Honest held belief – Sometimes I find myself pleasantly surprised.

Anyone who has followed my Net activities will see that I am not exactly backward in coming forward with my beliefs.  I strongly tackle FUD and do, if Im honest take great delight in exposing those who have more dubious intentions over their praise of proprietary products.

Every so often, I come across knowledgable people, who have an honest held belief in Microsoft products and when I do, I try to engage in debate as I feel these are the best debate for helping users to decide which system is best for them.

As readers of my exploits will have seen, often a pro-Microsoft argument leads to insults being thrown at me and the open source scene in general, it sometimes results in impersonation (over on Microsoft Watch) but seems always to result in my email being hammered by abusive mails.

This is not the case this time on windows7center.com I must admit that when the question “What is FOSS?” was asked, I did think “here we go again” however that has been cleared up and there was no ignorance there, merely a case that in the writers experience he never refered to open source as that.

It was with great pleasure then that I found a request to write a guest article on the Windows7center site, which of course I accepted and I hope you will read.  What I can say in addition to the few readers I have, would be that if you are still undecided about going to an alternative to Windows, read Windows7Center.com.  I believe that Al is someone who (like me) has honest held belief in the system they use.  What better way to make a decision about your OS than to base it on two different honest held belief viewpoints?

Update: I would like to add Windows Observer to this article, since it appears here the owner welcomes alternative view, just as Joe Wilcox does over on Microsoft Watch.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

3 Comments Add yours

  1. eksith says:

    “honest held belief in Microsoft products”

    I was explicitly told to get MS Office or nothing I submit will be opened (or even be accepted as it would be incompatible and/or cause their computers to crash).

    I just sent my resume done in Writer part of OpenOffice…

    No one noticed.

  2. openbytes says:

    Its a shame that in some cases honest held belief is misguided. I dont know if you saw the user Ridley on Microsoft Watch. If for a moment we say he was real and not a sock puppet for “he who cannot be named” he was claiming that “he who cannot be named had said you needed to compile code just to get a music CD to play in Linux! Its often that sort of information that keeps people with Microsoft products.

    I believe there are many people happy with Windows, but since they havent experienced anything else they will (IMO) tend to put up with alot of the Windows issues believing that its their fault and theyve done something wrong.

    This is probably one of the reasons I keep posting, to give people the alternative view for them to try for themselves.

    In the case of Al from Windows7center, he freely admits to having little experience with anything else other than Windows, and its easy to understand why he has an honest held belief.

    From what ive seen and IMO Al is in the minority.
    Most honest held beliefs that I read are paid for by proprietary firms to push their products.

  3. eksith says:

    Even though I could, I haven’t “compiled” anything on my Ubuntu box in quite a while. And I watch DVD’s on it from time to time.

    They need to be shown that getting a media player on Linux is like selecting WMP from Microsoft Update.

    There needs to be some sort of “Discover Linux” type site for the “Al” types with nice media, examples and tutorials to get the fear out. Something non-threatening. This fear thing is not healthy.

    Also, as is the case with any community, there are individuals within the OS community who are less than welcoming of newcomers. Some friendly place away from all that to get their feet wet is probably the way to go.

Leave a Reply

