An intelligent and reasoned challenge to OpenBytes!

I honestly never thought Id have a post like this, and it seems like this week has been one of firsts.  Firstly I championed Windows7themes.net and gave them the thumbs up for being of open mind (amongst other Windows sites) and now I find myself championing a user who has challenged OpenBytes not only with a reasoned and intelligent counter, but more importantly did so without being vulgar.  The user in question is Aaron.  If he had a site I would champion it and refer you to it.  Since the only details I have are that of a single name, thats the best I can do.  Aaron is different to the many who have challenged this site, he actually had a point and whilst I stand firmly by my opinions on the debate, I can actually see where he is coming from aswell.  Where do you stand?  Please read the thread and make your own mind up.

So what did Aaron challenge?  He challenged the implication of the title “Windows dedicated site to try Linux” and the implication he drew from the first few lines of the article.    The whole thread of comments is excellent (if you ignore the childishness by Joel) and I would ask that you read the entire exchange.

https://openbytes.wordpress.com/2009/04/14/windows-dedicated-site-to-try-linux/

So now you’ve done that, the only questions that remain unanswered are those from Chaks and the allegations Marshalus has made towards me (along with the Tin Hat comment) he knows where I am, he’s welcome to comment or email anytime.  In regards to the other Neowin reporter, I was appalled that someone who identifies themselves on Twitter as a Neowin reporter would use vulgarity for any reason, and since I cant believe that Neowin would want to be associated with that type of behaviour I will be bringing this up with Neowin site.

As I said before, its safe to say that we wont get a response from Chaks, so his justification will remain unanswered.

The interesting (and maybe encouraging thing) about all of this is that regardless of if their using of Linux is officially sanctioned by Neowin or simply a hobby, theres two Neowin reporters (one an editor) twittering about Linux.  My challenge in regards to openSUSE still stands, not only because it was an incorrect implication, but I want to know why out of all the distros a mainly Windows/Microsoft reporter would choose, he would select OpenSUSE.  I also would like to know which reporters get the freebies or review copies/models and what procedure is in place to ensure that they are infact returned or given away.  Is it unreasonable?  Again, Ill let you be the judge.

Neowin has increased my daily hits, since WordPress logs links in.  For that I thank them.  Accountable reporting and presenting of information is what Im after.  Its what we all should be after, and something which I think is reasonable if we are to expect people to hold any worth in what we say.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Ok while I am not going to identify myself in any way, I’ll just call you out on many points here.

    First of all, you are a ignorant ass-hat who obviously is banned from Neowin. You call us out on our opinion, while simply twisting words that we have stated. I saw first had today that you tried to call out Neowin Journalist Sean Bradford on his comments. It’s their, and ANYONE can view it.

    Secondly you are calling the ENTIRE community of Neowin out from an opinion that one if its staff members have. Which has NOTHING to do with the site itself. You obviously do not know or are blind as to what the Neowin community stands for. Neowin is a technical community with a focus on Microsoft products. HOWEVER, if you even bother visiting the forums you will see we support many companies, technologies, and even encourage discussion on politics.

    Neowin is one of the biggest tech websites out there, bringing the latest information from many companiess. You say Neowin has an agenda, and I would like to see your proof. They do not, have not, and will never. They report on everything from Microsoft to Apple, from Windows to Linux. From Dell to Gateway. Their reporters spend hours a day reporting news, and that’s why over the last 8 years they have grown to the size they are today.

    You have absolutely NO business demanding any comment or reasoning as to why Neowin gives away gifts to our loyal readers and forum users. I will not explain why they do it, and I will not go into any detail as to who gets it. I wil say this though, you can call them out on anything you would like. The community is well aware of the way we give away products that companies send us. It is NONE of your concern and I dare you to go demanding the same question from other websites like Engadget, Phonedog, or Microsoft. Its called marketing and eight years of trust dumbass.

    You’re just some ignorant fool who is jealous of Neowin’s success and trying to draw attention what you call a “blog”. The only reason why you can claim that Neowin is sending you hits is because the staff are aware of your idiotic posts on this blog.

    You are not credible, you are by far an adult. You act like a child and have no idea how the Internet works. Yes, my entire post is attacking you and I am within every right. All you’ve done is stir the staff at Neowin, and called the entire website out because you didn’t like a opinion of one of the reporters.

  2. Marshalus says:

    “The user in question is Aaron. If he had a site I would champion it and refer you to it.”

    http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showuser=22586

    Feel free to champion it and refer people to it.

  3. Oh and JUST so you know, Neowin even has a Linux distro coded and developed by previous Neowin staff. It’s called Shift.

    Do some research, learn how the Internet works, and maybe just maybe you will have readers interested in your blog posts. Calling out well known websites based on falsified statements will only prove to your readers that you are ignorant and have no credibility.

  4. openbytes says:

    Is this a joke?
    “ok while I am not going to identify myself in any way”
    and then go on to say “First of all, you are a ignorant ass-hat who obviously is banned from Neowin. You call us out on our opinion, while simply twisting words that we have stated.”

    So youre a member of staff at Neowin then? Talk about exposing yourself. LOL

    Asshat? never heard that one. Thank you.

    Quote “Secondly you are calling the ENTIRE community of Neowin out from an opinion that one if its staff members have.”

    Eh? Where did I do that? Im sure I said Neowin readers were welcome and thats the only reference I made. For the record I called out chaks and asked Marshalus some questions, or do you have a different version of events?

    Quote “You have absolutely NO business demanding any comment or reasoning as to why Neowin gives away gifts to our loyal readers and forum users.”

    And you have no obligation to answer. Whats the problem? If Marshalus didnt think it worthy to make reference about the destination of review units, why did he even bother to say some were given away in competitions?

    Quote “You’re just some ignorant fool who is jealous of Neowin’s success and trying to draw attention what you call a “blog”. The only reason why you can claim that Neowin is sending you hits is because the staff are aware of your idiotic posts on this blog.”

    But Im not jealous of Microsoft Watch where it gets many more hits than you? ok. What about Boycott Novell? I think you will find they get considerably more hits than you.

    Neowin must have more staff than I thought, according to wordpress there has been over 200 unique IP’s coming from the Neowin forum.

    Quote “ou are not credible, you are by far an adult. You act like a child”
    LOL So whats Marshalus and his tin hat comment then?

    Quote “ll you’ve done is stir the staff at Neowin, and called the entire website out because you didn’t like a opinion of one of the reporters.”

    And that is of consequence because….?

    Quote “and JUST so you know, Neowin even has a Linux distro coded and developed by previous Neowin staff. It’s called Shift.”

    and whats that got to do with anything I asked of Marshalus and/or chaks?

    Quote “Do some research, learn how the Internet works, and maybe just maybe you will have readers interested in your blog posts.”

    LOL, yeah ok. Where should I start? the same place Chaks did? Maybe Ill find the “magic beans” inside the OpenSUSE distro.

    Quote “Calling out well known websites based on falsified statements”
    Liar. Show me.

    Quote “only prove to your readers that you are ignorant and have no credibility”

    I dont post here for some popularity contest (although this whole incident has proved popular with many) so what credibility I have is an issue because…….? I stand by what I say, ive yet to see Marshalus justify himself and chaks and his opensuse comment certainly havent either.

    Welcome to my site btw.

  5. openbytes says:

    @Aaron.
    Consider it done. Appologies, AKISMET apparently didnt like the link and held it for moderation. Ive only just noticed.

  6. Joel says:

    Aaron wouldn’t have had to waste his time if you had the slightest command of the English language. If I had been in his shoes, I’d have written you off after the second response, because you clearly have comprehension issues. Your posts are rambling, and apparently your apostrophe is missing from your keyboard. No one would have to ‘challenge’ you if you didn’t make humongous posts detailing absolute nonsense as if the fate of the world or even the fate of my french fry depended on your discourse. THAT is what I meant when I said you were full of yourself. This most recent entry illustrates my point nicely. Almost as well as when you said someone was ‘hiding’ behind a proxy to post on your site, as if they need your permission to do so.

  7. openbytes says:

    Quote Joel “Aaron wouldn’t have had to waste his time if you had the slightest command of the English language.”

    Yes, we saw your command of it and you resorting to a childish little tirade. I dont think its fair you say Aaron was wasting his time, it was an interesting and valid post, unlike your sillyness.

    Your posts are rambling, and apparently your apostrophe is missing from your keyboard.

    It is, for most of my posts Im using a MDA Mail which Ive documented here before. Suffering with an inability to remove predictive text, and the incorrect working of the FN button, Ive have nothing but issues.

    Quote “No one would have to ‘challenge’ you”
    Only Aaron has, and only in respect to one headline and one post.

    Quote “make humongous posts detailing absolute nonsense as if the fate of the world or even the fate of my french fry depended on your discourse.”

    So why on earth do you come here and apparently state the obvious?

    Quote “This most recent entry illustrates my point nicely.”

    No Joel, Aaron had the point, you had a series of sillyness and a claim about one headline and post.

    If you dont like it, dont visit.

    Quote “was ‘hiding’ behind a proxy to post on your site, as if they need your permission to do so.”

    No Joel, in the midst of your fudging and repeated baseless remarks, if you had read what I said, it was more to do with the implication of conviction. “Hidemyass” was aptly named since to me if someone needed to hide behind a proxy then theres no real conviction there.

    Joel, you are always welcome to post, but at least get your story right before you do:

    “If I had been in his shoes, I’d have written you off after the second response”

    Why on earth does someone of your awesome intellect return then? Thanks for keeping the interest up though.

    Nice talking to you.

    Got any more of my work you want to challenge? I think I could learn much from you.

    Fill your boots, I look forward to your next post.

    You are always welcome here Joel.

  8. openbytes says:

    For everyone else:

    Whilst Joel seems fixated with grammar and the realization that many reading this site may have only started visiting as a result of neowin, I think its only fair that I mention Ive documented on many sites about the pdamail and WM.

    I have never claimed to be a shining example of English language nor do I seek to present this site as such.

    If anyone is interested in the only point Joel is trying to make, have a look at the volume of posts/text I write during the day and then appreciate I am in a full time job, with usually the use of around 5 machines at anyone time.

    The quality of English presented depends much on the location where I am typing it and on what.

    I am the first to admit (did so in the last few days) that spelling/grammar even on my best days is not without issue, but then it appears people dont have an issue with reading what I am trying to say.

    I think you will agree by looking at the places I post I dont believe in one liners. I believe that if someone takes the time to respond to me (for whatever reason) they deserve a “decent” post and not a couple of lines. That being said, I find it rather difficult to balance time with the numerous posting and ensuring my text meets the high standards that Joel expects. Take yesterday, I was having a conversation with three people at the same time on twitter, talking in IRC and creating an article for my site (whilst at work) I hope the rest of you will excuse the poor grammar and spelling, but I suggest if you find it so offensive you simply ignore my posts.

    Joel was the first one to make comment about English yet seems blissfully unaware (or unwilling to comment on) the poor use of it (IMO) from the Neowin reporters and posters here claiming to be anon.

    Thats fine, its Joels right and just like I am happy to publish Aarons link without even looking where it leads (as per my promise to him) I think I have showed that unlike Chaks of Neowin (who started this entire challenge) I am quite happy to publish and respond to any challenge made to me.

    I am now wondering how many words I actually type in a day. I think ill start recording that, it will be quite interesting for me.

Leave a Reply

