The “big boys” are coming!

I thought id seen just about every silly challenge that could be made.  That was until this lot turned up on my blog.  Long live the entertainment!
I thought id seen just about every silly challenge that could be made. That was until this lot turned up on my blog. Long live the entertainment!

So here we go again.

Another “challenger” who wants to create points which I never made.  I think its possible that I may have fallen through a rip in the fabric of space, as it appears recently Ive had people claiming Ive said things when definately in the universe I came from I did not.

Perhaps Microsoft has developed an addon (for Windows 7 or Vista of course) that allows the net to break down the walls of reality and allow net users to slide between an infinite number of parallel uiniverses.  Has Goblin finally flipped?  Quite possibly since I again find myself defending against thing I DIDNT say.

So here, without further ado is the latest one.  Readers, Romans and Countrymen meet Simon360.  Firstly a few questions need to be asked:

1. Does Simon report for Neowin?

2. Does Simon speak for Neowin?

By the tone of his post he seems to imply it, and certainly his choice of words when expressing himself make him very similar to Neowin reporters weve seen in the past, but is he talking about Neowin?  I dont have a clue and really Im not bothered.

So here is his first post to me (while I was afk)

“can you make fun of me, too? Since we’re all such huge MS fanboys. I’m sure you can find the evidence for me.”

So whats wrong with a fanboy?  I challenge either inappriopriate remarks or remarks which mislead people (IMO). Good examples are found on this site numerous times, and Im put in mind of the classic comment of year which was made by a poster on Microsoft Watch: “You need a compiler to play a DVD in Linux” – that will probably be my all time favorite.

Disgruntled (IMO) that he didnt receive a rise out of me (to be honest I thought he was a gamer) I then get this post:

“I just want you to shut up. You’ve gathered far more attention than you’re worth. I don’t give a shit, but my colleagues do.”

Im sure you do, but if you think about it, striking up a conversation by trying to provoke me with “can you make fun of me too?” is probably not the best way to shut me up, or have I dropped through another one of those spacial anomalies again?  Who do you mean by colleagues?  Since the posts where I challenge sillyness like yours seem to be the most popular, and I never considered this a popularity contest anyway, I wont dignify your “attention” remark any further.

we deal with enough people like you on a daily basis. We’re a reasonably large news site. People always pick on the big guys.”

Who is “we”?  I dont challenge Microsoft Watch (and if I did it would be IMO professional enough not to act in the way certain people have) I dont pick on the “big guys” or anyone.  Why can I have decent conversations with many pro-Microsoft sites and reporters without sillyness like we’ve seen in the last few days?  Id love to know the site you represent since I doubt you would be classed as big compared to some of the sites I post on (without may I add, tirades and behaviour which are not out of place in a schoolyard)

You deal with enough people like me on a daily basis?  As I said to the other IMO attempted threat, Im frightened.  Really I am.🙂

“one more thing: Sam is the least “FUD” spreading news guy we have. He writes most of our apple news. The fact that he’s aMS student partner has nothing to do with anything, it’s just good for him. News sites have to get sources from relevant companies.”

Thats very nice for him.  I never said otherwise.  All I claimed that Sam did was make a sarcastic remark.  Whats that got to do with FUD?  As far as Im aware he hasnt made any incorrect IT statements like Chakaradeep, nor has he sought to insult with “tin hat” comments like Marshalus.

The point Simon360, which you seem blissfully unaware of, is this.  How can a reporter be truly impartial or experienced in IT when their main experience comes from a background of one companies packages?  I am not saying anyone is being paid by Microsoft to post their articles, but as we saw in the case of Chakaradeep, having knowledge in one companies products can often lead to you posting incorrect facts about anothers (either intentionally or not) IMO.  That is the point.  Ive seen the Neowin Linux area, and whilst Ill refrain from making a comment (lest I get more childish tirades on my blog) what I will say is that it is of no consequence to me what Neowins intentions are.  This began with the challenge of a Neowin reporter posting an incorrect (IMO) implication on a Linux distro.  When challenged he tried to fudge an answer, and when challenged again simply ignored.

Neowin, its reporters and its users can play with Windows all day I really dont mind.  What I mind is when something is posted that (IMO) is likely to mislead someone into an incorect assumption about an alternative to Microsoft products.

I wont draw inference from Simon360s posts (which are quite typical from reporters from the Neowin site who quite happily swear, insult and in one case have a girlfriend pop up in defense.)  What sort of outfit is being run here? I dont see Joe Willcox, Mary Jo Foley or any of the Microsoft employees Ive had the pleasure of debating with acting like this.

So heres Simon360s final post, maybe he wouldnt mind telling us which site he and his collegues are from?  It makes you wonder since he’s now formed a conversation with our potty mouth Stacey.

“hope you can get it up tonight. My attention span isn’t that long. Good luck!”

and lets also include one of our  Stacey classic, who by the way got a little confused when I censored out her potty mouth with # as I refused to re-quote her foul language:

“#### you. Learn to spell my name.”

I think we can have a separate page for these people now, whilst they offer great entertainment, I dont want it distracting people from the real news.




11 Comments Add yours

  1. openbytes says:

    Bless them.

    It seems that its over.

    I believe Marshalus thinks he’s won (whatever he was engaging in – you can see that on his Twitter) so theres some good news.

    Stacey (and Ill be careful what I say lest she tries to threaten again) seems to be taking her first steps in the delights of the Windows world (of which Im sure Chakkaradeep will have plenty of tips and expertise on, providing anything else isnt mentioned)

    Simon360 hasnt made his appearance which was a shame.

    I think the penny dropped with them a while ago. Normally on this blog (as is the case of many interesting and intelligent Microsoft users Ive spoken with) I have a great debate, we both put our views across and then let readers decide.

    Then sometimes we get the “fraggles” When this happens alot of entertainment can be found whilst these people are led down a path and ridicule based on holes they dig themselves into. I am actually surprised it took Stacey, Simon and Marshalus so long to work out what was happening and whilst I love a decent debate, its often a refreshing change to run a “Jerry Springer” type article when its obvious the posters will not have anything sensible to say.

    Let me go on record. Do I think Marshalus, Chakkaradeep, Simon360 are being paid by Microsoft to post FUD? Of course not, if Microsoft was indeed engaging in that practice they certainly wouldnt pay for the rubbish we’ve seen over the last few days.

    Is Neowin impartial? doesnt matter. I consider myself quite aware of sites that are “mainstream” in the IT news world, Id never heard of Neowin until I followed a rather dubious post on our favorite Andre Da Costa’s twitter which turned into my first experience of a Neowin reporter.

    It was claimed Neowin has 300k+ hits a day. Good luck to them.

    Regards
    Goblin.

  2. cybrsage says:

    Just a friendly note, you say IMO way too much.

    This is a blog, it is ALL your opinion. 😉

    1. openbytes says:

      Very good point cybrsage, Id like to bring up why.

      I am well aware of the difficulties one can get into with large companies who would seek recompense from a civil action (or just a silencing). The reason why I always use (IMO) is to make it overly clear that its not stated as fact and is my opinion, thus cutting off that particular avenue for anyone with these intentions.

      Reverting now back to my usual typing style, yes I agree with you and a few months ago I wouldnt have paid it alot of thought, but since Ive now experienced the underhanded tactics that I had only read about previously (and never really believed) I prefer to keep as many in as possible and offer my appologies to people as they are probably quite annoying.

      IMO over the top? Yep.

      Thank you for posting and bringing it up. A new poster here is always welcome. (IMO)😉

  3. XometriX says:

    was that Stacey for real? i reckon she thinks people actually agree with her; now where do i get myself a bird that will chat shit for me when im in lecture? Stacey please come back love you are a hoot.

  4. openbytes says:

    Hi!
    Firstly since I challenged Stacey and her potty mouth, I must ask you kindly not to swear on my site. Even though Stacey was great entertainment, I cant have one rule for one and one for another.

    I think Stacey “fell over” at the very beginning of her responses and I knew it would be a bit of fun letting her type away in blissful ignorance of how she was sounding to others. She started off with saying I didnt know her boyfriend and was not in a position to make a comment, then proceeded to base the rest of her posts doing exactly the same to me.

    It matters not, and you have to give her credit that even in the face of repeated counters to her sillyness she was diligent enough to keep coming back for more.

    I was tempted to run a little article on Stacey but didnt as I do pity her slightly in that she believed she was defending the honor of her boyfriend (who was unable to make a full comment himself)

    I have a feeling theres one Neowin reporter who will have this thread (and the related ones) come back to haunt him.

    Ive sent an email to a couple of MS employees for a debate, I really hope they dont bring along their partners, I think one Stacey a week is enough.

    Now a message to Stacey, who is obviously reading this. If you want to come back and post about a subject independently of your boyfriend, you are more than welcome. Regardless of your previous use of vulgarity, if you can curb that for a few minutes we would love to hear your opinions on whatever area of expertise/study you have.

    Stacey, its been a real pleasure and I mean that sincerely.

    Regards
    Goblin.

  5. openbytes says:

    Last post made to Simon360 before bed.

    Ive invited him here (he is also welcome) and I hope hes happy they have won?!?!? (as per some bizarre comment on his twitter)

    I think now a few links around the web to highlight the behavior of some Neowin reporters and their girlfriends is in order (that is unless Steve Ballmer wife follows Staceys lead and posts here), but that will have to wait until friday.

    I cant sum up the emails tonight, too tired, but thank you. Only 2 vulgar and 1 silly received from a total of 17 on the last two articles alone. Not bad going…ish.

    Goodnight all
    Goblin.

  6. simon360 says:

    I’m so glad you did this. It’s exactly what I wanted.

    Look, I’m not speaking on behalf of Neowin. Not at all. My original tweet was a joke. I’m a sarcastic guy. But being a friend of Sam, Marshalus, and Chaks, not to mention the rest of the staff, I couldn’t simply let you go on needlessly trashing.

    You need to stop acting like an elitist. That’s all you’re doing. Claiming another site has bias or is spreading misinformation is quite hypocritical.

    No reporter is perfect. I can tell you that our guys work their ***es off looking things up, however. Running a general tech news site is much more difficult than it looks, and no one’s perfect, but the guys on Neowin are pretty good.

    I’m a Neowin developer, so I can’t personally tell you how hard it is to write news. But I can tell you from looking at the stuff they do and knowing what goes on behind the scenes that it isn’t as simple as drafting up a few points and moulding a blog post out of it. I don’t mean to discredit your work at all: a blog is valuable. It’s a personal spewing place. I totally respect what you have here. But you have to respect what we have too.

    As for me, I’m obviously not paid by Microsoft. I’m more of a Microsoft hater than most of the staff. I headed up that Neowin Linux distribution you mentioned, for a little while. While it doesn’t look like it went anywhere, those who worked on it have gone on to contribute to the open source community wherever possible. It was a learning experience: after 2 years we are quite comfortable picking through the occasional source code, or contributing ideas to another distro. We know what’s reasonable. And furthermore, I’m primarily a Mac user. I develop iPhone and Mac apps. I write some of Neowin’s code from OS X. The only reason I have Windows 7 at all is for the occasional game or testing something out.

    I’m willing to have a reasonable discussion with you, I really am. Hit me up on twitter and pick up a specific issue, I’ll either fight with you or give you extra ammo. Despite my immature joke, I’m actually a reasonable guy. Just really sarcastic, and that never translates well over the “internets”.

    Just please, understand that a website with over 300k hits a day gets a lot of complaints. Sometimes we simply can’t deal with them. What you brought up originally was a relatively minor and nitpicky issue, even a little bit subjective.

    If you ever have a problem on Neowin, we have a nice little “Report a Problem” link on all of our articles, right next to the rating stars. Those messages are read as they come in, and changes are usually approved within a few hours. Don’t have a hissy fit over it, just report it.

    I’ll see you on twitter or here, wherever you want. You’ve got an interesting blog, and I wish you luck on it. My final thing to say, however, and this is from experience, is that you can’t run a website bashing other websites. You’ll get the kind of users you don’t want to have. The kind that hate everything, will trash anything, and don’t need any good reason to. The way to run a website is to do what you did before you called Neowin out: post content that you find interesting and hope others do, too.

  7. MS Watch just went kaput.

  8. openbytes says:

    Firstly, glad you posted, welcome.

    “I couldn’t simply let you go on needlessly trashing.”

    Lets stop it there. This began because of an incorrect statement which was not corrected despite several requests. It then culminated in another reporter being offensive and then finally yet another reporter being sarcastic. None of this was done on a “tit for tat” I never insulted anyone.

    Lets get that straight before we go any further.

    Quote “You need to stop acting like an elitist”

    Im not, and its exactly the thing I want to avoid ANYONE doing. That is why I seek to represent both sides of the argument and give users an informed and realistic choice.

    If I wanted to act like an elitist I would draw on my Amiga assembly language days in the demo scene. I would identify my real “scene” handle currently in the demoscene on the PC. I would link to the numerous emulation projects I have been involved in or the fact that whilst being a .net developer at work Ive coded one or two things you might have heard of.

    I wont elaborate on these since I believe it would distort the message of what I was saying and would give me unfair credibility. I prefer people to judge my words on their own research and not a CV. Thats why Goblin is used as a handle.

    Quote “Claiming another site has bias or is spreading misinformation is quite hypocritical.”

    I havent. I suggested some reporters have on the Neowin site. Please read the previous article as one example where I say

    “Now before anyone goes down the line of imagining up allegations that I am accusing Neowin of being Microsoft biased, let me stress I am not”

    Ive even put it in bold. I really dont think I can make my opinion any clearer. I wish people would stop saying that I am alleging anything towards the site Neowin.

    Moving onto a more pleasant tone, let me cover a few of your points where we have common ground.

    Quote “No reporter is perfect. I can tell you that our guys work their ***es off looking things up, however. Running a general tech news site is much more difficult than it looks, and no one’s perfect, but the guys on Neowin are pretty good.”

    Completely agree, infact you will see in previous articles I corroborate the experience of reporters on Neowin as being “extensive” in regards to MS products.

    Quote “I’m willing to have a reasonable discussion with you, I really am. Hit me up on twitter and pick up a specific issue, I’ll either fight with you or give you extra ammo.”

    Very kind offer and it is appreciated.

    Im pleased you mention Apple as this is a good example of the point I was making in regards to MS product (or any one product line experts).

    If I am having an Apple discussion I need to be very careful. Whilst I bought the wife one a few months back, my experience on them is limited to a few stolen minutes with it here and there. I certainly am impressed with what Ive seen, although if a user brings an Apple issue onto any forum to me I have to stress that my experience of them is limited. I would not seek to make generalizations of them that could mislead a user and if I did and was challenged Id be the first to stand corrected and appologize. I would expect that of anyone reporting news on a subject.

    This blog is a small opinionated forum. Whilst it does seek to present other avenues for readers it also aims to entertain. There are many websites which offer the news and whilst the larger sites offer the latest scoops, many simply regurgitate news that anyone can get for themselves on a decently thought out RSS feed list. Thats not an attack on Neowin, as IMO it falls into the bracket of timely and informative news.

    Quote “I’ll see you on twitter or here, wherever you want. You’ve got an interesting blog, and I wish you luck on it”

    Thats nice of you to say. Its appreciated although Id like to stress that I have no delusions of grandeur and dont intend nor want (nor believe) that Openbytes will reach the 300k hits you do or become a site like zdnet.

    Quote “My final thing to say, however, and this is from experience, is that you can’t run a website bashing other websites.”

    I hope ive made my point clear (above) in regards to this.

    Quote “You’ll get the kind of users you don’t want to have.”

    To be honest everyone is welcome even Steve Ballmer. Putting aside anyones opinion of what Ive said or not said, even in the case of the blatantly foolish, I still respect their right to voice their opinion and would encourage it.

    Quote “The way to run a website is to do what you did before you called Neowin out: post content that you find interesting and hope others do, too.”

    Im quite sure your experience of running a busy website is far in advance of mine. Im a coder not an editor. Thanks for the advice (although a little arrogant IMO and, dare I say “elitist”) but I will take it as being said with the best of intentions and meant in a friendly way, so thank you, I think.

    Can I just add for clarification purposes:

    Quote “I’m more of a Microsoft hater than most of the staff. I headed up that Neowin Linux distribution you mentioned, for a little while.”

    and say that I do not hate anything. Yes I post the negative news on Microsoft. Yes I do knock MS products I have issue with and yes I do have an honest held belief that Linux is the far better platform of the two, but please see where I also champion MS products that I think are good.

    I challenge more MS’s alleged underhanded tactics and patent threats. I make a living from using Microsoft products at work, so I cant really say I hate them. I simply think there are better alternatives.

    I suppose if I was to be “pinned down” Id say I hate end users not being informed that they have a choice.

    Anyway, Ill end it there. I thank and appreciate your post, and certainly will take you up on your offer when a related subject matter “crosses paths” with something you are discussing.

    I will certainly make a mention of this on Twitter as I always do in the interests of fairness, and I really hope people take note of your post seen I think some posts of others may be slightly damaging to Neowin (which would be unfair)

    Nice talking to you.
    Goblin.

Leave a Reply

