suse-logo-greenA Linux distro release should be a time of celebration, a time where current users of that particular distro get excited to upgrade, and that excitement spills onto other users who will (in theory) hopefully try it out.

OpenSUSE 11.1 is due for release on the 18th of December and since its in the top two distros on DistroWatch, its only fitting that I mention the features that Novell states will be shipping with 11.1.

Open Office 3.0, Firefox 3.0.3, KDE 4.1.3, Gnome 2.24.1.

I must admit, Im not excited, infact im not interested.Ā  Im sure that OpenSUSE 11.1 will make many users very happy, Im sure there will be alot of fun at the distro parties and Im sure that alot of new Linux users will get a copy.Ā  Why am I not excited? Well….

Ever since Novell signed the famous deal with Microsoft, I cannot support nor get any interest for Novell’s distro.Ā  Ive said on many forums before that I spent a long time removing the barriers that Microsoft puts in place to stop you using Open Source, Im not about to let Microsoft back in albeit through the “back door”

I of course wish Novell luck with their release day, however for me personally OpenSUSE will always be “tainted” and nowhere near my machine.

Visit the OpenSUSE site by clicking here!

or visit the excellent site:

Boycott Novell and get an indepth look at the issues surrounding Novell, Microsoft and much more!