CASTER – Coming soon on a Linux platform near you!

Great visuals that fly, even through Wine! - Here to looking forward to the native Linux version!
Great visuals that fly, even through Wine! - Here to looking forward to the native Linux version!

Without going completely off topic from the start, I have to say I was reluctant to sign up to Twitter, I thought it another trendy gimmick that was the sole remit of those trendy, texting obsessed mobile phone users who have about as much tech experience as a goldfish.  I was wrong, when I signed up, I expected to see a plethora of comments such as “Hiya babe, you seen Sarahs new hair style?” what I found is whilst those users do exist, there are also thousands of professionals who are experts in their fields posting opinion and interesting links.  I also found Twitter great for little snippets of news hot of the press, and its with great pleasure I can bring you this article because of it.

Caster is an indi game developed by Elecorn, and older players may instantly be put in mind of Space Harrier when they fire it up.  Thats not to say this game is an on the rails shooter like the former, its a free roaming 3d blaster with clean, colourful visuals a thumping retro demoscene type sound track, and a whole lot of fun!

In the Elecorns words:

Dash across Scenic Locations destroying bug like creatures called the Flanx using 6 Unique Attacks that include Massive Terrain Deformation and High Speed Barrages of Energy Blasts!

Caster is an episodic game that presents an intense 3rd person action shooter experience with pulse pounding music that will keep you wanting more! And more you will have with all new episodes for FREE. That’s right, buy the game once and get all additional episodes absolutely free!”

So why is this appearing on OpenBytes? Because, over on the Phoronix forums , its been revealed that its being ported to Linux.  (Its currently available in a Windows and Mac flavour)

3192136327_5cc756c70dFor the purposes of this review/article I am running Caster through Wine which I can report works flawlessly and at a blistering speed, so it adds kudos to the developers thats they would take time to make a native Linux version instead of simply directing people in the direction of Wine.

So whats my opinion of the game?  Great!  There are numerous attacks, super jumps and sprinting that need to be employed as you power your way around the levels.  Playing the free demo, my only issue now is do I wait for the native Linux version, or do I just purchase the Windows one which plays problem free through Wine?

Although Openbytes supports FOSS, I believe this title is relevant here purely because it shows the type of creativity and talent in the world.  It represents everything that is good about the independant small computing firm and shows that for the end user these software houses add to the worth of having many developers for the PC platform.  Get the demo and then buy the game! Support this product!

Visit the official website here: http://www.elecorn.com/caster3d/

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Will says:

    Quote: “Playing the free demo, my only issue now is do I wait for the native Linux version, or do I just purchase the Windows one which plays problem free through Wine?”

    My opinion? Try to wait. If the game developers think that they can get away with wine emulation alone and all is well, then that’s all they’ll do. But, if they release the Linux version and sales spike remarkably, as was the case with World of Goo, then game companies might sit up and take notice.

    Having a robust games scene in Linux (native, not “runs with wine”) isn’t exactly the solution to Ubuntu’s “Bug #1”, but it couldn’t hurt in terms of Linux publicity and acceptance in the general population. But getting that games scene to happen is a chicken and egg scenario, and any game studios that decide to make that first step of faith should be rewarded.

  2. openbytes says:

    Very true, and I am waiting for the Linux version, I can live with the Windows Demo until then.

    Having said that if the support of Linux through Wine could be encouraged then maybe larger software houses would be encouraged to ensure Wine compliance when they release mainstream titles?

    I think we are a long way off seeing GTA4 having a native Linux version, especially since the PC gaming scene is being eaten away by consoles. With the issues of lower sales & piracy, it makes me wonder if large software houses would invest even more money in their releases just to have a Linux ver.

    Having Wine compliance would be a lot less painless IMO, and since Wine is a replacement Windows API and not an emulator, youre not having any dirty code on your system.

    Just an idea, but I think we are more likely to see a future of Wine compliance than one of native Linux releases (in the main)

  3. Will says:

    “Just an idea, but I think we are more likely to see a future of Wine compliance than one of native Linux releases (in the main)”

    I agree, and for the big studios, I’ll be surprised if I see even that much.

    But you’re right that the rise of the consoles and the decline of PC gaming has been making it all moot for a few years now.

    Funny how MS’s own actions in getting in the console game have helped to undermine one of their strongest Windows lock-in factors.

  4. openbytes says:

    @Will

    Exactly what I was saying over on MS watch a while ago!

    I think the one hook that Windows had was the games issue, now with Wine and the fact that games are more likely in the living room on the TV, there is less reason to go with Windows.

    Having said that, it comes as a relief that World of Warcraft is Wine friendly (and a smoother performer) in Linux. I have to admit to having an addiction to that particular game!

Leave a Reply

