//
you're reading...
TechBytes Audiocast

TechBytes Audiocast – Episode 13 – 28/11/10

Intro music: “I fought the troll” by Tom Smith.  You can find more of his work here.

Hosts: Tim (OpenBytes) Roy (Techrights) Gordon (Thistleweb)

Featured Track: “Beating Heart” – Severed Fifth

Due to biting the inside of my lip through my own stupidity and a heavy work load, those that have been waiting patiently for episode 13 can finally be appeased!  I jest, but as I’m sure you missed my dulcet tones over the last five days, I’ll get straight onto giving the show notes:

Episode 13 –  I cover a few reasons why some consider the number 13 to be unlucky as the opener to the show.

We cover a few copyright issues, most predominantly the company who is being sued for trying to assist those accused of copyright infringement.

http://yro.slashdot.org/submission/1402044/USCG-Sues-Copyright-Defense-Lawyer

We briefly skim across our own web security and I explain how most of the time my router is hardwired and switched off when not in use.   I also suggest that to stay away from falling foul of copyright law you should not put yourself in the position of infringing it in the first place.

We look at issues of Windows Phone 7, how its being given away on a two for one deal, its lack of features compared with an Android phone and ask if Oprah should be wheeled out to promote it.  Talking of Oprah, we look at her Bing promotion and talk about her previous 360 shenanigans.  Confused? Listen to the show, all will be revealed!

A mention is made of  a US Air Force flow chart seemly designed to give advice in regards to dealing with blogs/websites.

http://www.globalnerdy.com/2008/12/30/the-air-forces-rules-of-engagement-for-blogging/

That brings us on to people who try to distort views with “template” comments which they add words to.  I highlight a comment recently on this site which had the words “key word here” left in which suggests the practice is still used.   If you are interested in reading that particular comment, you can find it here:

http://openbytes.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/techbytes-audiocast-episode-1-011110/

I bring up the story of Ubuntu rolling release, only to find that in my absence its been debunked as a rumor.  Unperturbed, I discuss the advantages of it actually being a rolling release and myself, Roy and Gordon discuss the current Ubuntu release cycle.

Gordon brings up two audiocasts of interest:

http://techliberation.com/

http://www.dancarlin.com/disp.php/cs

and I close the show with my favourite Severed Fifth track.

Unfortunately we don’t get on to discussing the topic which was planned, that being Software Patents. We will be covering that on the next show.

You can currently listen to the show over on TechRights.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com / TwitterIdenti.ca

You can also contact me on Skype: tim.openbytes

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the OpenBytes statement, here.

About Tim Sparrow

Online tech writer, novelist/author of sci-fi literature and co-host of the TechBytes Show! I believe in multi-culturism & diversity. Luton Town FC supporter.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Tim on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,991 other followers