A compliment or an insult, you decide.

Over on my Twitter account Ive picked up a new follower.  MicrosoftLegal

Now IMO, either someone has:

a/ Created that account out of devilment.

b/ Created that account to frighten me.

c/ Both of the above.

Now Im not sure if I should be complimented or insulted.  Do they think my posts are so important that I need to be silenced? LOL I dont think so.  I can only then presume it an insult.  Come on, if Microsoft wanted to build up a legal case on me, they wouldnt create a user name like that to collect evidence, infact that wouldnt need to create a username at all.  You can see all the posts of someone on Twitter without registering, and if Microsoft were infact collecting evidence, the last thing that they would do is announce the fact.  How silly.  How insulting that they thought I would fall for it.  The least they could have done was create an avatar aswell, to atleast try and look convincing.  Anyway, enjoy the two screen grabs, one being of the direct messages Ive sent to “MicrosoftLegal” and another of the account itself.  Enjoy.

In anycase, even if Microsoft were to follow (which I dont believe Im important enough to do) I am very careful about my posts.  If you notice I litter them with IMO and make it very clear that the posts are allegations (usually made by others).  I would never suggest that my opinions are fact and encourage further research by the reader to draw their own conclusions.

And anyway, its all accademic since I use a proxy to connect to the net and the Goblin username was soley created to post on Microsoft Watch and challenge FUD.  Its unexpected that Ive branched out onto Twitter and other pro-MS sites.

screenshot-1
Microsoftlegal - Following one person...ME! Oh Im scared. I must be very dangerous to Microsoft....LOL. The fact that the creator believes I will fall for this rubbish is insulting.

and here is my direct replies to them (please see below for transcript)
and here are my direct replies to them (please see below for transcript)

Reply 1/3 “Yes. Very good. Notice I use the word “allegation” and refer to 3rd party reports and articles? Even if I was to believe for one minute….”

Reply 2/3 “that Redmond would have its legal department on me with a handle telling me so, you’ll find that Im very careful in what I type. I find it..”

Reply 3/3 “very insulting that you would think I would fall for such sillyness. I will be making an article on my blog about this, screengrabs taken.”

As interesting end to the day! If not somewhat pathetic.  Please feel free to join me on my Twiiter.  Maybe I can pick up a few more silly names in the coming days.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

6 Comments Add yours

  1. xISO_ZWT says:

    Anything you’ve posted, beside the ‘IMO’, can be backed through the microsoft watch commenters and ‘comes vs. microsoft’ court documents. Maybe it’s a shill trying to ‘rattle your cage’. MS has bigger problems than openbytes; i.e. TomTom, vista 7, market share of GNU/Linux netbooks, failed zune, windows mobile, xbox, kumo, security (UAC), MS street (assault on Helios) thugs, etc.

  2. eksith says:

    Or it could just be a prankster…

    Somehow a Twitter follower doesn’t strike me as MS’ style. They sit and watch for something to pounce on or come in with guns blazing. There’s little middle ground.

  3. openbytes says:

    LOL.

    I hope I made it clear in my article that in no way did I think that I am even remotely of importance to anyone.

    I do have to thank the people who decided to link to this site on MS watch. If they hadnt done that this site wouldnt have got the hits it has.

  4. openbytes says:

    Just in: It appears someones interested in this article.

    Been linking to me within your emails have you?

    Thanks, but if I can re-iterate, this article is hardly newsworthy, let alone worth linking and I certainly dont think the creator of that Twitter account has anything to do with Microsoft.

    I am far more interested in Optionetics who has not posted again since yesterday and the approximately the same time I challenged them.

    Looking at their history we should have had some more of their “stock tips”.

    On a related note a company called Optionetics which offers investment training has had a report written about them on the site Ripoff Report (mentioned on the Optionetics article) I wonder if they are the same company or merely a coincidence?

  5. Will says:

    I’m going to have to echo the others here. Relative to the other things MS has on its hands right now, you aren’t that big a fish (or else MS has some serious insecurity issues–of the psychological, not software, kind–that I wasn’t aware of.

    It’s not like they really have anything they could use against you anyway. Not unless the whole world goes “1984” on us.

    Odds are it was just some random person, or maybe even some random laptop recipient, pulling a prank on you. I’d be more surprised about something coming of it than I would be about Linus Torvalds replacing Ballmer as MS’s next CEO.

  6. openbytes says:

    I hope everyone realizes (as per my article) I was not in the slightest bit scared! I never took it seriously!

    I just liked the idea that someone was silly enough to think id fall for it.

Leave a Reply

