NEWS: BBC heads towards Opensource & Windows security!

Writing a blog about Linux, and in particular posts about Microsoft issues is probably about the easiest thing to do.  There are so many stories around the net.  Be it disgruntled customers complaining about a product, one of MS’s “great new innovations” or an MS-Shill who doesnt really have a clue and just copy/pastes from a PR sheet.

I hope all readers are checking out Microsoft-Watch! the site that is now probably more pro-opensource than Linux.com!

Right, onto the first piece of news that will probably have Steve Ballmer breaking out in a sweat.  The BBC has commisioned work in a DRM free on demand project for Linux users, and they’ve chosen to work with the Ubuntu team!  You can read the official word over on the BBC Blog! So click here!

Next up, if anyone ever hears an MS Agent refer to WIndows security, be so kind as to refer them HERE and ask them to comment!  It appears that approximately 500,000 users have had their credit/debit card numbers stolen by a nasty virus that has been described as being “one of the most advanced pieces of crimeware ever created”. You can read about that article here Its been reported by the BBC.  Is that the reason why they are looking at open source? Or is it just a coincidence?

As always, Id love to hear your comments.  MS-Shillers welcome.

Regards.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. xISO_ZWT says:

    First time @Blogazine was the WINDOWS7 & the following comments. I like this site & will pass it on. Thanks for making it happen.

  2. openbytes says:

    Thanks for your kind comments, but anyone can do this, and I hope they do.
    My blog doesnt even compare in popularity to most on the net, however if I can get just 1 user to switch to open source and see the benefits, I feel my effort has been worthwhile (and if we all do that then we can spread the open source word quicker)

    I hope (if you havent already) check out the great links, WFTL bytes is VERY recommended as is Gutsy Geeks.

    To everyone else:

    Open source is not just about Linux. Check out Open Office for an alternative to MS Office as a starting point and see what the open source world has to offer!!!

    Oh and btw I am very happy with my Intrepid Ibex upgrade!

    Take care all.
    Regards
    Goblin.

  3. Alex says:

    Since i know you probably hate me by now. I just have a questions about upgrading. (1, yes i do use Linux other then Windows, i use Ubuntu. )

    Well is there going to be any problems when upgrading?

    Also if i upgrade, will it remove all the ubuntu options and replace them all with the latest or will they keep building up?

    (Example of the menu when i dual-boot)

    Ubuntu 8.04.1 Kernel 2.6.24-21-generic
    Ubuntu 8.04.1 Kernel 2.6.24-21-generic (Recovery Mode)
    Ubuntu 8.04.1 Kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
    Ubuntu 8.04.1 Kernel 2.6.24-19-generic (Recovery Mode)
    Ubuntu 8.04.1 Kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
    Ubuntu 8.04.1 Kernel 2.6.24-16-generic (Recovery Mode)
    Windows Vista (Loader)

  4. Alex says:

    Oh yeah, sorry if that was the wrong place to ask that.

  5. openbytes says:

    Alex,

    I responded to your other post, and am pleased youve returned, not only explaining that you do use open source, but being honest enough to admit it after a hostile response from the site.
    I must admit to presuming you to be a typical ms-agent. I.e MS blog, Pro MS posting, however in your case I am wrong and believe you to have an open mind.

    I dont hate you, and even if you were a MS-agent I still wouldnt. We are discussing software, and all the arguments around the net (IMO) are in “goodish” spirit, and IMO very entertaining for the reader. There is more important things in life to me than software, and even if MS took over the world tomorrow, it would not have any impact on my life! (other than having to use proprietary)

    Now onto your answers.

    If you follow the upgrade options on the Ubuntu page (from 8.04-8.10) you will see that its nothing more than editing a few options in your update manager and downloading.

    The whole install is automatic, it will upgrade the repositories, and any packages it finds already installed.

    Yes, it does change your GRUB automatically (your bootloader).

    The whole process takes around 20 mins (after the upgrade download which is about 698meg)

    and if youre wondering, yes, it does retain any desktop settings/backdrops you have.

    Thanks for the post.

    Kind Regards
    Goblin.

  6. Alex says:

    Thanke man, i was holding off the upgrade since the version came out a few days ago. I will go ahead and upgrade it in a moment.

  7. Alex says:

    The Upgrade went flawless. Thanks allot!
    The update is nice. I like the new dark theme they included.

  8. openbytes says:

    Havent looked at that yet!

    Im pleased that you’ve found it easy. Since I tried out 8.04 Ive been very happy with Ubuntu. (having used Fedora, Mint in the past)

  9. Alex says:

    Same thing with me, i have been using Ubuntu since 8.04. It been the easiest Linux i have’d used to date. I am very happy with the 8.10 update.

    Do you know any program that has like Gadgets(or Widgets) that you can put into the desktop?

  10. openbytes says:

    Hi!

    I prefer the minimalist desktop, however check out:

    http://www.kryogenix.org/code/jackfield/

    Thats providing that you are using Gnome not KDE. I cant speak for the functionality as I havent used them.

    You also have Screenlets in your repository (find it in your add/remove programs)
    This is a manager for widgets that can be found at:

    http://screenlets.org/index.php/Home

    Let me know how you get on with both of these!

    Kind regards
    Goblin[RFD]

  11. Alex says:

    I am currently truing out Screenlets. But i do have a question. How do you install minimalist?

  12. openbytes says:

    Ah, no you misunderstood.

    When I said I use the “minimalist” desktop, I just mean that I dont like widgets, screenlets etc I just like the basics.

    I currently run Gnome, but all I have on my desktop is a Terminal icon and an IRC one.

    Regards.

Leave a Reply

