Sam Symons…maybe youre new here….

Is Sam SLYMons trying to crack a joke, or is he simply slow?  Could it even be he's a fan of Openbytes?   He's a sharepoint student you know, although in terms of comedic value, he's somewhat lacking.  Welcome Sam, Neowins latest.
Is Sam SLYMons trying to crack a joke, or is he simply slow? Could it even be he's a fan of Openbytes? He's a sharepoint student you know, although in terms of comedic value, he's somewhat lacking. Welcome Sam, Neowins latest.

Or/ Theres no “W” in Neowin!

I think many will remember the “debate” that I got into with challenges of Neowin staff.  No, I never got an appology nor did Chakaradeep ever justify his silly (IMO) baseless remark open OpenSUSE.  However Id moved on. When I challenged the maturity of Marshalus and his comments I had no proper response (IMO) and to be honest became a little tired of the whole one sided discussion while I attempted to get an official word and clarification from certain Neowin staff.

I did keep an eye on the Neowin site to see evidence of the Linux/Mac coverage the site has and whilst there are a few mentions (the dedicated Linux section which was touted by an alleged unconnected poster, is simply a forum and certainly not one (IMO) that offers any particular direction in educating people who are NEW to Linux or the possibility of Microsoft alternatives, which is one of the things I would like to see more large sites that claim impartiality do.  (Neowin is one that IMO requires it, there are others)

Maybe Sam Symons is new to the Net.  But it seems that another Microsoft products user has recieved a “job” at NeoWin Neowin, again adding to the portfolio (IMO) of Microsoft using reporters that claim impartiality on the NeoWin Neowin site.  Now before anyone goes down the line of imagining up allegations that I am accusing Neowin of being Microsoft biased, let me stress I am not.  I put it to the site that the posting worth/integrity is far better placed in a reporter that is experienced in a diverse range of products not simply one company.  Thats not leveled at Neowin, thats aimed at the reporters with little or no experience of anything other than Microsoft products.

Sam Symons agrees (or maybe he doesnt) in his latest comment on his Twitter it seems that the allegation levelled at me, is actually more relevant to him (that being I attack anyone with a alternate background)  The comment below was replied to Marshalus (editor of Neowin) in a comment he had made stating that they were recruiting new reporters:

Sam_Symons@Marshalus Next up: @_Goblin http://twitter.com/Sam_Symons

This comment was made without any contact by me and I only noticed it because I was waiting for a reply from someone else.

So the newest Neowin reporter is a bit of a joker?  A bit of a comedian?  Im not sure, but surprise, surprise, what he is (and this is quoted from his profile)

…..works as a Microsoft Student Partner in his spare time.”

Marvellous.

Now to continue this on (and I wasnt going to mention this at the time because it wasnt blogworthy for an article in its own right)

If you remember my previous critisisms about some NeoWin reporters (that being immaturity and unwilling to justify actions) heres a quote from a disgruntled (IMO) Twitter user who has also had a problem with certain Neowin staff:

There we go, warned on Neowin for ranting in a Liberal tone again. I guess I shouldn’t bother with that pathetically biased website.”

Thats from the account of http://twitter.com/xxhiroshi21xx

Buts thats not the only one!  Even the legendary Andre Da Costa has had a few things to say in regards to certain Neowin:

My case was deleted by a Moderator, I have moved on anyway, its in the past. But NeoWin needs to be open to criticism.”

http://twitter.com/adacosta

I wont even bother asking for Neowin staff to respond properly or in an adult fashion, as they didnt before and it simply wasted my typing time.  Ill let readers here (some of whom are Neowin readers who kindly emailed me) and ask you to simply consider the quotes and follow the links deciding for yourself.   As I said before to the editor directly, I wont bother challenging Neowin staff on Twitter simply because it is a waste of my time.

In the meantime, Sam Symons can be quite proud, proud that no sooner had he been offered a job with Neowin, hes already put his foot in it by, IMO acting in such a childish way.

Sam, a little message for you.  Have a look over at the discussion I had with a Microsoft employee on this very site, you may get some tips on acting like an adult.  Something which I think you should consider if you want to be taken seriously as a reporter on Neowin.

https://openbytes.wordpress.com/2009/04/25/microsoft-value/

Sam, if you want to engage me properly, keep the subject on IT not (IMO) some silly little joke you may or may not want to crack.

and just to clarify I would not be interested in writing for Neowin, ever.   If Neowin would like me to justify why, please just ask.  I will happily create an article just for that.  (by the way this is the part where you can say you would never want me anyway.  Please use the comments section below for that!)

Cheers all.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

18 Comments Add yours

  1. openbytes says:

    Since its doubtful Ill get a right of reply here, Ill post the response by Sam Symons:

    “Ah, I never meant to get tied up in all this :|”

    If he wants to elaborate on this he is more than welcome.

    In the meantime though, Id ask people not to judge him too harshly since one of Neowins editors (IMO) acts in the same way. Is he following example or is it just another coincidence? :

    “Hope I can tweet this without making The FOSS Goblin mad… Playing some more with Ubuntu 9.04 beta.”

    That was said by Marshalus.

  2. Stacey says:

    As Sam’s girlfriend, I think I Gould be the one that has that call of calling him childish, which he is not. You have no right to say that about him, when you clearly do not know him. At all. Same with the rest of the Neowin staff. Unless you have known him AWAY from your computer and in REAL life, not this Internet business then you would never once call him that. You know, he goes out of his way to help others. All the time. He is a genuine person. And that is not me as his partner speaking. Know people before you say things about them.
    I can tell by the way you’ve written all that, that you clearly have no friends. Stick to what you’re good at. Don’t pick on people if you don’t know your facts or you’ll have me to deal with. And that’s not fun. I think you should be the one to appologize. To Sam especially. If I thought that he actually was in the wrong, then believe me, he’d be appologizing to you. But he’s not. So say sorry to him. I’ll know if you don’t.
    Have a pleasant day.
    =)

  3. openbytes says:

    Im going to presume this is some sort of joke Im not getting.

    So his “girlfriend” comes on here to “fight his corner”

    Shall I go and get my wife? or what about my mother?

    I cant really believe that Sam would either want or condone anyone posting on his behalf, since he’s placed himself into this by his own comment without provocation.

    That being said if I take you on your word and you really are his girlfriend, what on earth does this say about the type of people Neowin recruit?

    Im not expecting Steve Ballmers family to come online and have a go.

    Im pleased you raised the issue of “Don’t pick on people if you don’t know your facts”

    Because whilst you are singing the praises of the Neowin staff, you may wish to read some of the things they have typed about me (in your words) “You have no right to say that about him, when you clearly do not know him”

    So if you dont find his comment a childish “dig” in light of his own offer to Neowin, then fine. You and others can make your own minds up, although Id suggest if its obvious that he’s not childish (in your opinion) then theres no need to come here and post.

    One could argue the fact that his girlfriend posting on his behalf merely reinforces my view.

    Quote “…then believe me…”
    As I said earlier this post may be some joke Im not getting, but I actually did find humor in that particular line.

    “if you don’t know your facts or you’ll have me to deal with”

    Im very frightened, really.

    Maybe you would like to detail how you would deal with me?🙂 For your info your response will make a great second article.

    “Stacey” I am very pleased you took the time to respond here.

    For the readers here, the IP address of the above comment does indeed resolve to a NZ location so at the very least whoever “stacey” is or isnt they are posting from the country Sam alleges to reside in.

    Youve got to give this pair credit for at least not hiding behind a proxy.

    1. Stacey says:

      Ok, for one, I am not fighting his corner. He is capable of fighting for himself, but he won’t because he’s not that kind of person.

      Two, he doesn’t know that I’m posting this, nor do I think he will care. Go ahead, tell him. I couldn’t care less.

      Three, I am not singing praises of the Neowin staff. I couldn’t care less about them. I really couldn’t. Just because Sam works with them, does not mean that I side with them, or like them in any way.

      Four, I am posting because I care about him, and I don’t appreciate people putting him down. I’m sure you would fend for your ‘wife’. Or would you just let people pick on her and beat her down verbally. No. Unless you are an insensitive prick.

      Five, one could argue that you are that you have nothing better to do with your time than make others look bad and be horrible about/to people.

      Six, if you knew me in person, you’d have something to be scared of n_n

      Seven, I would find a way. I always find a way.

      Eight, my name is Stacey. Don’t put it in quote marks.

      Nine, I don’t understand how you think I’m a joke, and I have no relation to Sam. I’ve been with him for nearing two years now, I’ve known him for 6 years. I do his freaking laundry. I clean up after him. We live together AND sleep in the same bed. Hell, I’m using his laptop right now. Go Twitter him or something. But whatever, if you think I’m some nut job ‘pretending’ to be his girlfriend, I’ll let you think that.

      And Sam “alleges” to reside in New Zealand? Are you serious? We both used to live in Methven and go to Mt Hutt College. Before that, Methven Primary. I don’t think he’d lie about where he lives. I don’t know about you, but Sam isn’t a liar. Never has been. He couldn’t lie to save his life.

      You know, you’re quite a horrible person. Why not get a proper life that doesn’t revolve around giving other people shit just because they were ‘mean’ to you. I’ve lived my whole life with people being horrible to me. I know what it’s like. But I don’t go around thinking I’m so high and mighty, hiding behind my computer screen, knowing that no one could ever hurt me. Go out into the real world and say those things to real people. To their faces. Then you’ll be a man.
      Right now, I think -you’re- the one being childish here.

      1. openbytes says:

        Im sorry to the readers the comments have come out of sync because of responding to a tirade below.

        Lets look at Stacys post here.

        Quote “but he won’t because he’s not that kind of person.”

        Ill take your word on that, however he does seem to be the type of person who likes to make (IMO) sarcastic remarks about another user on a public forum.

        Quote “Three, I am not singing praises of the Neowin staff. I couldn’t care less about them. I really couldn’t. Just because Sam works with them, does not mean that I side with them, or like them in any way.”

        I never suggested otherwise. What on earth are you talking about and why are you bringing Neowin into this? It had nothing to do with anyone else but your boyfriend.

        Quote “Four, I am posting because I care about him, and I don’t appreciate people putting him down. I’m sure you would fend for your ‘wife’. Or would you just let people pick on her and beat her down verbally.”

        No, because we are adults. What you are doing is (IMO) acting like you are in the schoolyard texting between your friends. Think about it. This is the internet, we are thousands of miles away from each other the subject at the base of all this is IT and people have their own opinions. If your boyfriend felt so strongly about being challenged, maybe he shouldnt of posted what he did in the first place.

        You on the other hand are different, and Im still waiting to hear how youll deal with me (and per your previous thread)

        The last part of point four breaches my rules of decency. I do not like to use or condone vulgar words on this site, so I wont justify the last part with a response.

        Quote “one could argue that you are that you have nothing better to do with your time than make others look bad and be horrible about/to people.”

        One could, but in your own words you dont know me away from the computer so you dont know…do you?

        One could, fact is, if he hadnt posted what he did, I wouldnt be able to make him look bad, and according to you its me who should say sorry!?!?! according to your last post you implied you had the moral high ground.

        Quote “Six, if you knew me in person, you’d have something to be scared of n_n”

        Im sure. I thought your profile on Twitter says your a nice person? Id suggest you stay away from this sillyness. Youre not doing yourself any favors.

        Quote “And Sam “alleges” to reside in New Zealand? Are you serious? We both used to live in Methven and go to Mt Hutt College. Before that, Methven Primary. I don’t think he’d lie about where he lives.”

        Another reason why you shouldnt really be commenting here without reading a little bit about some of the things we do. You think people havent lied about who they are or where they come from? If thats the case you have my pity.

        Quote “You know, you’re quite a horrible person.” I wish you could see the irony in that comment after your comment of “Six, if you knew me in person, you’d have something to be scared of n_n”

        Quote “Why not get a proper life that doesn’t revolve around giving other people shit just because they were ‘mean’ to you.”

        Thats not the point. Maybe if you read up a little on FOSS and FUD, Microsoft patent threat and the battle against open standards and lockin, you may have a small idea of whats happening here.

        Quote “I’ve lived my whole life with people being horrible to me. I know what it’s like.”

        Im sorry to hear that, but I dont count it as being horrible, I certainly dont take it personally, its more an attack on what FOSS users represent and how a site (IMO) can use so many people with Microsoft only experience and claim impartiality.

        Quote “But I don’t go around thinking I’m so high and mighty, hiding behind my computer screen,”

        Firstly if you believe challenging what you consider to be unfair “high and mighty” then are you not guilty of the same thing coming here? That aside, I have little choice than to hide behind a computer screen since it would get rather expensive travelling the world to speak to people personally.

        Quote “Go out into the real world and say those things to real people. To their faces. Then you’ll be a man.”

        Again, follow your own advice about making comments. You have no clue who I am, anymore than I do you. I have no self esteem issues, so I hold that last remark in the contempt it deserves.

        Quote “Right now, I think -you’re- the one being childish here.”

        and I would ask you to consider what you have already said:

        Quote “Six, if you knew me in person, you’d have something to be scared of n_n”

        I dont think I need to go on.

      2. Stacey says:

        You know, you act as if the whole world is against you.
        Let me ask you this, what exactly has Sam said to you that you feel you had to write up a whole post on it? From what I can see, it was nothing. And if I had a little thing like that said to me, I would brush it off my shoulder.

        Also, learn to spell my name. It’s really not that hard. You just have to look to the right, and wham! There it is.

  4. XometriX says:

    helping your boyfriend on a tech site is probably the most tragic thing i have ever seen.
    lmfao

    1. Stacey says:

      Excuse me? I do not help him at. I get angry at him when he spends more bloody time on his laptop writing stories than he does spending time with me ok. In no way would I ever help him with anything to do with Neowin.
      I am simply looking out for him. Obviously you have never had a relationship with anyone but your computer or your mum.

  5. openbytes says:

    Quote “In no way would I ever help him with anything to do with Neowin.”

    Obviously you jumped into this without knowing what was being talked about and reading it properly.

    The comment in relation to you and Neowin was a flippant remark aimed at the discussion which you obviously hadnt read, that being Neowin actively recruiting staff members. I suggested you because you display some of the traits Ive seen in the past, but of course you would know that since you fully read the actual context and why I responded.

    Quote “Obviously you have never had a relationship with anyone but your computer or your mum.”

    Stacey, if you are going to post here and try to justify whatever point it is you are trying to make, at least read what you said before. Didnt you say “Unless you have known him AWAY from your computer and in REAL life”
    Im not sure if your last little tirade was aimed at me or XometriX, but if it was:

    Im married with three children. I have not lived at home for approximately 20 years.

    but you dont stop there do you?

    Quote “Obviously you have never had a relationship with anyone but your computer or your mum.”

    and yet again prove the quality of argument you come here with.

    Id suggest you are doing more harm than good. You are obviously not privy as to why Ive challenged him, but worse than that while you are throwing around claims (and stating that I should not do the same) actually read what I have put. Unlike you I didnt seek to make comment as fact (thats libelous) I constantly use (IMO) which if you dont know means “In My Opinion”

    Id suggest you think very carefully about what you type in general lest you draw more attention to (IMO) a little sillyness on the part of your boyfriend.

    Of course you are welcome to respond but you should be aware that any messages either private or not can/will be published on this site. I censor nothing.

    1. Stacey says:

      You really don’t set a good example for your children then.
      All I was REALLY asking is that you leave Sam alone. What has he done to you, I mean seriously?
      Do you not have anything better to do than talk about others and what they’ve said that you think has hurt your tiny wee heart?
      You say you’ve got a wife and three kids, why not spend less time on your computer and spend more time with them. Just a suggestion.

  6. openbytes says:

    Quote “You really don’t set a good example for your children then.”

    How dare you make such a remark. You dont know my background at all.

    Quote “All I was REALLY asking is that you leave Sam alone. What has he done to you, I mean seriously?”

    The same thing you believe I have done to your boyfriend, that being posting something unjust.
    Simple really.

    Quote “You say you’ve got a wife and three kids, why not spend less time on your computer and spend more time with them. Just a suggestion.”

    Again, I hold that in contempt and wont even dignify it with a full response. Is that the best you can do?

    Ill end on a lighter note:

    Quote “Do you not have anything better to do than talk about others and what they’ve said that you think has hurt your tiny wee heart?”

    No, firstly because rapidly approaching 39 I will be retiring from work since Ive been mildly successful and have a considerable portfolio of property and secondly theres no tiny wee heart here, and Id suggest that should you really feel that way, why do you feel the need to do the same for your boyfriend?

    1. Stacey says:

      Well if you’re almost 39, shouldn’t you be acting like more of an adult and not talking and posting things like this about people?
      Seems you lack a bit of maturity, as do I, I do admit that. But I have more of a right, considering I’m half your age.

      1. openbytes says:

        Please dont be ageist. Ive found maturity (and immaturity) in all ages.

        Do I need to remind you, that during the course of your tirade you have:

        1. Sought to imply my suitability as a parent.

        2. Brought into question self esteem issues.

        3. Implied that I am some sort of social recluse (as in I have no friends)

        4. Used vulgar language on my blog, which is one of the only things I take exception to.

        I could go on. Now consider what I have said to you. Re-read what Ive put. Have I sought to insult you? Have I made any implications about you? I think you will find I havent. I merely challenged youre badly thought out posts which IMO whilst have the best of intentions, are dragging out a point about a silly remark by your boyfriend that has been mentioned enough.

        I dont normally do this, but since you’ve thrown so many implications my way, Ill let you into a few facts.

        Its 0215 hours here in the UK and the reason why I post into the night and have time to spare is that Im currently on the “night shift” since our youngest is teething and I want to be able to care for him if he wakes and give my wife a full nights sleep. We do this on a roster. Ill be going to bed shortly now he seems settled.

        Next time you consider making an implication try thinking about asking first.

        and since my nephew is 15 and a very intelligent lad, Id challenge your excuse of “im half your age” as being a justification of immaturity.

  7. openbytes says:

    It appears the hits are coming in thick and fast from the Neowin site (a forum link I believe)

    Hello Neowin readers!

    Im quite sure many of you are itching to be vocal. Please feel free to comment and bring your girlfriends, boyfriends, mothers, hamsters whatever. They are all welcome here.

    Regards all
    Goblin

  8. openbytes says:

    and finally

    Quote ”

    You know, you act as if the whole world is against you.
    Let me ask you this, what exactly has Sam said to you that you feel you had to write up a whole post on it? From what I can see, it was nothing. And if I had a little thing like that said to me, I would brush it off my shoulder.

    Also, learn to spell my name. It’s really not that hard. You just have to look to the right, and wham! There it is.

    Firstly forgive my missing the “e” on occasion, as I say above its quite late here.

    Quote “Let me ask you this, what exactly has Sam said to you that you feel you had to write up a whole post on it? ”

    I would have thought you would have read a little history before commenting, but if you think a sarcastic remark which I took as a bait on twitter is something that should be brushed away, why on earth are you posting? I wont respond on Twitter (as I said last week) I will not be baited there. Thats why I make the article and let others see for themselves.

    Ill end on the first point you made, with my trademark challenge. You said

    “You know, you act as if the whole world is against you.”

    Quote me then. Where have I acted like this? Quote me or retract that remark.

    Before you do, please take a look at the Microsoft employee who I had a decent debate with. Actually read this site if you are going to make remarks like that or retract them.

  9. openbytes says:

    Right thats me for the night.

    Im sorry to the people who emailed that I havent responded, I will do just not tonight as I didnt expect to get embroiled in this discussion for so long.

    In answer to the emails about the IRC logs – No they wont be published – there will be an article why, but I wont say yet.

    In answer to the Openbytes podcast – yes its still going ahead, ive had ALOT of offers of help (infact too many) ETA June.

    Like I say Ill respond tomorrow when I get a moment.

  10. guy lafleur says:

    I was on IRC and people were talking about the writer whose girlfriend had to defend his honour on the internet. Priceless.
    There were people from over a dozen countries on the IRC channel we were on so I presume that girlfriend will be immortalized and writer dude will feel like the 6th grader whose mommy holds his hand going to school.

    The good part in all this is Ive discovered OpenBytes and from what Ive seen in the 2-3 posts Ive read, its entertaining enough to come by again.

  11. openbytes says:

    Thanks for the kind message.

    Ive been a little distracted with the sad news of Joe Wilcox leaving Eweek, but I am to believe Stacey will be returning shortly (as per her last Twitter message)

    In relation to the whole girlfriend fiasco, there is a great article over on Boycott Novell with some very interesting comments by a poster called “whatever”

    Regards
    Goblin.

Leave a Reply

