Windows 7 the morning after? & Novell has a pulse?

Beer glasses.  We’ve all had them and it now appears that the lovely first date with Windows 7 where you’ve met in a restaurant and put away a good few drinks has come home with you.

Skip to the morning, picture the scene; its a sleepy sunday and the light is streaming through your half drawn curtains.  You roll over in your warm bed with images of a lovely night with a beautiful partner only to now find yourself staring into the face of a pig.

Joking aside, it appears that whilst Windows is praised as the second coming and its faithful are busy trying to find fault with alternatives merely to boost sales, there are users who are voicing their problems in a public forum.  I am of course talking about the Microsoft Helps (itself) Twitter account.  Lets take a look at some of those issues:

I did as suggested in forum, BIOS and driver update… And then again the upgrade process rolls back to Vista at final step

To which I would reply, Im surprised they noticed.  Vista 7 may simply be lipstick on a pig, but its the same pig (Vista) at the end of the day.

I can not see the thumbnails of any filehttp://www.twitpic.com/obpmt

I’m facing this issue while doing in-place upgrade from Vista Home Premium to Win7 Ultimatehttp://bit.ly/1Tkwh6 Please help

What’s up with the weird directories with .vdm files accumulating? Is that being looked at? Fixed? New one today (5 total)

Windows 7 upgrade FAIL “user profile service service failed the logon.” can’t use explorer, control panel in safemode

Of course the story you will get from sites such as http://windows7news.com/2009/11/02/windows-7-on-the-rise/ paint a whole different picture.  Andrew (the author of that “article”) cites Windows 7 as having 3% of market share in the first two weeks of its release.  Andrew then goes onto mention that this does not include simply the RTM thats available now it also includes the pre release versions.  What Andrew doesn’t mention was that the pre-release versions were given away for free, so really the 3% figure (even if it is true) is purely rubbish IMO.

Just like any other Microsoft enthusiast, Andrew appear’s to judge the worth of an OS on how many people use it.  I wonder if Andrew would think a Vauxhall Corsa better than a Bentley because there is more of them on the road?  Probably.  What Andrew goes on to say is:

Linux has just under 1% marketshare. That’s every Linux distribution anywhere, combined.

Really Andrew?  I thought the MS faithful always say 3%?  It matters not since Steve Ballmer doesn’t seem to agree with you either and in recent MS slides Linux was shown to have a lot more than 1%.  Have your scientific figures Andrew considered how many servers on the net run Linux?  Probably not and you are probably too busy with the novelty that Windows 7 allows you to do simple tasks far better than you ever could in the last 3 years with Vista.

Unlike Andrew, when I compare Linux with Windows 7 I will be doing it having used both.  I am currently running Windows 7 through its paces and comparing it to the OS Ive relied on for years (and has never let me down, unlike Microsoft technologies) that being Linux.

NOVELL HAS A PULSE?

Many people think that Novell is controlled directly from Redmond (or certainly sits and gives a paw on command of its Microsoft master).  It matters not, the damage “the deal” did to the public perception of Novell IMO shows how insidious a Microsoft relationship can be.

Novell has announced its “Pulse” product which is similar in vain to Google Wave although this is, IMO  aimed at enterprise.  It enables team collaboration on projects whilst also offering integration with the Google Wave protocol.

Coming in mid-2010, Novell Pulse will first be delivered as a service and then later available for on-premise deployment. It will also work seamlessly with Google Wave so you and anyone you want to work with can have your choice and get down to business.

Since Ive mentioned my current beta relationship with Wave, its only fair I mention this product.  I only have one question:

Did Novell have to ask Microsoft before releasing the news of this product?😉  Maybe Novell does have its own “pulse” afterall.

If you would like to see more of Pulse, check out:

http://www.novell.com/products/pulse/

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Dean Odley says:

    To describe Windows 7 as “lipstick on a pig” in that it is basically still Vista really highlights the ignorance of the writer of this article. As an IT Pro I have been using Windows 7 for several months now, my experience has been one of a highly polished and stable OS. Sure there are problems – mostly due to the variety of PC systems and components out there. I also run Linux on a PC and it is far from perfect, but useful nonetheless. If you don’t like Windows then don’t use it, but give it it’s due where deserved.

    1. Andrew says:

      Do pigs have lips?

      1. openbytes says:

        Hi Andrew!

        It doesnt matter…you can still put lipstick on a pig and if you’ve got the pig, Microsoft has plenty of lipstick.

        Regards
        Goblin.

    2. openbytes says:

      Wow, a self confessed “IT pro”. I am honored.

      Quote “To describe Windows 7 as “lipstick on a pig” in that it is basically still Vista really highlights the ignorance of the writer of this article.”

      Obviously this alleged “IT Pro” is under the impression that Windows 7 has been re-written from scratch. Have they missed MS’s own statements of “if it works on Vista it will work on 7” or what about XPM? On those two facts alone, I’d suggest theres more than a name only relationship. Unless of course our visiting IT pro is claiming its been totally re-written for 7…thats good going since Vista was only slopped out 3 years ago…with MS seemingly (IMO) to be in denial about its issues (and only recently have we seen Ballmer claim he listened to early good reports)…is that an appology? I wouldn’t think so, its never Microsoft’s fault.

      Quote “As an IT Pro I have been using Windows 7 for several months now, my experience has been one of a highly polished and stable OS”

      And where have I (notice I) claimed otherwise? I reported the complaints of others and then said I am currently running it myself and giving it a “crack of the whip”.

      Quote ” I also run Linux on a PC and it is far from perfect, but useful nonetheless. If you don’t like Windows then don’t use it, but give it it’s due where deserved.”

      LOL, theres the “I use Linux but….” comment we often see with a promotion of Windows. Being a self confessed IT Pro doesn’t seem to include the skill of reading an opinion properly before commenting on it. Let me quote myself from this very article:

      “Unlike Andrew, when I compare Linux with Windows 7 I will be doing it having used both. I am currently running Windows 7 through its paces and comparing it to the OS Ive relied on for years (and has never let me down, unlike Microsoft technologies) that being Linux.”

      I won’t say its rubbish if its not. I’m not sure what happens in the world of “IT pro’s” but I tend to choose software solutions that are fit for purpose for me.

      Best regards,
      Goblin.

      1. Andrew says:

        My son installed Windows 7 Ultimate on his gaming rig. He got his copy free of charge (MS had a roadshow at his college and was giving away Win7). It seems that if you went and shelled out the bucks for Win7 Ultimate, that would not work for gaming. You need a so-called gaming version.

        Keep up the good work, Goblin. Look forward to your columns on a regular basis.

        TIA

  2. openbytes says:

    **For the purposes of clarity I do not believe the poster Andrew is the same Andrew as the one who wrote the article that I linked **

    Thanks Andrew.

    To be fair, Windows gaming is not an area I have much experience in. My look at Windows 7 is merely on a like for like basis with apps on Linux.

    Having said that, I had a brief “fling” with WOW earlier this year and found on exactly the same rig, I had better performance from a Linux/Wine combo than I did running it natively through Windows.

    I’ve often said that the console (sooner or later) will be the destroyer of the PC gaming scene IMO…its not that console gaming is better (although it is far more plug in and play than a PC game can be) but simply piracy is making the PC release of a game less and less desirable IMO…

    Ive spoken to a few developers (one on the BN chat) who say that the future is console dev since the money can be made there and piracy to a large extent controlled.

    Thanks for your post Andrew.

    Now onto Dean. As you will see our self claimed IT pro has yet to return. Theres very little to argue here since all software should be judged on how it performs for you. I have quoted a few of the many issues 7 has with individuals and unless Dean wants to call them liars, I’d suggest their experience of 7 is not as good as the picture MS paints.

    I wonder if Dean returns is going to suggest that 7 was completely re-written…of course he won’t and any real user of Vista and then 7 can see whats happened. Having said all that, I refuse to give personal experience of 7 until Ive had it a little longer.

  3. Dean Odley says:

    1) I never suggested that Windows 7 was re-written from scratch. Everyone in the industry knows it is based on the Vista code, but to deny the improvements therein suggest to me that you have not used it much. Please don’t put words in my mouth. My comment was simply that it has worked well for me through the Beta and RTM versions – moreso than Vista ever did. You notice I said there will always be problems with OSes. Who exactly am I calling a liar?

    2) Why do you have a cynically refer to me as a “self-confessed” IT Pro and say you are “honoured”? What? Very mature. Do you doubt my claim? I can’t prove it here but I have worked in the industry for 20 years which gives me a good perspective on the evolution of OSes so far.

    3) My comment about Linux was meant to demonstrate that no Operating System is perfect, and I’ll include Mac OSX in there also. I have tried them all. I agree that you should support what works for you but don’t believe everything you hear – or read. You’ll notice that I, unlike Goblin, do not refer to any 3rd party to establish my facts. My comments are based on personal experience only.

    4) I wish you the best of luck with whatever OS you choose. I don’t think there’s much more to say here except “don’t knock it until you’ve tried it”, and I think despite the vitriol you broadly agree with that.

    1. Matt Burke says:

      How do you expect to encourage discussion on this site when you get so bitchy when challenged. Each to his own. MB Brisbane.

    2. openbytes says:

      Er Dean & Matt, the reasons you have listed are exactly why I consider that Vista 7 is lipstick on a pig.

      I resent people claiming others are ignorant simply because their opinion differs and I resent people justifying those type of remarks with claims of “Im an IT pro”

      The reason why repeatedly I refuse to say what I do for a living is because I feel it would give unfair credibility to what I say (and its not even an IT related job) I would rather people make decisions from what I say.

      Lipstick on a pig? Well Vista 7 does it have more than a passing resembelance to Vista code – yes I think we both agree. Was Vista a pig? Yes (IMO). Are the shortcommings of vista code and XP software being “patched up” with XPM? Yes I’d say and badly since I don’t believe it has DX compat even and requires a new chipset with hefty specs to get any sort of decent operation out of it.

      7 is what Vista should have been, and whilst my 7 review is taking a little longer than I expected (as Ive said in previous articles) so that I can give it a fair crack of the whip, you don’t know what Im going to say.

      When you look at the spec required for 7, even if the improvements have been made (and please check where I defended the compat of hardware on 7) its still a bloated system (IMO) hence my opinion….its the same pig, but it has been “tarted” up with a little lipstick.

      Bitchy eh Matt? How does that work? Did you not read the link in my latest work where I had a discussion with an MS employee? that was discussion. Like I say this site is about opinion not claimed credentials and it would be very easy for anyone to claim anything in order for more credibility to be put in their words…that unfair advantage since it can’t be proved either way and just because someone claims to be an “IT pro” does that make their opinion worth more than anyone else?

      and what is an IT pro anyway? Like I say I never mention what my non-IT job is, however I have 10 years of experience with software which I am almost certain you have never and will never use….does that make me an IT pro too? does that give my opinion more worth? of course not, I can’t and wont prove it and I don’t believe its relevant to my opinion.

      But in anycase the real cracker came here:

      “You’ll notice that I, unlike Goblin, do not refer to any 3rd party to establish my facts. My comments are based on personal experience only.”

      My comments are based on personal experience and others and Im pleased about that. I don’t assume that the experiences (good or bad) that ive had are in anyway similar to anyone else. Thats why I list others problems. I make it very clear when the info comes from 3rd parties so there is no problem doing that….

      I have already said Vista 7 offered no compat issues on my rig……but it has on others…..thats balanced for the person who has never had 7 and wants to decide if they wish to spend money on it.

      1. dean odley says:

        Hi Goblin – well firstly I thought that you were a windows-basher but now I realise that you were right and I was wrong. And there was I, in the lofty perches of my “IT-Pro” tower thinking that my experience gave me a more informed view of the topic we are discussing. But no, apparently anyone who ever used a computer can have an equal perch from which to throw their two cents. But methinks you resent my annunciation because you would rather level the playing field with anonymity, thereby making us all “experts”. Well you can’t – and that’s why Microso.., erm my employers continue to pay me for my IT Pro-ishness in all it’s glory.
        In fact, given your ardour for the subject I sincerely hope you do consider joining us IT Pro’s in our conceited and preposterously self-righteous world. I have enjoyed our discourse, and my daughter (oh, shouldn’t disclose that) thinks you are right too. She is 5. Enjoy the weekend😉

  4. openbytes says:

    Hello Dean,

    I had hoped it would have been clear (without spelling it out) obviously its not.

    Quote ” who ever used a computer can have an equal perch from which to throw their two cents.”

    Of course they can. Don’t be so flippant. The average user is going to be more interested in reading about an experience of similar people than say a systems engineer…IT covers such a diverse range of subjects that I don’t believe I know of anyone who can claim to be a pro at all of them. Which then leaves the question, what is this “IT pro” experienced with, how do we know that it is real experience and why do they feel the need to tell people?

    Quote “rather level the playing field with anon..”

    Don’t be so silly, this is the internet, how do we know who we are talking to and what their motives are….really? That why its so important for many views.

    Quote ” IT Pro’s in our conceited and preposterously self-righteous world.”

    Im not sure where you are getting this from. I am questioning the provable integrity of claims of experience made by a poster. Opinion is what counts, opinion based on honest held belief.

    Quote “thinks you are right too. She is 5”

    Cheap attempt at an insult, although it doesn’t surprise me she thinks Im right. Talk of integrity (the whole point of why claims are pointless):

    MAYBE YOU WOULD LIKE TO EXPLAIN HOW THE POSTER MATT BURKE IS COMING FROM EXACTLY THE SAME IP ADDRESS AS YOU?

    If you would like a screengrab, just ask.

    Quote “But methinks you resent my annunciation because you would rather level the playing field with anonymity”

    LOL…nymshifting and attempted insults….You obviously are not an IT Pro, else you would have at least used a proxy to hide your IP….lol…

    I don’t think I want to join you…If Microsoft pays people to make mistakes like you have then they really have lost touch.

    Thanks for a nice laugh at the end of a long day at work.

Leave a Reply

