Whats FOSS? - If there was an award for silly questions, Al over on Windows7Center.com would win the prize.   Lets hope they were joking.  Even Ballmer knows what FOSS is.  Can I just say for clarification purposes this photo is NOT a picture of Steve Ballmer.
Whats FOSS? - If there was an award for silly questions, Al over on Windows7Center.com would win the prize. Lets hope they were joking. Even Ballmer knows what FOSS is. Can I just say for clarification purposes this photo is NOT a picture of Steve Ballmer.

I know its been a while since we’ve done it (Lord of the Shills), but having had people submit comments to me, most of which being nominations of quotes by Andre Da Costa, there seemed little point in doing it.  I highlight crackers by others when I come across them, but since Andre has given us such “rich” material over the months, I found most of our wouldbe shillers not meeting the high standards of cheesyness that Andre sets.

So without further ado heres Andres latest, please keep in mind that normally I wouldnt bother printing his PR cutNpastes but since hes given himself a break from Microsoft Watch recently, I thought it only fair that we help him spread his message by printing it here.  So here goes, by the way, if you are allergic to cheese, I would stop reading now.

The Star Wars metaphors and analogies was just embarrassingly over the top. Windows 7 runs really great on current Netbooks and will run great on future ones. OEM’s have already committed to ensure that Windows 7 will be on Netbooks at launch. Even today you can find many Netbooks running Windows Vista. I just don’t understand your interpretation of Windows Vista imploding though Joe, its on over 200 million systems world wide. Millions of users are enjoying the benefits, the rich capabilities. Vista’s Instant Search, complete organization tools, security, and integration with Windows Live delivers benefits beyond the box. I think whats happening here is just a clear lack of understanding and a love of the popular but unpopular among the majority of Windows users propaganda. People are getting deep value and reduced cost of ownership with Vista.”

So lets break this down.  We will start with The Star Wars metaphors and analogies was just embarrassingly over the top” now readers that have never seen an Andre post before should know that the above one is quite tame by his standards, being embarrassingly over the top was something (IMO) Andre achieved when a Microsoft employee (Jess Meats) posted on Microsoft Watch and then added at the end that she didnt want her post coming across like Andres.  Everyone loves a good Andre post, and if PR buzzwords are your thing, Andres your man.

“Windows 7 runs really great on current Netbooks” – Yep, weve heard about that.  Check out a previous article.  Its alleged Win 7 on a Netbook will only run 3 apps.  Tell me, does that 3 include Windows 7?

you can find many Netbooks running Windows Vista” – Completely agree, in my experience the shops are full of them, and users want XP on their Netbooks if they are going for a Windows platform.  Please, anyone, correct me if im wrong.

“Millions of users are enjoying the benefits, the rich capabilities.” – Yep, we’ve seen that.  Tell me then, why is it since Vista has been on the scene more users are switching to alternatives?  Why has Vista recieved such bad press? and more importantly, what on earth is a rich capability?

“Security” – I dont need to make a comment here, except to say I think various British, French and German Armed Forces may disagree with you since its alleged they all have been victims of Windows exploits.

People are getting deep value and reduced cost of ownership with Vista” – What on earth is deep value, where do you find that with Vista, is it on the start menu?  Is there anyone reading this who can relate to this rubbish?

I’ll leave it there.  This post was meant really to show you what you can expect in the coming months.  Since its now rumored that Windows 7 RC will be here on April 10th (which by the way, I was saying since the beginning of this year, you can check out the rumor on the below link, although I may have to draw inference from the fact that a poster who responded to my comment there (who I believe wrote the article) doesnt appear to know what FOSS means.  That gives me little confidence in the factual accuracy of their remarks.

The link is here, enjoy!

So thats a wrap for this post, Im hoping I can engage this Windows7Center site in a little Q&A and who knows, maybe we will get some better answers than “deep value” “feature rich” “you cant get quicker than a quick fit fitter” (ok the last one was a joke)

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com