Power of the word of mouth – A new blog!

First time I have done this on Openbytes, but after we have seen the increase in uptake of FOSS alternatives, it shows (IMO) that expensive advertising budgets (of certain proprietary firms) are no match for honest held belief and word of mouth.  It would explain why, even in the face of Windows 7 hitting the shelves Linux is now more popular than ever before (regardless of the figures you want to believe)

With that in mind let me introduce you to a new blog and ask you to visit, participate and help foster another voice for FOSS on the net.

http://www.julianaloofi.wordpress.com

So why don’t you start a Linux blog?  Why not post your opinions/reviews/experiences and spread the word about the platform we are using?

Regards,

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ml2mst says:

    [quote]So why don’t you start a Linux blog? Why not post your opinions/reviews/experiences and spread the word about the platform we are using?[/quote]

    Unfortunately the Microsoft Astroturf, will denigrate GNU/Linux bloggers as soon as they post articles in favor of GNU/Linux (or Free and Open Source Software in general).

    The Astrotuf will resort to personal attacks, even using plain lies and slander.

    A good example is the Clogwog troll in COLA, which posts his garbage under _my_ civil name. I have to use GNUpg to distinct _my_ genuine posts from his garbage.

    New readership of COLA will probably mix me up with that idiot.

    Beside that, the Astroturf clan claims that I have a sexual relationship (and that I am even married) to another GNU/Linux advocate, called HPT, which of course is complete rubbish😉

    In the end however, this will _not_ stop GNU/Linux advocates from posting positive articles at their blogs.

    Poor astroturfers😉

  2. openbytes says:

    Hi!

    Quote “Beside that, the Astroturf clan claims that I have a sexual relationship (and that I am even married) to another GNU/Linux advocate, called HPT, which of course is complete rubbish”

    I was accused of having a relationship with another Linux advocate Chips. Seems a common theme, they can’t argue the case against FOSS so they seek to spread lies and distract!

    I think every blog on FOSS shows another person who is writing about good (and sometimes bad) experiences of Linux, I think its this word of mouth that gets people trying things for themselves which is often more powerful than any advertising.

    I really hope the new blog doesnt attract any of the trolls…its a blog that I noticed being mentioned on #Linuxoutlaws and the owner seems to enjoy his subject and is a very nice chap (we were all participating in a few very interesting FOSS discussions)

    That reminds me, I have to link to your blog too!

    Please forgive me though, I’m tired and off to bed soon so I will do it tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

