A response to Manan

Since Mr Hussain has taken to deleting posts he doesnt like (and notice how since he has prevented me from commenting his own comments have dried up) Manan gave a response to me that I think its only polite if I answer.  Since Mr Hussain has a censoring system (and Im a little loathed to create interest in his posts again) I will print Manan’s post here and comment.

This is not the “ripping apart” that was promised, so please dont be disapointed:

Manan Reply:
June 28th, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Yes, I’ve worked my way to your blog (& read your post before I made my comments here) but you see, I can’t be adding RSS feeds for a post that I’m expecting some time in the future, since I’ve subscribed to this comment stream if you were to post a link here I would get the notification, a solution I find to be rather intelligent. :)

Let’s keep Linux out of this since you want to, and since you raised the question of my age, lets go a little more down memory lane & come to XP’s launch. Microsoft was written off by the tech community only 6 years later to have you defending your right to use XP.

I still haven’t read a comment where anyone has tried to make a case that 7 isn’t a worthy upgrade, all I’ve been reading is that XP is “good enough”. You haven’t tried 7 to know what you’re missing or what you’re not. Which makes the point Imran’s talked about, people are being lazy to even try out something new & would be happy with what they have, something that can be attributed to ignorance as well. So in all this banter you’ve actually been giving Imran concrete proof of what he’s trying to say. :)

Ok, firstly thanks for enlightening us about your RSS habits.  I personally use Thunderbird for an all in one solution, I wonder what you use?

Quote “Let’s keep Linux out of this since you want to, and since you raised the question of my age, lets go a little more down memory lane & come to XP’s launch. Microsoft was written off by the tech community only 6 years later to have you defending your right to use XP.”

Thanks, since my original visit to Mr Hussains site was nothing to do with Linux, that is appreciated.  Is this a remembering competition?  If so I go back considerably further than XP.  Infact if you had read my post you would see I champion WB1.3 (AmigaOS) which is considerably older than XP.  I go back even further, but thats off topic and not what you are responding to.  Lets make one thing clear.  I do not use Microsoft products at home.  At work I have no choice being caught in the .net.  At work we use a combination of XP/Vista (although the later is a rarerity) I am not defending anyone’s “right to use XP” per say, I am defending peoples freedom of choice to use the package they feel comfortable with and not be called lazy or ignorant for doing so.

Thankfully Mr Hussain tried to be as insulting to me as well, so hopefully there will be no XP users who are offended by the rubbish he spouted.

Quote “I still haven’t read a comment where anyone has tried to make a case that 7 isn’t a worthy upgrade”

Except for a issues individuals report on forums (which are personal to them) neither have I.  I think the wording should be “necessary upgrade” and goes back to the question that even Microsoft employees cant answer properly (even here) which is:

What advantages does Windows 7 offer that cannot be achieved either natively or via third party software on XP?

Thats an important question and one that needs answering, especially when Microsoft have a massive userbase (IMO) of people happy with XP.

Quote “all I’ve been reading is that XP is “good enough””

And thats bad because?  Certainly from opinion I’ve read users dont want Vista, so if they are happy with XP, whats the problem?

If a user is going to have to pay money to upgrade to 7 and they either can’t afford (or dont want to) whats wrong with staying with something thats good enough?

Quote “You haven’t tried 7 to know what you’re missing or what you’re not.”

You don’t know that for sure, you are simply saying it for effect.  For all you know I could be a “troll” like Mr Hussain says and I could be the biggest Windows fanboy on the net who just likes creating arguments.  Fact is you dont know.  Ask first.

For the record I have not used Windows 7, as since I did experience the pre-release Vista and its subsequent release on the shelves, I have no faith that the package which is knocking around the net now is what will be representative of the final version.  Notice I havent sought to cheapen 7, Ive simply asked for the advantages for a happy XP user.  I will be purchasing 7 when it hits the shelves and will give my opinion.  You cannot champion something which has not had a shelf release (IMO)  I would not chamption the faster boottimes of Ubuntu 9.04 until I had downloaded the final version.  I did not comment on the beta, it would not be fair.

As it happens 9.04 was (IMO) not such a great upgrade since the increase in boottime was no quicker than #!CBL (and that was based on 8.10). (IMO)

Quote “people are being lazy to even try out something new & would be happy with what they have”

and this was my point about it being silly.  If people are happy leave them alone.  By your theory then, even though you are a happy Windows user, you should try AROS, FREEBSD, MAC and LINUX simply to make sure you are not missing out.  The point of upgrade/change is when you hit upon a problem or issues that you believe an upgraded/new OS will provide.  If you are getting what you want from whatever you use, why bother?  Vista hardly got the mass migration MS wanted, did it?  I’d suggest since nothing terrible happened to the XP users who either downgraded Vista or stuck with XP then the same is true now.

Here’s where you mention the new DX and Windows 7 (I presume) if you care to see what gamers are saying (and I’m not one so cant comment) I think you will find 7 is not really on their list of must haves.  Add to that the piracy issue and the dominance of the console as a gaming platform, I’d suggest that the last bastion of salvation for Windows as an OS is being eroded away by the console market.

Quote “So in all this banter you’ve actually been giving Imran concrete proof of what he’s trying to say”

Sure I have.  I sincerely hope what few readers he has agree (although looking at his comment section it appears already some dont)   A Gentoo user supporting a baseless 7 claim?  Thats a new one, maybe you could better explain?

I sincerely hope you avoid the vulgarity of Mr Hussain.  You have raised points which should be answered and topics that should be debated.  Rest assured, even if I dont like your posts, your comments will always be shown here.

*EDIT*

While we are waiting for Manan to respond, I wonder if he could also clear up if this user: http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=437544 (who appears to have difficulties with the simplest of distros) is the same person?  He popped up on the Ubuntu forums for a short period, and just like the simplistic experiences where Manan disputes most mainstream press (in relation to him thinking IE 8 is the best browser) it appears that the user on Ubuntu forums, has difficulty getting to grips with anything that does not have the Microsoft logo on it.    Why then does he use Utorrent (as per his twitter account)?

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

13 Comments Add yours

  1. openbytes says:

    Whilst I’m still waiting for Manan to respond Computer World have posted an article:

    “Microsoft to charge Europeans double for Windows 7”

    http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?command=viewArticleBasic&articleId=9134914

    Still, only the lazy and ignorant wont upgrade (according to Mr Hussain)

  2. waisybabu says:

    _Goblin. Seriously bro. Take it lightly. While I don’t like how “Mr. Hussain” replied to your comments, I don’t like YOUR comments either.

    While I agree with what you have to say, you just said it at the wrong place at the wrong time🙂

  3. openbytes says:

    Please explain….Wrong place, wrong time? Wrong place being the blog where the comments were made, wrong time because he made them before 7 is released?

    Or maybe you refer to your addmition of copyright infringement?

    I appologize for defending XP users who don’t want to upgrade. I appologize for challenging Mr Hussain when he calls them lazy and/or ignorant and I’m sorry “bro” that you decided to become involved in this when apparently you agreed with me all along!?!?!?

    I must admit for the first time I am completely baffled by a response…..you agree with what I say yet it was the wrong time? Ok. Maybe thats something for the readers to think about…? LOL.

    1. waisybabu says:

      I did not at all refer to your MicroPirates post.

      Goblin bhai(“brother” in Urdu), your argument that Linux is great when compared to 7 or OS X is, to a certain extent, agreed upon by me.

      The problem rose from the fact that you mentioned it in a post by “Mr. Manan” when he was STRICTLY discussing XP/Vista to 7 adjustment issues. If you had mentioned if, for example, here: http://is.gd/1iL7M or here: http://is.gd/1iL9F than that would’ve been understandable.

      1. openbytes says:

        Im sorry, again you’ve baffled me with your response. This post was originally about calling an XP user lazy or ignorant because they chose not to upgrade. IT WAS NOT A LINUX v WINDOWS ONE.

        I dont know how much clearer it can be. The only time Linux was mentioned was in respect of 7 “advantages” of upgrading, to highlight that not only were these not new features, but ones both Linux and XP users enjoyed.

        The conversation as a whole as moved on somewhat (in respect of Manan) but it was Mr Hussain and his first post that started the debate. Theres very little left to say about Mr Hussain. Mr Manan has returned and the conversation has now progressed.

        I never said Linux was better and I never mentioned OS X at all. My Linux comments were merely comparisons. Please correct that statement of yours.

        I hope that is now clear. You are welcome to post comments here in the spirit of free speech without fear of anything being deleted (Unlike Mr Hussains site), however please do not seek to make false representation of things you claim I have said.

  4. manan says:

    Woah! So you’re stalking me now!😛 I’m flattered. Anyway, yeah that Ubuntu user is me. Long story … couldn’t get the damn thing working on I think Ubuntu 6 or something (which I eventually did despite the lack of support from the “linux community”) & then some guy picked up an article from my blog & posted it there to which I responded. And my presence at Ubuntu forums should be fact enough that I try out alternatives. I have in the past have setup a quad-boot with OS X (Leopard) Ubuntu (Gutsy Gibbon), XP & Vista. So that should put to rest your concern about:

    By your theory then, even though you are a happy Windows user, you should try AROS, FREEBSD, MAC and LINUX simply to make sure you are not missing out.

    Because do so time to time (when I have hard-disc space available)

    SOmeone raised the issue of Win 7’s European prices, let’s keep Europe & Microsoft out of this, simply because Europeans themselves are mad at the European Union for their constant anti-Microsoft actions. That’s more of a political issue than anything else. We can’t deliberate on it.

    What advantages does Windows 7 offer that cannot be achieved either natively or via third party software on XP?

    “Third party” is the key word in your important question. I’m personally not a fan of installing a lot of third party software, I for some reason prefer to have stuff already in the OS.

    Since you’ve asked, XP to Vista & Vista to 7 there have been major UX & UI changes which make life a lot easier & make using the OS itself fun.

    And thats bad because? Certainly from opinion I’ve read users dont want Vista, so if they are happy with XP, whats the problem?

    Not wanting something is a right everyone has, no one is arguing about it but when you say I don’t want it & can’t substantiate then it becomes ignorance & laziness. I say I don’t like Linux distros after having used several of them (and as you can see I can’t seem to keep on writing down & remembering arbitrary commands to install applications.) So there is a reason that I don’t feel comfortable using it, similarly if people say they don’t want Vista after having used it I don’t give a rat’s arse as to what OS they use!

    At this point I should bring in ‘Project Mojave’ where random people were shown Vista & were told that it was Microsoft’s next OS (7) & people liked it! Which shows how ignorant people are.

    This was then followed by someone taking some Linux distro around to random people saying that it was Windows 7 & they believed him!

    Now that is what Imran addressing & I too tried to tell you this in my initial comments there that we are a minority & the crowd out there who use computers is way too ignorant/mis-informed/lazy.


    If a user is going to have to pay money to upgrade to 7 and they either can’t afford (or dont want to) whats wrong with staying with something thats good enough?</b

    If you can’t afford something that is a reason and I agree that Windows 7 is a bit high-priced. I’ve been all along saying that either you have a good enough reason as to why you don’t want/like something or otherwise you’re being ignorant.

    Priced high, is a fair enough reason not to use Vista/7/OS X.

    Imran didn’t title his post saying, people are being cheap by not paying for Windows 7 for crying out loud!

    you dont know. Ask first.
    For the record I have not used Windows 7
    I wasn’t wrong, was I?😉

  5. openbytes says:

    Quote “Woah! So you’re stalking me now!”

    Firstly, please dont tell lies. That was my response to the question you posed on Mr Hussains blog (which was emailed to me). As I said before, he deletes posts he does not like hence I responded here, not only to give you ample opportunity to respond but also so I could put my point across. Its called debate, something that Mr Hussain with his potty mouth and censorship couldnt manage.

    Since you said yourself you had found my blog, I saw no need to contact so maybe you would consider retracting your libelous comment of “stalking”?

    Moving on:

    Quote “Since you’ve asked, XP to Vista & Vista to 7 there have been major UX & UI changes which make life a lot easier & make using the OS itself fun.”

    So UI which allegedly makes life easier is the reason for upgrade? I’m sure you are aware there are desktop replacements (of sorts) for XP which are available which can achieve exactly the same thing…In respect of Enterprise I can’t see fun being a selling point, but then I could be wrong.

    Quote “imran didn’t title his post saying, people are being cheap by not paying for Windows 7 for crying out loud!”

    and I never said he did, it was another possible reason that I gave where “good enough” is justified for a user.

    Quote “I wasn’t wrong, was I?” (in respect of 7)

    No, but until you ask you cannot imply can you? I wouldnt seek to make a claim about you until I had asked you first. It would not be fair.

    I would like to go into the rest of your comments further, but before I do (since unlike you I won’t suggest I know your opinion/experience of something without asking first) can I just confirm, the justification for upgrading to 7 from XP (in your words) is:

    “Since you’ve asked, XP to Vista & Vista to 7 there have been major UX & UI changes which make life a lot easier & make using the OS itself fun.”

    Is that correct?

    I will cover the Mojave “experiment” shortly, since taking a user, deceiving them (IMO) and having them use an OS on specs and systems provided by Microsoft, had little worth in the real world when the package that users installed on their machine was hardly the Mojave experience was it?

  6. manan says:

    Let me get one thing straight, you want me to sell you Windows 7 comparing features in XP & 7 for both enterprise & home users, if you want that I’m sorry, I can’t do that. I’m not a salesman & neither do I have any affiliation with MSFT for doing so. You want me to compare XP with 7 yes that can be done.

    And if enterprise is your thing then, 7 has a lot of benefits over the good ol’ XP. Some I don’t even know ‘coz I’m not an enterprise guy but I can get you in touch with the right guys in MSFT if you want to.

    Please don’t get into features because any sane person would not compare a 6 year old technology to today’s. When the concept of Virtualization was taking off to a day when you can boot from a Virtual HDD we’ve come a long way my friend.

  7. openbytes says:

    So no appology or retraction for the stalking comment?

    Quote “Let me get one thing straight, you want me to sell you Windows 7 comparing features in XP & 7”

    No I dont, I dont want you to sell me anything. You originally posted in defense of Mr Hussain and his “lazy” comment, if you wish to justify why someone who is happy with XP should upgrade then fine. I put it to you that all the “advantages” of a 7 upgrade can already be achieved via XP natively or via 3rd party software.

    If you check back on this site you will see I posed the exact same question to a Microsoft Exec, who IMO could not give a definitive answer either.

    Quote “’m not a salesman & neither do I have any affiliation with MSFT for doing so.”

    Fine, but this is a discussion. You champion the Windows platform do you not? I champion technology as a whole. I have made a living from a diverse range of Operating Systems, and the question I posed is open for discussion to anyone, salesman/user/whatever. If truth be known, I’ve had better advantages cited from users than I ever have had from salespeople.

    Quote “And if enterprise is your thing then, 7 has a lot of benefits over the good ol’ XP. Some I don’t even know ‘coz I’m not an enterprise guy ”

    I wish you hadn’t typed that. You say 7 has benefits yet you dont know what they are. Who told you? Microsoft PR? I thought you are a user who comments on real life experience, not a PR sheet or something that someone else has told you and in particular Microsoft, since pre-Vista we were told it was going to be great for both the user and enterprise. Didn’t quite work out that way did it?

    Quote “Please don’t get into features because any sane person would not compare a 6 year old technology to today’s.”

    Firstly have you seen a modern netbook struggle with XP? (Check my review of a system I bought) Secondly, its 6 yr old software not 6 yr old tech and maybe the reason why its so popular with many. It has a small footprint and is well within the capabilities of modern processors. Maybe this was the problem with Vista in that the specs required to run it with functionality are only now commonplace?

    Quote “When the concept of Virtualization was taking off to a day when you can boot from a Virtual HDD we’ve come a long way my friend.”

    I’m sorry, this has been around for a very long time. It actually started in the early 90’s with the first emulators. VM features are offered on all mainstream OS’s including XP, and if you are refering to the XP mode of Enterprise 7 then I’d suggest you check a little more closely at what it offers (and the fact that it requires select CPU’s) Wine (the Windows API replacement for Linux) has been mentioned purely because even FREE software is able to offer a feature that the “championed” XP mode cant. That being support for DX software.

    7 is not, IMO the champion of anything. I see people raving about the “boot from USB” yet that has been around for a while with people who use an alternative to Microsoft products.

    Again, there is no new software innovation in 7 (IMO) and everything thats been mentioned has already been available. In my opinion Microsoft has a skill at rebadging a feature that already exists with a new name. This leads people to believe that the “new” feature comes straight from Redmond. Without even mentioning alternatives, users of XP will find that 3rd party software houses have been offering the same features.

    This debate is on the merits of an XP – 7 migration though, and has nothing to do with alternatives. As I said to the Microsoft exec, there is nothing that I have seen which makes for a compelling reason for XP users to upgrade (IMO) which is why Mr Hussains original comments of “lazy” and “ignorant” look so silly.

    I dont expect you to speak for Microsoft, I don’t expect you to engage in Linux V Windows (if you dont want to) all I want is to hear the innovative feature that 7 offers which cannot be achieved in XP and why a mature OS that people find “good enough” is such an issue if they want to stick with it, especially when 7 hasn’t even hit the shelves.

    *EDIT*
    (Not directed at you Manan)
    I don’t know what sort of site Mr Hussain thinks he is running, I thought his bad language, censorship and name calling was simply his own immaturity, yet we see other users (Nakodari) refering to this debate as a “war”!?! Grow up guys, we are having a discussion about software and IMO Mr Hussains dubious practices in running a blog. This is not life or death, nor is it the most important subject on the planet. This is merely an interesting discussion. I suggest Nakodari and friends take a step back and consider this before engaging in any silliness.

    The sad thing is, Mr Hussain called me both a shill and a troll in his childish tirades, however have I used bad language? no. Have I sought to hide my identity by nymshifting? no – Ive made it very clear which blog I run. And finally have I claimed a software debate is a “war”? – no.

    Lets keep it mature people, otherwise there’s very little point.

  8. manan says:

    I put it to you that all the “advantages” of a 7 upgrade can already be achieved via XP natively or via 3rd party software. DX 11, WDDM 1.1, UAC, Action Center, Device Stage, Federated Search, PSR, Core-Parking (reduces battery consumption), support for Ambient Light & Location Sensors, Automatic Stream Attenuation, Ribbon UI … the last 3 are capabilities that a developer can use to make PCs more user-friendly. And this is a top-of-my-head list!


    Fine, but this is a discussion. You champion the Windows platform do you not? I champion technology as a whole. I have made a living from a diverse range of Operating Systems, and the question I posed is open for discussion to anyone, salesman/user/whatever. If truth be known, I’ve had better advantages cited from users than I ever have had from salespeople.
    I’m a tech enthusiast first, a Windows supporter second, so what I’m saying is as a user.

    I wish you hadn’t typed that. You say 7 has benefits yet you dont know what they are. Who told you? Microsoft PR? I thought you are a user who comments on real life experience, not a PR sheet or something that someone else has told you and in particular Microsoft, since pre-Vista we were told it was going to be great for both the user and enterprise. Didn’t quite work out that way did it?
    As I said, Enterprise is not my thing as of now, I’ve had discussions with IT Pros who’ve told me a lot of stuff that pretty much bounced right off me ‘coz it dealt with technology meant for enterprise users where I’ve had NO exposure at all.

    Firstly have you seen a modern netbook struggle with XP? (Check my review of a system I bought) Secondly, its 6 yr old software not 6 yr old tech and maybe the reason why its so popular with many. It has a small footprint and is well within the capabilities of modern processors. Maybe this was the problem with Vista in that the specs required to run it with functionality are only now commonplace?
    The underlying kernel & the APIs built, it’s all technology! Technology doesn’t necessarily mean hardware! XP was released 6 years ago made on technology & development done before that. And if you were to take my opinion, I’d say Vista is a great OS, sure it has a lot quirks (resource requirement one of them) but underneath it’s a rock solid OS.

    I’m sorry, this has been around for a very long time. It actually started in the early 90’s with the first emulators. VM features are offered on all mainstream OS’s including XP, and if you are refering to the XP mode of Enterprise 7 then I’d suggest you check a little more closely at what it offers (and the fact that it requires select CPU’s) Wine (the Windows API replacement for Linux) has been mentioned purely because even FREE software is able to offer a feature that the “championed” XP mode cant. That being support for DX software.
    I’m not talking about XPM (which in itself is pretty cool) I’m talking about Windows 7’s ability to natively boot from a Virtual HDD! Now if thats not cool, I seriously don’t know what is!

    7 is not, IMO the champion of anything. I see people raving about the “boot from USB” yet that has been around for a while with people who use an alternative to Microsoft products.
    Blah, I’m not talking about booting via USB. You talked about Windows on netbooks, the memory footprint of 7 is so friggin’ low that it can even run on 128MB RAM! If course that’s not usable but the point is, it can which only goes to show its capability on other machines, I personally have used Win 7 on a ASUS Eeepc & it was awesome! Way better than XP!

    Again, there is no new software innovation in 7 (IMO) and everything thats been mentioned has already been available. In my opinion Microsoft has a skill at rebadging a feature that already exists with a new name. This leads people to believe that the “new” feature comes straight from Redmond. Without even mentioning alternatives, users of XP will find that 3rd party software houses have been offering the same features.
    Na, that’s Apple😉

    This debate is on the merits of an XP – 7 migration though, and has nothing to do with alternatives. As I said to the Microsoft exec, there is nothing that I have seen which makes for a compelling reason for XP users to upgrade (IMO) which is why Mr Hussains original comments of “lazy” and “ignorant” look so silly. The point is, if you’re not going to try it out & say that I’m happy with XP it means that you’re being lazy to go out there & see for yourself & at the same time relying on other’s opinion which makes you (not you in person, but talking about Imran’s article) ignorant!

    why a mature OS that people find “good enough” is such an issue if they want to stick with it, especially when 7 hasn’t even hit the shelves.
    because it has had its time, everything has a shelf life, Xo has had its glorious 6 years, time to on to better things, change is tough & usually people are pessimistic about it if they have something that already works but that doesn’t mean that what they have still beats what comes 6 years later.
    🙂

  9. openbytes says:

    Manan,

    Still you haven’t the courtesy to appologize for the lies you told about me “stalking” am I ever going to get a retraction from you?

    I hope you dont mind, but instead of a mass quoting. I will simply number your paragraphs as points and answer them that way (in the spirit of ease to read)

    Point 1, all these “features” are as Ive said repeatedly, re-badged ones that already exist.
    Let me give you a few examples:

    “reduces battery consumption” try comparing the battery life between netbooks. The component requirement is far more important than the way the software manages it. (with the best will in the world, you are not going to solve the issue that Windows 7 will need better specs than XP on say a netbook, ergo battery life of that particular cell will be diminished.

    Let me quote another example: “Ribbon UI ” – Simply fancy GFX. Want a link to XP software that enables a new UI?

    Device stage? LOL a fancy name for a device manager and something that should be present in XP already. How many people have issues with plugged devices? Afterall Microsoft often say that out of the box compat is what they are good at. There should be no need for this. This is FUD, its a fancy name on something thats already being used.

    Heres another “great feature” from Manan:

    Action Center – Simply a task manager, it tells you when you need to scan for virus or malware. I think you will find many 3rd party alternatives. Another feature re-badged to sound like something else.

    Automatic Stream Attenuation – Sounds fancy doesnt it? Its actually just something which will for example turn down the sound on a movie when you get a Skype call. Great name eh? Is this really the “great” feature of 7?

    support for Ambient Light & Location Sensors – Yes Manan, any OS can have support for this, I think you will find there has been 3rd party software already released in regards to XP.

    Problem Steps Recorder (PSR) I must admit I was stuck to find much about this. Apparently it helps you fix problems (something Windows users know all about IMO) Maybe Manan you could elaborate on PSR for the readers here. The one thing IMO you wont have to ellaborate on is Windows problems. I bet most people have encountered those. Want to see the 7 BSOD?

    WDDM 1.1 – another fancy sounding one. Its simply the driver behind the UI and its emulation of Compiz (IMO), of no consequence to the happy XP user and really to the average user no concern either.

    Any other great innovative features that set aside Windows 7?

    —–
    Point 2. I never said you were anything else. The selling which I was expecting was in relation to a user. I certainly don’t believe you are a salesperson or at all connected with Microsoft because of you comments about the features mentioned in point 1.

    ——
    Point 3. You said Enterprise “was not your thing” yet in your previous post you were quite happy to champion advantages of it for Enterprise. Let me refresh your memory as to what you said

    Quote manan “And if enterprise is your thing then, 7 has a lot of benefits over the good ol’ XP. Some I don’t even know ‘coz I’m not an enterprise guy but I can get you in touch with the right guys in MSFT if you want to.”

    I don’t need to labor that point. As I said at the time I wish you hadn’t typed that as it exposes you for making comments on something you know nothing about (by your own admittions)

    Point 4. A moot point on our definition of tech. I personally think defining Windows as software rather than “tech” makes it far more clear. Since 7 is built up Vista kernel (IMO) I found the following funny:

    “I’d say Vista is a great OS, sure it has a lot quirks (resource requirement one of them) but underneath it’s a rock solid OS.”

    And that will tell readers (who actually use Vista) how accurate your comments are. I need not say more.

    ——–
    Point 5. Yes I know, I catered for both. VM pretty cool? Yes and it wasn’t pioneered in 7! Its been around since the days of the A500 where you could boot GEM desktop within a small VM environment. That was in the early 1990’s.

    Every major platform/os has VM, including Linux. Unless you have never experienced anything other than Windows this is certainly not new or exciting.

    Want to mention about the LiveCD? LOL. Is that going to be “invented” in the Windows platform too?

    ——–
    Point 6

    Again, you are talking about Software that has not hit the shelves. I already said to you until that happens I have no faith in what the product will be.

    I would like to take your word that it will be great, however you’ve already shown yourself to make comments without having the experience so if you dont mind, Ill wait and see.

    ——–
    Point 7
    Ok, whatever you say. I hope my readers judge you on that comment. I will leave it there. You provide no counter.

    ——-
    Point 8

    How many times do you need to be told. When you said “ay that I’m happy with XP it means that you’re being lazy to go out there”
    Why are they lazy. If people are happy why should they pay money. If you like living in your house do you automatically go looking for a new one?
    If your car is reliable and you like it, do you feel the urge to replace it just because a new model has been released?

    This is all silly and a poor justification for Mr Hussain’s lazy comment which he appears to be desperately trying to back out of now via 3rd parties. Ok, by your theory, If I approach Mr Hussain and champion AROS, he’s obliged to test it otherwise he’s lazy?

    Poor. Very poor. It would not be so bad if Windows 7 was actually in the shops.

    Mr Mannan, the purpose of an OS is to run quietly and unassumingly as possible in the background, acting as a launchpad for running other programs. That way it free’s up as many resources as possible and maybe why gamers (who require the most of their specs) seem to prefer XP and its small requirements.

    Windows is not the answer to all lifes problems, and maybe when Microsoft tried to make it so with Vista, it became the binary slug it is today.

    Final point
    ———–
    A package has had its time when users say so. Since customers and money drive Microsoft, I’d suggest MS would like you to pay out as much as possible and again I repeat, there is nothing that 7 offers that cannot be achieved with XP.

    Like I say the exception is DX11, but if gamers are what MS is appealing to, then you should take a look at your local shop and see how many console titles there are compared to PC ones.

    Quote “change is tough & usually people are pessimistic about it if they have something that already works but that doesn’t mean that what they have still beats what comes 6 years later.”

    and by that token you would recommend someone try an alternative to MS products too?

    Yes, and users certainly found that out when they went from XP to Vista and then back again. You keep saying it “beats” XP…does it?

    How about checking the sites that have actually done benchmarks first. I think you will find that both the off the shelf press and online are hardly saying it floors XP.

    I look forward to a response and hear more of these ground breaking reasons to upgrade. When you return though, do you think you can finally appologize to me?

  10. waisybabu says:

    Ahh, that is clear to me now. Clearly, you love FOSS and you have the right to show your love🙂

    Nice blog. One question though: How do you get all this traffic even though you’re on a SUB-domain? My colleagues tell me it’s impossible to get good traffic on wordpress.COM blog…

  11. openbytes says:

    Quote “Ahh, that is clear to me now. Clearly, you love FOSS”

    I don’t really know how to respond to that. Its taken you all this time to notice the “Championing FOSS, exposing FUD…” on both the top of this site and my Twitter profile? Ok. The FOSS issue is nothing to do with why I challenged Mr Hussain (although other discussions did stem out of that)

    Please though, don’t try to suggest that I only support FOSS, as that would be untruthful, and if you care to look back on my blog, you will see plenty of proprietary solutions championed too. Software is all about using the best software. I would not use FOSS just because it is free. I use FOSS because I have an honest held belief its better. The “free” part is an added bonus.

    Quote “Nice blog. One question though: How do you get all this traffic even though you’re on a SUB-domain? My colleagues tell me it’s impossible to get good traffic on wordpress.COM blog…”

    Thanks, I’ll take that as a compliment, however I never considered my daily hits to be “good traffic” If you are suggesting they are dishonest then I will happily screenshot my dashboard in order for you to confirm that they are genuine.

    If you are looking for tips for your colleagues, its quite easy, post with an honest held belief and maybe consider that people might want to try or be better off with software other than that of Microsoft. Perhaps if you gave it a go yourself, you would be in a far better position to counter me?

    Maybe your colleagues would like to come here and post, if they are claiming to be experts and saying that my blog is getting good traffic, then I would suggest they are not as expert as they would like you to think.

    I expect though that many people come here (like on almost any other tech forum) because they have found the benefits of ALTERNATIVES to Microsoft (and that need not be Linux) Alternatives for Windows software like Open Office instead of Microsoft Office. Firefox instead of IE..the list goes on.

    To be a FOSS user, you do not need to use Linux. Whilst I do, I have known many people who are using XP with FOSS alternatives to their packages. IMO its a very easy way to start experiencing the FOSS world.

    Regards
    Goblin

Leave a Reply

