What Andre didn’t know was when he thought I had stopped challenging his words and actions I was still actually recording them.

    I encourage readers who are interested to check out for themselves what was said and when.

    Andre you will have to do so much better if you are to worm your way out. You forget that everything is documented.

    When I’m sure you’ve given up on these, I have more examples of your behaviour to put to you.

  13. Oh please, just like the over 60,000 spam comments Roy leaves on COLA, he is documented as lacking credibility. The fact that you associate with him puts you in the same category. Everything documented about my activities on the Internet is simple satisfaction with a platform that the majority of the world uses and loves too. What’s wrong with that considering Linux is only running 0.6% of systems world wide?

    Again, your obsession with a reviewers unit is very apparent and its quite obvious that its an anger or some form of frustration over not getting one why you still banter over it 3 years later. The fact that you are mentioning how expensive it is just another perfect example of not getting one. You have to think logically though, how can you be given something to review that you never wanted to associate with in the first place? Oh, you wanted the laptop, but you didn’t want Windows on it? Oh, that’s hypocrite right there. Another thing, the reviewers unit was distributed by ACER and AMD and doesn’t have anything to do with Microsoft. So again, you have proven how lacking your research is.

    I am not trying to worm my way out of anything. I simply linked to you because you actually had some good stuff to say. But it seems when everybody was ignoring the good stuff or you started hitting writers block, you turned to my name and tweets as a source of inspiration to write something on this diatribe soap box. Since you are going to continue with this conspiracy theory, its best I remove your link.

  14. openbytes says:

    Quote “just like the over 60,000 spam comments Roy leaves on COLA,”

    Sorry for the caps Andre….I AM NOT ROY, I HAVE NEVER BEEN ROY. In the same spirit then Andre, Steve Ballmer likened Linux to cancer, can I blame that on you? – Get back to reality, if you want to fudge away responding to my questions directly then think of a better way of doing it than bringing in someone who has NEVER written an article for Openbyte (infact I don’t believe he’s ever even commented here) also Roy posts FOSS/Linux related news in the COLA forums….whats wrong with that? What should one post in the COLA forums? (for readers who don’t know Comp.Os.Linux.Advocacy)

    Interesting though that your lurking in COLA, or do you have multiple accounts there as well as Cnet? Great MVP example there Andre, Im sure Microsoft would be happy to put their name to that.

    Quote “The fact that you associate with him puts you in the same category.”

    Associate? By linking some of his articles? By being in his chat room? Ok, Andre, I’ll let Jono Bacon know what you say. Just because I consider him an on-line friend, agree with SOME of what he says, that does not mean anything more than that….Again Andre evidence any claim or suggestion you wish to make.

    Quote “Again, your obsession with a reviewers unit is very apparent and its quite obvious that its an anger or some form of frustration over not getting one why you still banter over it 3 years later.”

    Liar, since Ive always been a promoter of Linux (and unlike you only ever had one posting account) I doubt you could ever claim that Ive been after anything, infact again you show your dishonesty because on this blog I openly turned down a gift by a company whose name had been stolen by a user trying to promote Microsoft stock.

    Tell me Andre, how can I be “angry” at not getting freebies, when I have gone about getting them completely the wrong way.

    Quote “The fact that you are mentioning how expensive it is just another perfect example of not getting one.”

    Andre, as I said at the time, I am well able to afford one if I wished. The point made about the value was important when you consider that potentially impressionable youths were getting them through the post. For a kid its alot of money.

    Quote “You have to think logically though, how can you be given something to review that you never wanted to associate with in the first place? Oh, you wanted the laptop, but you didn’t want Windows on it? ”

    What on earth are you babbling about? Since Ive all the machines I need in my house I see little point for a laptop. I even BOUGHT and reviewed fairly a netbook which I had purchased for a one week holiday. I don’t want freebies, I don’t need freebies, they can influence the integrity of a poster, although Im not going to mention that word to you, since I think people can draw their own conclusions about your integrity.

    Quote “Another thing, the reviewers unit was distributed by ACER and AMD and doesn’t have anything to do with Microsoft. So again, you have proven how lacking your research is.”

    Andre cut with the lies. Where did the from (and keelaptop originatep in mind there were people who actually recieved them who blogged too but they actually disclosed the emails they received)

    Quote “I am not trying to worm my way out of anything. I simply linked to you because you actually had some good stuff to say. ”

    Liar again. You claim here that I talk about “poor countries” etc yet you said nothing of this when you sent good wishes a few months back. You are now scrabbling about for anything to worm you way out of your past behaviour.

    Quote “But it seems when everybody was ignoring the good stuff or you started hitting writers block, you turned to my name and tweets as a source of inspiration to write something on this diatribe soap box”

    Liar again Andre, look at the end of year stats, and what have we had two posts on you since? maybe three? I can show you graphs of your stats, its not what the readers want to read. In anycase Andre, this article had nothing to do with you except for the comments section where joke was made about your Michael Jackson remarks.

    Quote “Since you are going to continue with this conspiracy theory, ”

    What conspiracy theory Andre? Again I ask what are you talking about?

    Quote “its best I remove your link.”

    In the last two years I have observed you, probably the only sensible thing you have said. I know you will be back as you will want to read the other behaviours I will release here.

    Just for a little taster Andre, your next indiscretions that we will look at go back about a year. Firstly we will look where you claim you don’t want MVP status and had infact turned it down and secondly where a person admits the laptop gift for you on MSwatch Remember? Theres plenty more and I think now is the time to consider posting the whole portfolio of evidence of exactly what you have been doing and saying for the last two years.

    Before you feel complimented though you are one of many whose “unique” behaviour was worthy of collating.

    1. openbytes says:

      and whilst anyone who can be bothered to check can see Andres lies about

      Quote “But it seems when everybody was ignoring the good stuff or you started hitting writers block, you turned to my name and tweets”

      The most popular articles to date is “Bonjour FOSS – France Embracing opensource” all of the distro reviews, anything which gets linked on Tuxmachines (sorry Andre, Tuxmachines havent linked to articles related to you to my knowledge), distro reviews or anything on P2P/Piracy/Copyright.

      Infact check back Andre posts about you hardly get commented on unless you pop up with silliness. Even the last article on you, only got 11 comments, 3 of which were mine, 1 of which was Chips (remember him, he also witnessed your MSwatch behaviour)…..oh dear Andre…

      So you are not going to appologize for any of the implications you made about me in your last series of posts, youre not going to say sorry for your behaviour ive documented….fine. Lets see what you have to say about the next set of your behaviours highlighted.

      Maybe we should ask Joe Wilcox to comment on what he saw going on when he was writing for Microsoft Watch? Or what about the other commenters there? You and your PR laced posts turned MSwatch more of a pro-Linux than Tuxmachines and many of us have you to thank for bringing us together. I wonder if/when Microsoft sees your behaviour and posts on MSwatch, what they will think. Of course I would expect them to remain silent…what can they say about a self confessed nymshifter who has no problem bringing a dead celebs name up in order to mention Windows 7.

  15. Its quite obvious you are obsessed with the Microsoft MVP Program. You you have hash tags of it written in the majority of tweets on your Twitter account. You bash MVP’s every chance you get. Its quite obvious you are a closeted Microsoft user who can’t seem to get enough. Stop calling me liar because everything I have said is the truth. If you click my alias on CNET you will see the full details about who I am. So again, another example of a person who is clueless and doesn’t do any research. You and Roy link each other often, its all over this blog so stop with the hypocrisy and lies.

    The only thing you are good at just like Roy is twisting the truth and making up lies. Its the number one reason why Roy is irrelevant and it puts you in the same category. You are pointless in everything you say. You have not made any sound contribution to open source at all. All you do is look for a way to talk about Andre Da Costa, Steve Ballmer, MVP Program, Microsoft. 99.999% of the content on this blog is non-Linux. I see what you are getting at though and I will not continue this non-sense with you. You are a liar, you are incompetent at what you do, you are dishonest and you have a clear obsession with Microsoft and you suffer from split personalities (you can’t even stick to one distribution of Linux and use it – all you do is format and talk about the new wallpaper in the latest distro you are using). Come on, is there anything better to do with Linux?

    You really need to focus on your job (I hope you have one) and family instead of trying to seek attention from me. Here is some good advice, stop associating with Roy. If you do a Google search on the guy its nothing but down hill from there and you are already in that direction. It is so pathetic that you have to use my good name to achieve a dream of being popular. Don’t you have a job?

    Here are some tips on purchasing a laptop:
    – Go to work (that is if you have a job, I honestly don’t think you do)
    – Put aside some of the income per month
    – It will take time
    – Stop being envious of other people
    – Stop with the obsession
    – Stop being a liar
    – Stop associating with Roy
    – Stop twisting the truth
    – Stop being irrelevant
    – Focus on your family
    – Stop being a closet Microsoft user, purchase a laptop with Windows 7 today and embrace it. I have written numerous articles about how you can get the most out of Windows 7. Immerse yourself with rich experiences, features like HomeGroups, compelling search capabilities, enhanced security, engaging user experience, even faster, better ways of accessing information and resources with Branch Cache and Direct Access.

    Also, stop with that point alias goblin, its comes across and very sinister and probably associates with the evils of that metaphor.

    1. openbytes says:

      Quote “Its quite obvious you are obsessed with the Microsoft MVP Program. ”

      I am. Although its more an interested. Im interested in knowing who Microsoft is happy to represent them via the MVP title, Im interested in how the title can be taken seriously when there are people like you with it.

      Quote “You you have hash tags of it written in the majority of tweets on your Twitter account.”

      Yes. and I will continue to do so, I will be drawing attention to your other behaviours which need comment on with the #MVP tag too.

      Quote “Its quite obvious you are a closeted Microsoft user ”

      LOL. This is how a Microsoft MVP tries to counter.

      Quote “The only thing you are good at just like Roy is twisting the truth and making up lies. ”

      Liar. Quote me these lies…please (as I asked you on MS Watch many times)

      Quote “you really need to focus on your job (I hope you have one)”

      I do and its not related to IT. I can keep the two quite separate. MVP again folks.

      Quote “Here are some tips on purchasing a laptop:….Stop being a liar”

      Is that why you were gifted one then Andre? Please (again I repeat) quote anything untruthful I have said……

      Folks again Microsoft MVP commenting here.

      Quote ” Stop being a closet Microsoft user,”

      So now Andre has reached the end, he can’t counter, can’t quote any of these “lies” and now has to try and claim I use Microsoft products…..of course Andre….grow up, I would blog for two years about using Linux, post screenshots and highlight its advantages to me? Ok Andre. Folks again, this is a person who Microsoft awards an MVP to. Is Andre even an adult? I am beginning to think that the picture of Andre is not really him.

      Quote “lso, stop with that point alias goblin, its comes across and very sinister and probably associates with the evils of that metaphor.”

      As I pointed out to you before when you were telling lies about my opinions, if you actually read my blog you will see why I use the handle Goblin. If you actually check on Twitter and on this blog (both in articles and the About Goblin section) you will see that my name is Tim.

      You dare talk about sinister when you hide your identity behind multiple posting accounts? Really Andre?

      Ah the memories. You back to true form now aren’t you Andre? This is the MSWatch we all remember and I hope you are looking forward to worming your way out of future posts where I quote your behaviour.

      I’ll end on another of your many lies:

      Quote “you can’t even stick to one distribution of Linux and use it”

      I can and do. Wolvix. Please check my blog where I repeatedly say my distro of choice is Wolvix on my main rig. I have one distro hopping machine that looks at others and it was only when I thought that Wolvix had stopped development did I start looking for a new main rig distro. That turned out not to be the case and Wolvix has just released another build, so I ended up sticking with it.

      How many more lies are you going to tell before you actually check my comments to make sure that you are not making a fool of yourself? Ive been championing Wolvix for about a year. Of course I have 7 functioning PC’s in my house that serve a variety of purposes and have a diverse range of distros, but my main rig is Wolvix….I hope it’s sunk in now, but by all means check back on my blog for yourself.

  16. chew says:

    “You really need to focus on your job (I hope you have one)”
    -what EXACTLY is your job Andre, besides being Mr. Ballmer`s carnival barker?

    “you can’t even stick to one distribution of Linux and use it”
    -that`s called distro hopping, many people (myself included) like trying out new distros on secondary machines, you do have a second computer don`t you?

    “Here are some tips on purchasing a laptop”
    -get a Mac! once you go Mac you never go back (couldn`t resist)

    “Stop being a closet Microsoft user, purchase a laptop with Windows 7 today and embrace it. I have written numerous articles about how you can get the most out of Windows 7. Immerse yourself with rich experiences, features like HomeGroups, compelling search capabilities, enhanced security, engaging user experience, even faster, better ways of accessing information and resources with Branch Cache and Direct Access.”
    -I agree stop being a closet Microsoft user, forgo the laptop with Win 7 on it and purchase the future of personal computing, namely the ipad, have you heard, they`re selling REALLY well, I can`t wait to laugh at what good ole MS kludges together.

    1. openbytes says:

      Hi Chew!

      Whilst Andre likes to claim I only support a non-proprietary model, Ive actually said on numerous occasions that Im impressed with Apple products, namely my Mac. The wife has one and she’s very happy. I certainly would not rule out being a Mac user in the future and the Ipad seems to be quite a good alternative for someone like me who does’nt want the “micro size” of a phone for surfing et al, but wants something big enough to be comfortable yet small enough to be portable.

      Having said that Ive been surprised how well Ive got on with Android on an HTC, so the decision to look at anything else will wait a while.

      Quote “once you go Mac you never go back”

      I thought it was:

      “Once you try slack, you never go back”

      Regards
      Goblin. (and for the benefit of Andre who hasn’t noticed it on my blog – Tim)

      1. chew says:

        “Once you try slack, you never go back”

        kudos! I`m using it!

        On the iPad note, one of my clients went over to the U.S. and while she was there she picked up an ipad. I have tried it and I do have to say it really is an interesting device, battery life is better than expected (10+ hrs close to 11 with wifi on) and just as with any platform software devs (and customers) will determine it`s ultimate fate. I am seriously considering getting one for admin purposes, Citrix among many other companies out there are actively developing remote admin/virtualization apps and speaking for myself a device such as this (10hr bat life and weighing 1.5 lbs) would be a great portable alternate over a laptop, your mileage may vary of course.

  17. openbytes says:

    For everyone else, this is exactly what we saw a few years back on Microsoft watch. Andre’s last stand. If we think about his stance for a minute…

    He suggests that I don’t have a job and am after a free laptop (yet I spend years blogging about Linux). He suggests that I tell lies yet won’t say what or evidence it. He says that I am a closet Windows user yet at the same time suggests I can’t stick with one Linux distro and of course at the same time himself admitting to having multiple posting accounts (in different names) on the forums on CNET.

    Microsoft must be very pleased with Andre representing their brand name. I baffled at the rock solid counter of “closet Microsoft user”….. MVP’s worldwide would be proud of that one.

    @Chew

    I did consider getting a grey import when they were first released in the states although I resisted the urge and instead purchased a new monitor….

    1. chew says:

      Give it a while, it`ll be interesting to see what other manufacturers come up with to counter it and as I mentioned earlier I`d like to see some mature dedicated ipad apps that take advantage of the ipad (branched ipod touch/iphone) OS and the extra screen real estate, but so far I`m liking what I`m seeing. I do think the basic formula is sound, namely using ARM CPUs, coupled with flash memory and forgoing the pen based input completely.

  18. openbytes says:

    Theres already news an Opensource platform coming. However you know that if there is any competition Apple will be winning the battle because of its fashionable brand name.

    Contrary to what our dubious posters would like to suggest I have no issues with monopolies at all, providing that the products Im locked into are fit for purpose for me. Thats why I moved away from Microsoft products and after playing around with the wifes Mac and Ipod have no issue with Apple.

    I use Linux because its the best solution for me, not because its free, not because its open, because its the best. Maybe in the future that will change and whilst I think that the FOSS ethos is a great ideal, I think there will always be a place for proprietary….it just may well be very different to what it is today.

    ****
    With all the squirming by Andre, its sort of sidetracked the point of this article which was to report on Elive. For the information of readers who have emailed me I have yet to get a response from the Elive devs. If I get any “free” invites they will be posted here for readers to have on a first come first served basis. I certainly don’t want them.

  19. Goblin,

    In regards to the Apple IPad tablet, and the Apple Brand, it’s not the Apple name that matters, it’s that Apple consistently delivers good value for your money, as I covered in my article Apple – The Competent Danger to Free Software. Unlike Microsoft, Apple actually delivers, which is why the Microsoft Trolls attack Apple more voraciously than they attack Free Software.

    As to Andre, he seems like a confused, sad, individual.

  20. openbytes says:

    I’d agree in part to the Apple comment although I think when the Ipod was first released (for example) there were many other branded products that offered the same (and sometimes more) features. I think that as well as value and build quality Apple offered the name…..and even if the Zune had been the answer to life the universe and everything, from my observations people wanted an Apple logo sticking out of their pocket….

  21. Goblin,

    It’s not about features, it’s about value. If the features provided don’t suit your needs, they are useless. One of Apple’s strengths is determining what the user really needs, and providing it, as compared to Microsoft, which appears to just toss in every feature possible hoping that the user will be overwhelmed by the long list, even if 99% of the features are never used.

    Most consumer electronics companies work the same way. Nintendo is one of the few that doesn’t. Rather than building the Wii with high definition graphics, Nintendo determined what the user really needed, which was fun games and great controllers. As a result Nintendo has outsold Microsoft and Sony combined.

    The IPhone is another good example. It didn’t have the features that WinMobile supplied, but it did what people wanted. Rim’s Blackberry also had less features than WinMobile, but it did what users wanted. As a result the IPhone and BlackBerry platforms have pretty well wiped out WinMobile, and Android will finish it off.

  22. Chips B Malroy says:

    Andre Da Costa:
    “If you look in the Reviews section of my Teching It Easy Blog you can clearly see that I made a disclaimer about the hardware I review that comes from Microsoft.”
    ————————————————————————
    But never a disclaimer on MS Watch many comments you have left. Most likely on other sites you comment on with your many names.
    ————————————————————————
    Andre Da Costa:
    ““That’s liable and I could file a lawsuit against you for that. ”
    ————————————————————————
    Here Andre has taken a page out of other Trolls playbooks, ole whats his name, Lumpy or something. Andre, please add me to the list of defendants as well, it would be entertaining for a laugh. But I would advice you of a couple of points, while I am not a lawyer. First, at least in the USA, a defendant has the right to be confronted by his accuser, so you better make sure M$ will pick up your airline, hotel, feed, tabs. They have done this in the past, haven’t they? Second, make sure that the defendant can actual pay you something, if lightning strikes and you should win the case. You sue someone without money, you get nothing. Its why everyone likes to sue M$, because they have it.
    ————————————————————————
    Andre Da Costa:
    “Yes, I am Mr. Dee on CNET, adacosta (clearly its obvious that I am Andre Da Costa) on many sites.”
    ————————————————————————
    Yes, we already knew that. Would you care to tell us the other nym’s you use at various sites? But at least its a start in honesty, this admission in writing. Also the freebies laptop from MS. It just took 2 years for Andre to admit most of it. I told you back then, you would be better off coming clean and admitting this back on MS Watch, but you would rather attack people.

    You see Andre, this has never been about you, its about Microsoft and the way they use you as a tool. They provide you with gifts or rewards if you prefer that name. More than just the free Acer Laptop. There was also the free rewarded HP/MS giveaway. Most likely MS also pays some or all of your airline, hotel, food, expenses to various MS activities here. Would you like to comment on that? The question is where does the MS money trail end with you? How far and for what do they pay or reward you for? Do they or through a 3rd party pay you to comment? Or is pay the wrong word, would you prefer, reward?

    1. openbytes says:

      Just like old times on Microsoft Watch eh Chips? – I really hope people just research the old MSwatch articles. They can then decide for themselves.

    2. chew says:

      Cheers Chips,

      Hey Andre, you can also add me me to your list potentials claimants, I`ll even give you some ammo, “you`re a zero credibility lying bum that would sell his ass twice for a nickel” there that should be good enough. Good luck finding a lawyer, perhaps you should look for a witch doctor instead.

  23. Chips B Malroy says:

    Hey Goblin and Chews,

    As usual when there are too many questions for Andre to answer about his relationship with M$ he disappears. I further suggest, that M$ may well have setup Andre’s web site and provided a server computer to do so. Certainly it is hosted by live.com owned by M$, a free service or not, it does further tie in to the company he calls rich so much.

Leave a Reply

