//
you're reading...
News

Start saving – Windows 8 on its way?

A short snippet of a rumor….

For anyone who thought that their Windows 7 investment would not be “upgraded” for some time may have to think again.

It is being alleged that the Dutch Microsoft site released a statement which Winrumors has translated to read:

Furthermore, Microsoft is on course for the next version of Windows. But it will take about two years before Windows 8 ‘on the market..

Its further reported that the statement was taken down rather quickly.  So 2012 could possibly be the date that Windows 8 makes an appearance?  What do users think of this?  Lets have a look at some of the comments on PCWorld:

No one will ever need a damn OS that requires huge amount of ram and graphic capability to browse, view files and manage media content. The recent release cycle has been hilarious to say the least. Vista flopped making way for 7 with some reduced crap. Now follows windows 8. This is pretty unsettling for windows users. Just give us a ‘working’ version of an OS rather than a flashy, resource intensive piece of junk. its time to ditch windows totally……

or how about:

Windows operating systems are crap switch to mac and you;ll never go back I did wish I’d done it earlier

or

Who cares. Just another version of the famous malware/virus magnet.

or (In respect of Windows 7)

There’s no wonder it’s the fastest selling OS in history. It’s because so many people are wanting to dump Vista.

All these comments (and more)  can be read over on an article at PCWorld.

The Mayans predicted that the world would end in 2012.  Maybe they were right and Windows 8 will mark the end for Microsoft?  Certainly Microsoft has some unhappy people, maybe that’s why people are now seeing other platforms as desirable? – I’ll let you decide.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com / TwitterIdenti.ca

You can also contact me on Skype: tim.openbytes

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the OpenBytes statement, here.

 

About Tim Sparrow

Online tech writer, novelist/author of sci-fi literature and co-host of the TechBytes Show! I believe in multi-culturism & diversity. Luton Town FC supporter.

Discussion

39 thoughts on “Start saving – Windows 8 on its way?

  1. Windows upgrades have been happening since 1987, this is nothing new. There have been others, Linux does upgrades, Apple does upgrades, just last week they announced that OS X Lion will be coming next year with complicated mind boggling iOS gestures you will have to memorize. Nobody seems to complain.

    Another misinformed comment is that Windows 7 uses more memory. I have a test system running Windows 7 with a AMD Sempron 512 MBs RAM and a 1.6 GHZ AMD Sempron 64 bit and runs just fine, not suitable for heavy multimedia task, but for Office productivity, web browsing, email, music and watch YouTube videos it works just fine. The fact that the quote came from PCWorld should probably make it suspect since Katherine Noyes is a well know hater of anything Microsoft.

    Windows 7 performs well on less memory, less hard disk foot print, more customizable, includes trigger starting of services, better power management (something Ubuntu Linux still has major issues with).

    Lets not forget about Ubuntu planning the next version of their OS in the next 6 months plus another one in October 2011. The only difference is, they don’t charge for it, although value is not there to charge for it.

    Anyway, when 2012 comes around, I will need borrow US $119 dollars from you.

    Posted by Andre Da Costa | October 26, 2010, 12:18 am
    • Firstly, sorry that your comment was held for a few hours, it appears your IP was wrongly identified as an insecure proxy.

      I won’t address the challenges you make to Windows 7 tech requirements since I’m not making them and that’s not what this article is about.

      I am always puzzled why when Linux is mentioned many people talk about Ubuntu like its the only distro, having said that since it is the most popular one with many users both new and advanced, Id suggest claims about flaws with it are largely exaggerated.

      In respect of Windows 8 for me (if the rumors are true) then it just goes to further show that you never finish paying for Windows and whilst my use of Windows 7 for about 3 months earlier in the year showed a better than Vista, slightly hobbled xp. What I also find amusing is that some of the features which advocates rave about have been enjoyed by Linux and MAC users for some time.

      Microsoft always playing catch-up? Well its a discussion that i would love to have later since I’m on the train and its not easy to type a long post.

      The purpose of this article was more to highlight when Windows advocates jump on the fact that Distros get regular new releases, Windows may be guilty of the same thing….difference being, with Windows you are going to have to pay to find out if it offer you anything worth the money

      And anyway for a non gaming user, what on earth can Windows do that I cant with any other platform? Maybe this is why users are also moving away to the MAC.

      Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 7:21 am
      • Mac OS X is down 1%, Linux is down to 0.85%, so those alternatives are actually losing market share. Why do you think Apple had the press event last week? What they realized is, their own products iPad and iPhone are actually cannibalizing the Mac which ultimately leads to less revenue. On top of that Windows 7 is still having strong sales after 1 year on the market, now hitting 17% world wide. I went to church on Sunday and a friend told me that the entire Computer Faculty at her University has moved all their Windows XP systems to Windows 7. Its just that good, she even wants to upgrade her mix of Vista and XP systems at home to Windows 7. I kindly directed her to the Windows 7 Home Premium Family Pack Upgrade for 3 PC’s.

        I should document the migration for her and create a blog post. People are satisfied with Windows 7, personally, I am not really interested in Windows v.Next right now. Windows 7 is working just great and there are a lot more people who are left to upgrade. 2011 is gonna be another break out year for Windows 7, with Windows Live Essential 2011 out, 2010 is gonna go out with a bang. I can bet by December Windows 7 should be on 300 million systems world wide.

        Posted by Andre Da Costa | October 26, 2010, 2:37 pm
        • I’ll answer you first Andre since Im back and you are far more transparent when it comes to putting your opinion down.

          Quote “Mac OS X is down 1%, Linux is down to 0.85%, so those alternatives are actually losing market share.”

          Stats- Rubbish. Even Steve Ballmer has had Linux at around 6%. Nobody can show what the stats are and everyone can manipulate them to suit themselves. Look at all the tech forums where its blatantly obvious Linux users are commenting. Infact Andre look back at our history on Microsoft Watch. Before Jo Wilcox left there was more Linux users discussing and making comment than there was Windows.

          Quote “What they realized is, their own products iPad and iPhone are actually cannibalizing the Mac which ultimately leads to less revenue.”

          What like Xbox takes the game market from Windows last bastion of salvation?

          Quote ” On top of that Windows 7 is still having strong sales after 1 year on the market, now hitting 17% world wide. ”

          Of course it will…OEM.. I contributed to that alleged figure because I had to purchase a machine with 7 on it (no choice)….Now we are coming out of a recession and the home user is starting to buy new PC’s the fact that Windows 7 is stuffed onto nearly everyone of them goes without saying. Ive mentioned it before (and so have others) don’t count OEM a closed subject as far as the EU is concerned.

          Quote “I went to church on Sunday and a friend told me that the entire Computer Faculty at her University has moved all their Windows XP systems to Windows 7. Its just that good”

          Evidently though not for the London Stock Market, nor the French Police…I can go on….maybe these people are just mad?

          Quote “I should document the migration for her and create a blog post. ”

          You should. You can do it on the Linux powered WordPress which has had to take over the Microsoft blogging responsibilities for Microsoft customers.

          Quote ” I can bet by December Windows 7 should be on 300 million systems world wide.”

          Don’t start betting Andre, remember what you had to say about Cloud computing? I can quote, it was on this blog. What about your predictions of no Windows mobile phone? That was on Microsoft watch, I can quote that too.

          Infact Andre as someone who defends a package which you claim is so good, why did you have to resort to posting under a different name where I exposed you here (oh and having multiple accounts on Cnet) If Windows is so great and destined for the success you claim, why would you need to do that? Infact why would you come here at all?

          Kind regards
          Tim.

          Now onto Richard…..

          Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 3:18 pm
        • “I can bet by December Windows 7 should be on 300 million systems world wide.”

          That`s due to vendor boot loader lock in and in no way proves that people want or demand Windows, most end users really don`t care or ask for MS products by name they are more concerned with can I do Facebook, email, watch movies, etc. MS is the Standard Oil of our time.

          Posted by chew | October 27, 2010, 2:43 pm
        • “Why do you think Apple had the press event last week? What they realized is, their own products iPad and iPhone are actually cannibalizing the Mac which ultimately leads to less revenue.”

          Interesting that the just updated Macbook Air`s ship times are already slipping, oh well so much for that cannibalization theory..

          http://www.macrumors.com/2010/10/27/shipping-estimates-for-entry-level-11-inch-macbook-air-slip-slightly/

          Posted by chew | October 27, 2010, 9:18 pm
          • I wouldn’t bother. You will probably get a repeat of the cut and paste statements. I think what Andre thinks people will believe and what they actually do are two separate things.

            Andre tends not to think through a claim properly because if he did he would have remembered that Microsoft is wanting to sell its 360, has the Zune, had the Kin and trying to make a success at any of them. Sure its Windows sales must be strong due to OEM, but when presented with the ability to choose on another platform, it appears people are exercising their right to choose and staying away from Microsoft products.

            Posted by openbytes | October 27, 2010, 9:24 pm
            • On a side note, have you tried getting a refund for that Windows license that came with your computer? any luck? LOL. It`s a shame that you can`t go and by a computer from manufacturer XYZ and at the least be able to purchase it without a Windows license.

              Posted by chew | October 27, 2010, 9:29 pm
              • Ive made a few remarks regarding the refund. Short answer is:

                Yes, Acer was willing to give a refund. The only caveat to that was I had to send my computer away. I didn’t want the fuss or being without my machine for a week so I wrote a letter asking for the refund on the basis that I had never even booted into Windows 7 once.

                I am still awaiting for a response, but it appears for Acer anyway a refund is entirely possible and certainly not difficult. To be fair to Acer they did offer a courier service too.

                My advice to anyone seeking a Windows 7 refund, first port of call is the manufacturer (after purchase)

                Posted by openbytes | October 27, 2010, 9:34 pm
                • To be honest that sounds like a very fishy practice, making it as inconvenient as possible in order to get said refund, why would Acer need the machine back? Would`nt a serial number (from the back of the machine) suffice? I`m willing to bet this practice is barely legal if not entirely illegal.

                  Posted by chew | October 27, 2010, 9:40 pm
                  • I’ll wait to see what the result of the letter is. There can be no accusation by them that Ive ever used Windows 7. From first switch on, a Sabayon LiveCD was put in the drive and the HD completely wiped.

                    I had been led to believe that the process would be harder so except for the request of the PC to be returned to them, I think it wasn’t too bad.

                    Posted by openbytes | October 27, 2010, 9:54 pm
    • “…[V]alue is not there to charge for it”? You might want to try Ubuntu before you say something as ridiculous as that. Visually, it’s more appealing. It’s much, much more network-centric than Windows. Remote administration is simple over a low-bandwidth (e.g. cellphone) connection. Flexibility and configurability are there. And installing/uninstalling apps on Ubuntu is a slick, smooth experience — unlike the Windows roll-your-own nonsense.

      I’ll grant that Ubuntu isn’t as polished an OS (you can’t remove screensavers from the screensaver list without some hackery), and doesn’t have the same level of driver support (NVidia, ATI, I’m looking at you here), and the audio situation on the platform is nothing short of absurd … but no OS is everything to everyone. There’s a lot of value in Ubuntu. It would be a shame to overlook it in the name of partisanship.

      Posted by Richard | October 26, 2010, 7:52 am
      • Ok Richard since you can’t stay polite I would question your value comment since for starters the French police switched and they certainly saw value in Ubuntu. You have me,at a disadvantage since I’m between trains and as I say I will give you a full response later…

        Fancy talking about the value the London stock exchange saw with a windows platform? I’ve plenty of examples and trays forgetting many happy users of ubuntu. I’ve not used ubuntu on my main rig since 804lts but o regularly deploy 910. … as I say ill address later and

        Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 8:00 am
        • For the record whilst I’ve not moved my main rig from sababyon 10 is running on my secondary rig as I intend to deploy it to others. Have you infact used it at all? Also why like Andre do you seem to insist that linux is Ubuntu….I leave it there until I get home and get onto a real keyboard.

          Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 8:04 am
          • Maverick’s on my box at home. I dare say that I’ve as much, if not more, Linux experience than you. And what’s this nonsense about “insist[ing] that linux is Ubuntu”? Where did I say that? Are you having a bad day or something?

            Posted by Richard | October 26, 2010, 9:11 am
        • Are you smoking something? Please learn to read.

          Posted by Richard | October 26, 2010, 9:07 am
  2. Hey, where are your articles that rant about Apple’s OSX releases? I’ve searched everywhere but I can’t find them. I want to read them because just like one of the commenters you’ve picked out, I can’t figure out why Apple can’t deliver an OS that just works for all eternity instead of packing in more flashy nonsense.

    Posted by Richard | October 26, 2010, 7:26 am
    • Richard, happy to give you a full response although it will be in a while since another long response ony HTC is not possible at the moment. Thanks for your comment.

      Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 7:31 am
    • Quote “Hey, where are your articles that rant about Apple’s OSX releases?”

      I should really just dismiss you for being a rude individual. Judge not lest ye be judged. Your posting history here is far more applicable to ranting and as Ive suggested many times before, if you don’t like what you read and gives you the urge to be rude, why not just ignore the site?

      Since I do have manners I will answer your point, where are the Apple OSX release articles? There is none. Do I have an issue with Apple? Not at all infact the opposite and unlike Windows the users I speak with are very happy Apple customers who feel they get great value for money. One colleague has just this last weekend bought a mac (much as I would have liked him to try Linux first) and he’s now acting like he’s used a computer for the first time, after his history of Windows issues Apple feels like a breath of fresh air to him.

      My views and site are not about any imagined “evil Microsoft” which Windows supporters seems to like to push, they are about diversity. If the computing market is to start on a road of diversity with Apple products breaking things up, in light of the customer satisfaction I see, then fine. I have no issue with that whatsoever.

      Quote “, I can’t figure out why Apple can’t deliver an OS that just works for all eternity instead of packing in more flashy nonsense.”

      Flashy nonsense? Like the stuff Windows is trying to push now as it tries to play catchup. Oh Microsoft had flashy, its just when Microsoft first tries something (Vista) it seems to end in tears and whilst Windows 7 has received better reports from some, it appears to me Vista users were merely unwitting guinea pigs for Windows 7 which effectively appears to me to be more of a SP rather than a unique release.

      This short snippet of rumor was to explore the question of when is too soon for an upgrade, are Windows users happy to pay for it and maybe more importantly what will it offer with added value. You make sweeping generalizations about GFX and sound issues, yet say Ubuntu has value, why not be specific. If I come across a problem I would specify with what hardware….Just like I don’t say Windows 7 has a problem with software written for XP. I would rather say 7 has a problem with XP package X,Y,Z…….

      Going back to Apple though, I can only say from experience. In terms of using the Mac, as I repeatedly say its a few stolen hours here and there on the wifes machine. What I can comment on is the reaction from people who I know personally, who have no tech knowledge or interest, so when you say:

      Quote ” I can’t figure out why Apple can’t deliver an OS that just works for all eternity instead of packing in more flashy nonsense.”

      in my experience find that wholly inaccurate and misleading. If all OS’s were to start again with equal footing in market share, I’d be predicting Apple to take the lead. Now for some that may be uncomfortable since Linux is my OS of choice and I would prefer it over Mac anytime, however its the mainstream who dictate market share, not me. Im not in the position or have the time to personally show millions of people that Linux is a great platform.

      I worry about Apple and their lock down on some of their products, I dislike Apple and its app dictatorship it has, however we have to be realistic that the mainstream audience don’t seem to have a problem with that and are happy with the products (in my experience). It would be dishonest of me to ignore what my colleagues say in order to promote Linux and thats why you don’t see any “rants” about Apple.

      I hope this answers your question and I think Apple may be the exception to the rule when the desktop OS takes more irrelevance (as per my response to Lefty’s interesting article) Apple though, may well find that the “fashionable” status its products have makes it still a desirable purchase.

      In any case I believe that Apple does a great deal to bring diversity to the desktop and for that (whatever else they may be alleged of doing) is a good thing.

      Kind regards

      Tim.

      Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 4:19 pm
      • So, basically, Apple’s guilty of exactly the same thing, but your friends (and spouse) like it enough that you won’t attack Apple. That probably makes sense to you. And at the same time, you know absolutely nobody who likes Windows 7 … you don’t get out much, do you?

        Thing is, why spend so many paragraphs to admit that you’re a biased, judgmental basement-dweller?

        Posted by Richard | October 27, 2010, 6:07 am
        • No. Not at all. See “full response to Richard” on the below comment. I don’t know why you seem to post two comments at a time and cannot do it in one, but its your choice.

          Posted by openbytes | October 27, 2010, 5:05 pm
  3. Reply to Richard (Multiple posts)

    I’ll answer the Apple point in a seperate post and merely address your latest.

    Lets address:

    Quote “And what’s this nonsense about “insist[ing] that linux is Ubuntu”? Where did I say that? Are you having a bad day or something?”

    In answer to your bad day point, yes. If you had checked my tweets, earlier on you would have seen not only was I mobile, but had cronic back pain from an injury. It is very difficult to keep ontop of comments which travelling. I made this point and said I would answer when I had access to a keyboard. This apparently wasn’t good enough and you came back for more.

    Ubuntu – Mr Da Costa brings it up when Linux is mentioned. This article was about release schedules of Linux V Windows and the fact that Windows advocates like to scorn Linux and its frequent updates, yet now we see a chance that Windows might be cashing in on another upgrade in 2 years time. Andre brought up Ubuntu and I pointed out other Linux distro’s exist and the point is applicable to… You then turn up, claim to use Linux and then mention Ubuntu again. Failing in my view to mention that this is not just Ubuntu and every Linux distro has a more regular release schedule than Windows.

    Quote “[V]alue is not there to charge for it”? You might want to try Ubuntu before you say something as ridiculous as that”

    Of course Richard, as your past history dictates you never actually set out what you mean and you will hide your views behind double meanings.

    So what are you saying? You agree that Windows 8 should be served upon us in 2 years time? or not? Its quite a simple issue and its what this issue is about. There benefits of either system came more into play when Andre makes his points, which whilst are textbook MS PR, at least its pretty clear about which angle he’s trying to come from.

    Quote “Maverick’s on my box at home. I dare say that I’ve as much, if not more, Linux experience than you”

    Don’t be so silly, you know nothing about me nor me you and how close you come to my beginings with computers in 1982 is of no interest to me…In any case the point made is about releases, is Linux too much? should MS release Windows 8 in 2 years? Those were the points made, those were the points that don’t need years of experience to answer.

    By the way may I just ask, you slam Ubuntu re: driver support (and thats your experience not mine) yet you then claim it has value….very clever… I remember the similar tactic when people used to tell people “I love Linux – I use Gentoo” – specifically done to put people off Linux without having to appear as if they are against it. So your position is, its a smooth experience except for the points you make about gfx/sound….? Ok…then its not smooth is it?
    Please don’t be so transparent and the issues you make are affecting a small minority of people, a percentage which, if you compare to Windows complainers with issues on their platform, both compat and malware/security the Linux percentage is proportionately much lower.
    Anyway this is off topic and what you claim to use is of no relevance here.

    So in answer to the article, do you agree with a quick release 8 or not?

    Kindest regards
    Tim.

    Now onto your Apple point.

    Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 3:37 pm
    • Have you gone barking mad, Goblin? Here, let me make this easy for you: there’s no “double meaning” in my post about Ubuntu. And the points I raised are very valid. No operating system is all rainbows and unicorns, you know.

      Nobody in their right mind would claim that the graphics driver support for Linux is the same as it is for Windows — I have a NVidia card with a TV-out, now 3 years old, that STILL won’t display on the TV when I’m under Linux. Worked perfectly from the day I bought it under Windows. Why? Because NVidia chose to build a more comprehensive driver for Windows, simple as that.

      As for audio, let’s see. There’s Pulse, ESD, ALSA, OSS, SDL, JACK, whatever KDE uses, and that’s just the tip of the iceberg. They’re layered and intertwined incestuously. All of which makes sound a horrible hack on Linux, with frequent complaints about hissing, popping, desynced sound, weird interactions when multiple apps try to use sound, and crazy volume controls (I’ve got “PCM”, “PCM 2″, “Master”, and a few others that don’t seem to do anything at all).

      But I’ll tell you what, Goblin. Why don’t you go and bury your head in a nice dark place (up your own bottom seems to be your preference, since you can’t even tell when I’m agreeing with you), and ignore the fact that every platform has its strengths and weaknesses. Then you can pretend that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with the Linux platform, and spend your time spilling more bile onto the internet about a vendor who may or may not be planning an OS upgrade (oh noes!) in 2+ years’ time. Good for you.

      Posted by Richard | October 26, 2010, 7:10 pm
      • Quote “Have you gone barking mad, Goblin?”

        No and your previous history here plus your “smooth Ubuntu” then going to mention in general terms two CRITICAL issues which would put many off using it makes me very suspicious. You’ve never been a champion of any Linux distro previously, infact you only ever comment on Windows related posts, which now we see you bringing Apple into.

        Why don’t you be exact with the gfx issues? And can we assume then for you, Ubuntu (Maverick allegedly) is your OS of choice? even with the “issues” you allege. Come on. Anyway its accademic as I say this is about when is an ideal release schedule, does Windows 8 have a good reason to release in 2 years allegedly and possibly when is a release merely a SP? That is all. You claims about what you use or don’t use are accademic and Im more interested that if you find an issue with Ubuntu, then you are exact.

        Quote “No operating system is all rainbows and unicorns, you know.”

        The first true thing you have said and where in my post (which is what should be your discussion) have I said otherwise? Im talking release schedules of OS’s nothing more. Go back and read it.

        Quote “Nobody in their right mind would claim that the graphics driver support for Linux is the same as it is for Windows — I have a NVidia card with a TV-out, now 3 years old, that STILL won’t display on the TV when I’m under Linux.”

        and I ask yet again. Tell us what it is. To merely suggest that you have a problem is easy. I could say the same thing about 7 or Vista…..so what are you saying, you use Ubuntu yet you cannot get your gfx card to work properly? and thats what you chose for your rig? ok.

        Quote “They’re layered and intertwined incestuously.”

        Great descriptives there…..wheres the “linux love” gone? Where’s this smoothness and value now. Just goes to show, what started as a smooth and value Ubuntu has now degenerated into attacks on Linux with colourful metaphor. As I say, you are transparent.

        Quote “ut I’ll tell you what, Goblin. Why don’t you go and bury your head in a nice dark place (up your own bottom seems to be your preference, since you can’t even tell when I’m agreeing with you)”

        Is there a text book on this? Here are the trademark insults. As I say, why do people like you have to resort to playground insults? Can’t you speak like an adult, even if you don’t agree? – Obviously not.

        Quote “Then you can pretend that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with the Linux platform, and spend your time spilling more bile onto the internet about a vendor who may or may not be planning an OS upgrade (oh noes!) in 2+ years’ time. Good for you.”

        Please tell me where this “bile” is? Infact I ask the user the question I don’t suggest anything to anyone. Infact the Mayan comment was inspired by it being reported:

        Quote “Microsoft CEO, Steve Ballmer, recently admitted that the next version of Windows will be the software giants riskiest product yet.”

        If you had followed the cited sources included in the article you would have seen that.

        In respect of Linux, of course there are things I would like changed. I would like to see more software which is traditionally Windows to have Wine compliance. I would like to see the removal of the play once games from being defaultly packaged with any distro and if I have a problem, I will bring up the issue here. My last purchase was detailed online with the full specs given and the distro used. I’ve had no issues so I can’t really report a problem that doesn’t exist for me. Like I say, I’ll let you know when it does.

        And finally Bile? Its not me using insults is it?

        Kindest regards

        Tim

        Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 8:07 pm
        • If I could add for the benefit of readers here.
          ——————————————————-

          I do not advocate, encourage or want agreement from Richard. He is not agreeing with anything I say and all readers need to do is see his first comment on this article to see he comes here to attack with a plethora of tactics.

          Richard is obviously always welcome to comment here, but I would want to distance myself from any similarity in my view and his. Thats not meant as an insult merely that I write and he posts with two wholly different intentions in my view and his posts over however long he has visited here quite clearly show that its to attack my pov – that in itself is fine, what I don’t appreciate is his “smiling sweetly to the crowd” whilst he sticks the knife in my back….

          I’ll leave it there.

          Kindest regards

          Tim.

          Posted by openbytes | October 26, 2010, 8:29 pm
          • If I could add for the benefit of readers here.
            ——————————————————-
            Tim’s telepathy has finally, after much practice, reached the level of omniscience. He knows what I’m thinking, what my intentions are, what my motivations are, and what my goals and objectives are. He even detects sarcasm and maliciousness where there isn’t any, it’s amazing! I was considering writing an actual response for him, but I decided to just think it REALLY HARD instead, and let his telepathy pick it up — easier for him and me.

            For Tim, though, I have only one question: just how far up your own bottom do you have to shove your head before the omniscient telepathy kicks in? Do tell, O Wise One.

            Posted by Richard | October 27, 2010, 6:06 am
            • Full response to Richard.

              Richard seems unwilling or unable to keep his daily postings together, so I will answer both this one (and the one marked earlier) here.

              Quote “Tim’s telepathy has finally, after much practice, reached the level of omniscience.”

              Not telepathy, its experience of you posting here. Notice the difference between an adult conversation with Mr Da Costa and myself? We’ll cover that in a minute.

              Quote “what my motivations are, and what my goals and objectives are”

              Well I think we can gather from this article alone you don’t intend to be polite. Thats one way that our intentions are different, unless you can quote me talking about “bottoms” and basements in an attempt to insult?

              Am I wise? Well yes, compared to you I am, I don’t need to try and insult to make my opinions known.

              Right moving on to the other points you make about Apple.

              Quote “So, basically, Apple’s guilty of exactly the same thing, but your friends (and spouse) like it enough that you won’t attack Apple.”

              No, thats not it, basically or otherwise. Who is saying guilty? I always use the word alleged and ask questions. What I am saying (when you asked why I wasn’t mentioning about Apple OS updates) was that your original comment of:

              Quote “I can’t figure out why Apple can’t deliver an OS that just works for all eternity instead of packing in more flashy nonsense.”

              Which I was saying was, in my experience complete rubbish since everyone who I know who have become Mac users are very happy with their machines.

              Quote “And at the same time, you know absolutely nobody who likes Windows 7 …”

              What I do experience (not know, they are your words) are users of Windows who are desperately unhappy and plagued with issues. Some of these issues I cover. What I am saying is (and people other than you Richard) can try this with their friends family, see what they think of Microsoft products.

              And finally we get to the bit I was waiting for. We first get the attack about Apple, next we get a bit of “Linux Love” which then deteriorates into colourful metaphorical critism about it, next up its the insults about bottoms and basements and then finally…finally we get the claim of bias. Lets look at that a little deeper Richard.

              Quote “Thing is, why spend so many paragraphs to admit that you’re a biased, judgmental basement-dweller?”

              So what are you suggesting ? I’m biased in favor of Apple or Linux? and I hate Microsoft? The imaginary “evil” Microsoft monster is made up purely by people who try to push a pro-Microsoft stance…its a way to try to cheapen the alternatives views, just as “basement dweller” or as we have seen from others “Linux unwashed”, “Freetard” or anything else.

              Let me show you some “bias” I was having a conversation with an non-tech interested party who was asking about the Mac/Windows XP (btw this was on the 2nd of October 2010).
              I recommended she went with XP. Check out the link yourself:http://twitter.com/_Goblin/status/26194754193

              Next up on the bias claim, I cast your mind back a year or so (and Ive linked this so often) where I reported I could not get a broadband dongle to work with a Linux netbook and bought an XP one….yep bias towards Linux/Apple again there?!??!

              Or how about when I say that of the current consoles, 360 is the best of the three? That a bias too?

              Don’t be so silly Richard, read my posts properly but more importantly (since I assumed you were an adult) grow up and don’t resort to childish remarks such as bottoms and basements. Whatever people think about Mr Da Costa and his opinion, at least he can put it forward like an adult and doesn’t sink to the level you do.

              Yes Richard, your intentions are completely different to mine, you show it in your behaviour. You don’t need to be telepathic to see that, merely an adult.

              Posted by openbytes | October 27, 2010, 5:27 pm
              • Your supercilious jibes about maturity have reduced me to tears, Goblin. Especially since you’re clearly the epitome of adulthood. When will my self-esteem ever recover?

                Oh, look at that, it already has. Wahey!

                Posted by Richard | October 27, 2010, 7:18 pm
                • Quote “Your supercilious jibes about maturity have reduced me to tears, Goblin. Especially since you’re clearly the epitome of adulthood.”

                  I need not say anymore about either your level of maturity or the desperation of whatever point you are trying to put across.

                  Quote “When will my self-esteem ever recover?”

                  This is not about your self-esteem, I am saying you shouldn’t be engaging in name calling if you claim to be an adult.

                  How about you just comment without the childishness then there would not be a problem?

                  Posted by openbytes | October 27, 2010, 8:25 pm
                  • No Richard you are a liar. Andre’s behaviour and my responses are clearly shown on this blog. Troll on my own blog? Don’t think so and I suggest if you can’t control your own behavior you don’t come here. Thanks though for clearly showing why I said I didn’t want association with you.

                    What next? Lies didn’t work….you’ve already tried to insult….why do you continue to come here?

                    Oh and stupidity is acting the way you do. I suggest you take a long hard look at your behavior.

                    EDIT: Typo’s from predictive text corrected.

                    Posted by openbytes | October 28, 2010, 6:21 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: World Spinner - October 25, 2010

  2. Pingback: Signs of Defeat: Microsoft Speaks About Invisible Windows, Not Existing Products | Techrights - October 26, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow Tim on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,975 other followers