//
you're reading...
News

Microsoft MVP Andre Da Costa – “Oops he/she’s done it again” ?

"He's been a naughty boy hasn't he Mr Flibble?" - Has Andre been at it again? Make up your own mind, WordPress can show the proof far better. The only question now is, do we take it that Andre wants to be called Lucy from now on?

Readers to this blog may have recently seen the discourse between myself and Andre Da Costa.  We saw (finally) the confirmation from Andre that he had multiple usernames on CNET.  Andre didn’t seem to see a problem with having multiple accounts,  that being said I personally believe that his pro-Microsoft view “supported” if you will by his multiple handles is rather wrong.

You can read a recent article about him and his past behaviour/MVP status here.

So is this another article about his previous actions? No.  I believe I have news that may be of interest to readers of Andre Da Costa (and certainly Openbytes)

Andre Da Costa apparently no longer wishes to be called Andre.  He now appears to want to be called Lucy Buntu, so could everyone please keep this in mind when engaging in conversation with him.

So why do I think Andre wants to now be known as Lucy?  Let me explain.

On a previous article http://openbytes.wordpress.com/2010/04/22/windows-under-attack-on-two-fronts-even-more-problems-ahead/ a user called “Lucy Buntu” popped up to make comments about my work.  Not a problem in itself, I enjoy a debate when I have opposing views to the commenter.   The problem came when I noticed that Lucy Buntu has exactly the same IP address as Andre Da Costa. “Lucy” had this to say:

Interesting, you are generalizing the entire Windows population based on a version of Windows (XP) released more than 8 years ago. Not to mention, you are blaming Microsoft who is in no way responsible for what happened and a lot of people are agreeing this is a McAfee blooper. There is a lot of bias in your report here, because you don’t see call out when Apple’s Mac OS 10.6 deleted users personal files in the guest account or when a just released Mac OS 10.5 deleted user files moved between partitions or the recent vulnerabilities discovered in Safari.

The reality is, Windows is the most widely used platform, which makes it the biggest target. Windows is developed by fellow humans which means just like Linux, Mac OS X, Unix is imperfect by nature. I am sure if Ubuntu or Mac OS 10.6 was on 1 billion PC’s, it would be in the same situation.

What Andre (or Lucy) didn’t realize is that WordPress logs the IP of every commenter and its very easy to see any nymshifting if you care to look.  I was suspicious with Lucy immediately as the tone sounded like Andre to me from the beginning, I checked and guess what? Same IP.  Now whilst I have some points to make first I will answer his/her points at the end of the article.

Firstly, I fully support Andre in whatever he wishes to be called , but does this show him displaying nymshifting ways, the same type of nymshifting that caused him problems before.

Again I ask the question, is this the sort of person Microsoft endorses?  Is this the sort of person Microsoft champions as “most valuable”? I’ll let you decide.

Of course I don’t expect you to just take my word for it, so here for your viewing pleasure is the wordpress comment stats which complement this article.  If there are any allegations of editing etc, I give WordPress full disclosure permission to confirm or deny what I have said in this article and I am quite happy to screen grab again (it was only for space issues on this article I havent yet.)  I have removed part of the IP address to protect the privacy of Andre (only because I would like him to comment) however if Andre wishes to challenge this post, I am quite happy to post the entire IP address if he wishes so he can prove/disprove his involvement.  I would guess Andre will not answer at all.

Andre who we know and love.

and now Lucy...

So now we need to ask why is it appearing Andre is again supporting a pro Microsoft opinion under alias’s?  Why would anyone go to the effort of doing that if they were merely an “ordinary customer” or as he says, enthusiastic about Microsoft Technologies – I’ll let you decide and wonder if Andre/Lucy will dare to come here and justify him/herself. ;)  I don’t know about anyone else, but if I’m enthusiastic about a tech I praise it under one handle, secure in the knowledge that the product will speak for itself.

Maybe Andre has an explanation for all of this?  Maybe all of this is innocent? Maybe he would like to come here one more time and justify himself?

Now on a more serious note, I would like to say I am appalled at this type of behaviour, are we now to think that Microsoft champions are made up largely of people nymshifting to add support to their point of view? How many other handles does Andre have or indeed any MVP or Microsoft Advocate?

MVP’s and Microsoft Advocates you are on notice,  I record and document everything and am rather good at building up a profile on users who I consider dubious.   I have plenty more dubious users that I have built up extensive portfolio’s on.  If you want to support a pro-Microsoft opinion thats fine, but please play fair.

To all the people that don’t nymshift, please don’t become downhearted by the actions of a few and I would say to any of the new bloggers who contact me – ensure that you document everything, it will serve you well in the future.

A response for “Lucy”

So now its time to answer “Lucy”.  Now I could go down the route of quoting her “bias” point and reminding her that she’s supporting Microsoft under a new gender and name, but I wont.  Lucy claims that I have generalized Windows in that article, which is wrong since I made it very clear it was XP SP3 in the first few lines, however I also reference the quote by McAfee where they say:

We have individual reports of other versions of Windows being affected as well

Which hardly categorically states that the problem is XP SP3 only.

Lucy also mentions that I sought to blame Microsoft.  Not true, I actually confirm that Microsoft was not to blame where I say:

Of course Microsoft will be quick to point out that the fault wasn’t theirs and a third party – which of course is correct…..

So I am confused as to why claim I was blaming Microsoft. Lucy then goes on to say

because you don’t see call out when Apple’s Mac OS 10.6 deleted users personal files in the guest account or when a just released Mac OS 10.5 deleted user files moved between partitions or the recent vulnerabilities discovered in Safari.

Lucy, I only blog/comment about things that I have had extensive experience of.  I cannot speak for other blogs, but I personally have only had substantial use with Windows & Linux OS, I do not mention Mac much because my experience of it comprises of a few minutes here and there with a Mac and the glowing reports of users who I know personally.

For me Microsoft products were not fit for purpose.  Linux/FOSS is, thats why I write about it.  Its called honest held belief and as I still have to use Microsoft products at work, Im in a position to see that I never want to go back to having them in the home.  My computing life is so much better.  What I don’t do is try to push my opinions with false names, if you don’t agree, lets debate.

I digress, the next point made by Lucy is that Windows is the bigger target.  I can’t argue with that however I think its of little comfort to the user who finds their machine inoperable.  When I had Windows on my home PC’s and was let down, I would have taken no comfort in being able to point the finger at Windows being popular.  Users don’t care what is to blame for their system fail at the time, I’d suggest, they only care about their machine being hosed and how to fix it and I’d suggest the vast majority of users would rather not have to go through the stress of a failing machine in the first place.

Maybe Andre/Lucy does make a good point unintentionally and that being the issue with one platform having the monopoly on the desktop.  Is Lucy’s argument merely further proof that a world where the balance was more equal would be better for the end user? – I’ll let you decide.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the Openbytes statement, here.

About Tim Sparrow

Online tech writer, novelist/author of sci-fi literature and co-host of the TechBytes Show! I believe in multi-culturism & diversity. Luton Town FC supporter.

Discussion

27 thoughts on “Microsoft MVP Andre Da Costa – “Oops he/she’s done it again” ?

  1. Lucy Ubuntu, you could not make this up. That name will be around the industry like greased lightning. This is just the sort of thing that is very hard to live down and should be a source of intense embarrassment for “Lucy” for the foreseeable future. Nice work Goblin.

    Posted by satipera | April 23, 2010, 8:11 pm
  2. I said on Twitter that due to the Ubuntu RC I thought that the Microsoft Advocates would be on standby…..I had no idea though that this gift of “Lucy” would be dropped into my lap.

    Obviously knowledge of proxies isn’t required to be accepted into Microsoft’s MVP program.

    This whole incident was one of the most tragically lame things Ive ever seen. Nymshifting without a proxy? Thats basics!

    Posted by openbytes | April 23, 2010, 8:18 pm
  3. I hope you are also preparing to write a similar post about your friend Roy:

    http://verofakto.blogspot.com/2009/08/analysis-of-boycottnovell-spam-problem.html

    If there is a nymshifter God, its your best friend in the whole wide world.

    Notice how responses to the previous comment were different when it was a different name. I am sure if it was posted under Andre, it would have received only negative responses. Again, your hypocrisy is very clear. Your wife uses a Mac which you gave great praise to in prior post, you haven’t used Windows or Microsoft products in years, but you seem to have expert advice about the platform. Your friend Roy is a well known “nymshifter” who has been banned from a large majority of popular sites such as Digg, Reddit, but you choose not to call out his behavior. Hypocrisy at its finest I say. Anyway, continue to promote me on your site. I predict by next week, you will change it adacosta.wordpress.com – if you do decide to do that, I have some suggestions for a better theme.

    Posted by Andre Da Costa | April 23, 2010, 9:06 pm
    • Quote “I hope you are also preparing to write a similar post about your friend Roy:”

      Hang on a minute, Andre this is MY blog and I justify MY actions. I’ll break down your post further.
      Andre do you even read my blog or understand its content? I repeatedly say (and even did so in this article) that I comment on things I have experience of. Since your IP popped up with both Lucy and yourself, I made the allegation and I was right wasn’t I? Even though your nymshifting of Mr Dee on CNET was finally revealed you did it again and came back here under a new alias, that being Lucy Buntu.

      Or have I got that wrong?

      You make an allegation about Roy, fine, make it. Write about it and get the evidence. I’d rather not claim (like I have with you) that all those posts are made by Roy because I don’t have the evidence to hand, merely the word of another blogger. I have had experience of you, I have the evidence on my blog (and your IP)

      Tell you what Andre, in the interests of fairness (and since you are not wanting to justify your own actions) why don’t you produce the evidence on Roy and I’ll post it here? I’ll even give you an article all to yourself. If you are so keen to expose Roy and think you have categoric proof (like I believe I have on you) then please, feel free, you have the space on Openbytes anytime.

      Quote ” Again, your hypocrisy is very clear. Your wife uses a Mac which you gave great praise to in prior post, you haven’t used Windows or Microsoft products in years,”

      Yes, my wife uses a Mac (Ive said so enough times) what I also say though is that Linux is still my number 1 choice. I haven’t used the Mac enough to give a fair comment on it and in respect of Windows, I use it everyday at work….its only at home Ive never had it installed for years.

      Im not sure how you dare to say hypocrisy, since you returned to my blog under a different name after being challenged about nymshifting on CNET.

      Quote “Your friend Roy is a well known “nymshifter” who has been banned from a large majority of popular sites such as Digg, Reddit, but you choose not to call out his behavior.”

      You say that like its my responsibility. I have openly disagreed with Roy, but the allegations you make have no foundation, unless you can give me a link. If Roy starts nymshifting on my blog then I’ll let everyone know, but Im not sure if he’s ever even commented on it.

      Quote “Anyway, continue to promote me on your site. I predict by next week, you will change it adacosta.wordpress.com – if you do decide to do that, I have some suggestions for a better theme.”

      Promote you? Ok. Readers you’ve seen what Andre has to say. He believes that I promote him by revealing his double identity of Lucy Buntu…is that promotion? If it is then Im happy to promote you Andre. What should I have done? Simply ignored the fact that you again started defending Microsoft under another handle? Furthermore, when Ive composed an email and informed the MVP program, I wonder what Microsoft’s view of your nymshifting will be?

      Maybe Microsoft’s response will be like yours, “why are you not calling out Roy Schestowitz?”….Im sure though in reality, Microsoft would have rather a different view.

      So no justification Andre/Lucy? Fine. I’ll do what I always do and let readers decide who has the moral high ground here.

      Posted by openbytes | April 23, 2010, 9:41 pm
  4. I provided the proof, but you chose to ignore it, another example of your lies and bias…and hypocrisy of course:

    http://verofakto.blogspot.com/2009/08/analysis-of-boycottnovell-spam-problem.html

    Your accusations of this so-called nymshifting is nothing but paranoia. My other well known aliases which obviously are well known: adacosta, Mr. Dee, (which is just a shortened Mr. Da Costa) associate me as Andre Da Costa and that’s about it. Even on NeoWin forums where I have been participating since early 2003, people know that Mr. Dee is Andre Da Costa. My using Lucy was just to avoid the confusion your group of friends like to use to deny the real truth. Your obsession with the MVP Program, your obsession with my name all prove you have a problem. But, again, you will be the hypocrite just like how you refuse to call out your sidekick mal-roy – wink, wink who comments and attacks regularly on this blog.

    Posted by Andre Da Costa | April 23, 2010, 10:48 pm
  5. LOL, Andre is free entertainment. His comments on the previous post where pathetic. I have laughed my ass of last week.

    How can one take a person serious if he uses a lying flamer like David “Verofakto” Shleisinger as a “reliable” source. His weblog is nothing but a Dr. Schestowitz hate site.

    I remember Miguel de Icaza posting in COLA, becoming “friends” with “Hadron Larry Quark” and calling GNU/Linux users “Freetards”.

    It is clear to me that MVP’s are nothing but a bunch of labile puppets of the criminal organisation known as Microsoft and The Vole. And worst of all, they totally fail to understand.

    It is pathetic that they accuse others of being “biased” on their very own weblog, while they promote a overpriced dysfunctional piece of junk (Microsoft Windows) at every opportunity.

    Thanks for the fish and the entertainment :-D

    Posted by ml2mst | April 23, 2010, 10:55 pm
  6. @Andre

    Quote “I provided the proof, but you chose to ignore it, another example of your lies and bias…and hypocrisy of course:”

    Andre, don’t make it worse. You provided me with a 3rd party allegation. You have not provided IP address evidence (like I have with you) and in anycase what has the actions of others got to do with what you have been up to?

    Why don’t we sort out your behaviour first, then we can talk about others afterwards, or am I to understand the justification for your behaviour is “Well other people do it”.

    Quote “Your accusations of this so-called nymshifting is nothing but paranoia.”

    So the evidence here is lies is it Andre? If thats the case then you will presumably have no problem with me quoting the entire IP address in a full screen grab? If what I have put is incorrect then take me to court, please.

    Andre, incase you haven’t noticed, we’ve moved on from Mr Dee (and I left that up to my readers to make their own decision on)…….Andre, we are talking about Lucy, remember? You new handle here….

    Quote “My using Lucy was just to avoid the confusion your group of friends like to use to deny the real truth. ”

    I can’t really say anything can I? I think that is the most pathetic excuse Ive ever read. – Tell you what I’ll let the readers make their own minds up.

    You really are desperate now.

    Quote “Your obsession with the MVP Program, your obsession with my name all prove you have a problem.”

    Andre, before you start any more lies, why not count back through my posts to see how many are actually about you….for starters on the front page….I’ll let my readers do that if they wish. Maybe you would like to answer, how many posts do you think were actually about you out of the hundreds over the last 2 years?

    Like I say, I’ll let the readers do the counting, I have nothing to hide.

    Yes, I am interested in the mvp program, although I would not seek to suggest all mvp’s act as you do, infact funnily enough one of the people I respect the most on the net (an mvp by the way) you tried to warn away from associating with me a few days ago. He’s now read this article and I would feel bad if he was tarnished by your actions merely because of the mvp title.

    Quote “But, again, you will be the hypocrite just like how you refuse to call out your sidekick mal-roy – wink, wink who comments and attacks regularly on this blog.”

    I am interested in the “obsession” you have with Roy, why am I responsible for anything Roy does or doesn’t do? and now you seem to suggest Chips (who chats in IRC and Ive known since MS watch 2 years ago) is the same person as Roy Schestowitz and in any case, even if you were correct (which I don’t believe you are) how am I in anyway responsible for it?

    I don’t like seeing you squirm Andre, so maybe an apology would not go amiss here? That would be a good start. All im asking for is fair play. If you have an opinion state it, if you have a genuine enthusiasm for MS tech, why not just say? Do you really have to make implications about how great an MS Tech is on the back of a dead celebrity? Do you have to promote your views under numerous alias’s? and do you have to come out with what I think are mickey mouse excuses when you are found out?

    Posted by openbytes | April 23, 2010, 11:13 pm
  7. “My using Lucy was just to avoid the confusion your group of friends like to use to deny the real truth”

    Is this guy stoned? what does that even mean? If that was supposed to be some witty retort, well it failed dismally.

    wow, just wow

    Posted by chew | April 24, 2010, 1:01 am
  8. @chew

    Is this guy stoned? what does that even mean? If that was supposed to be some witty retort, well it failed dismally.

    Nah, he’s a “MVP”, nuff said ;-)

    Posted by ml2mst | April 24, 2010, 1:13 am
    • chew says:
      “Is this guy stoned?”

      Andre/Mrs. Dee/adacoster/Mr. Lucy Buntu, and his/her various other sockpuppets, has always been like this. Although I notice he has gone off the deep end a bit since he got his MVP title. Stoned, well, intoxicated more likely on the Redmond Koolaid. In this case, Koolaid=free gifts, maybe money. I suspect Andrew used the Lucy sockpuppet so that people would be gentile and easy on her because she/he is a woman. So he was using that to his advantage. Also, Openbytes is getting enough traffic that the M$ shill are now watching this site.

      But fear not for Andrew, as he probably has figured out that even bad publicity, is good for him. As in there is no such thing as bad publicity, especially if you are a MS MVP shill.

      Openbytes says:
      “and now you seem to suggest Chips (who chats in IRC and Ive known since MS watch 2 years ago) is the same person as Roy Schestowitz and in any case, even if you were correct (which I don’t believe you are) how am I in anyway responsible for it?”

      Disclaimer: I am not Roy and I can prove it. Roy can actually spell far better than I, and that should be prove enough for anyone, lol. Saying that does not mean that I do not agree mostly with people like Goblin,Roy or RMS, in fact I generally agree with them, because they are usually right.

      And to those of you who have said you find Andrew entertaining, generally his is. But there maybe other sockpuppets that he has used in the past, the were quite nasty indeed.

      Posted by Chips B. Malroy | April 24, 2010, 5:04 am
  9. lol, MVP = Many Valium Prescribed?

    Posted by chew | April 24, 2010, 1:18 am
  10. Hum, maybe Microsoft should make Andre a “Least Valuable Professional.” He doesn’t have a clue what he is talking about technically, and his actions reflect badly on the Microsoft Brand.

    Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 24, 2010, 8:33 am
  11. For the information of readers, Roy has responded to Andres “allegations”. I will link the article here:

    http://techrights.org/2010/04/23/andre-da-costa-as-female-name/

    Posted by openbytes | April 24, 2010, 12:21 pm
  12. @Chew

    Mr Dee was one of his alias’s that he used on Cnet which I believe was rumbled by Chips. There was previously no admittion from Andre that he was Mr Dee.

    Andre admitted being Mr Dee on CNET and the profile now shows that admition, what I want to know is when did he add the “I am Andre Da Costa”, why (if he was “always” so open about Mr Dee) did he have two accounts over on Cnet in the first place.

    One point for readers to consider. Andre considers his name to be a draw for this site. Looking at the last 40 articles, 2 were about him and his behaviour. Looking at his “blog” the only people who comment seem to be spammers trying to sell trainers etc…..Andre has even complained about the spam problem with Microsoft blogs before. Yes you are very popular Andre.

    In the meantime I am sending Microsoft MVP program an email linking here and asking them for their feedback on his behaviour. Andre claims “paranoia” whilst admitting to that which he accused of, he claims “obsession” when it appears the allegations about nymshifting put to him for so long were right all the time.

    Lets see what Microsoft makes of his behaviour and lets see them explain how Andre is “most valuable”

    Regards to all.
    Goblin.

    Posted by openbytes | April 24, 2010, 9:36 pm
  13. Hi Openbytes and others. You folks may not be aware of this, but the phrase “drinking Microsoft’s Kool-aid” isn’t just a figure of speech. Check out this link about Microsoft sponsored sex and drug orgies:
    Microsoft sued one of its distributors, EIM Computerized Technologies Ltd. (EIM), in Tel Aviv after its business relationship with EIM soured. Microsoft claimed that EIM’s refusal to participate in certain unnamed “activities” during a cruise resulted in “displeasure by Microsoft.”
    EIM recently clarified matters by alleging that its relationship with Microsoft broke down because EIM’s employees refused to participate in “sex and drug orgies” on a cruise organized by Microsoft for its Israeli and Turkish distributors.

    Posted by Myfraudsoft | April 24, 2010, 11:55 pm
  14. Oh man, I knew these guys at Cnet were a bunch of trolls but could never prove it, well thanks. Now I know that every time someone argues about a point on CNET with regards to MS and WinJunk they are being paid to do so. GREAT! It is just too sad that people don’t care enough about these kind of things. Also is this kind of propaganda by paid MS analysts that keeps the monopoly going. http://www.itworldcanada.com/news/microsoft-puts-vista-behind-it-says-analyst/140515

    Posted by spartan2276 | April 27, 2010, 6:00 pm
  15. Hi !

    Nice topic. I was surfing the net to see if there is any single person in this world exists who believes in the inconsistencies of MVP award other than me.
    I can give example of atleast 10 websites, for those these 10 guys or gals got MVP award (very limited other community activity). You probably have seen these sites: these contains really nothing! Only copy pasted materials from MS newsletters and websites is their headlines. I dont know, how it will help the community.
    There are many excellent people who was not recognized as MVP. The major determining factor is (seems to me) WHO is nominating the person, NOT the content. Beleive me, some of them know nothing, if they are MVP, the poor who runs a small computer shop in the market next to my door, should be a MVP too. If this blog author or me or anybody else…asks these MVPs a single question, I have doubt, how many can answer it. Great example is Microsoft Answers forum. Many wrong and copy pasted answers are given by MVPs with great confidence (given by MS).
    (If you want to know these website address, I can mail you.)
    If you want to help people about computer thats good, sharing a knowledge is always good, be it Windows, Mac, Linux or Symbian.

    Posted by White Rabbit | July 17, 2010, 10:14 am
    • Thanks for the reply.

      I would welcome any MVP examples you have. From my experience (in the majority of cases) I have found that the real talent/help is found elsewhere and not in the MVP title. The MVP’s I have most experience with, act like salespersons, have an agenda and whilst claiming to be “open” have a rather Microsoft view. Maybe its because the annual “threat” of having their MVP status removed keeps them pushing Microsoft products.

      Of course there is always exceptions, one such exception is Winobs (you can find him on Twitter) a truly decent person.

      I think that the MVP title is more of a “branding” these days. A while ago an MVP commented that the quality of additions in membership harmed the title. I think he’s right and I don’t see anything valuable in having a title which will almostly certainly exclude you from being perceived as open minded.

      This article highlights the type of people MVP’s can be now. It must do since I informed Microsoft and they have done absolutely nothing….and can you blame Microsoft? Give someone a mickey mouse title, a few gifts and they will go around the net pimping your gear. In Andre’s case, he’s been very enthusiastic. Im sure Microsoft will be very pleased.

      Thanks for visiting, hope to hear from you soon.

      Kind regards

      Tim (Goblin)

      Posted by openbytes | July 17, 2010, 10:56 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments - April 24, 2010

  2. Pingback: Microsoft MVPs Nymshifting, Pretending to be Other Gender, Accepting Bribes, and Libeling GNU/Linux Users | Techrights - April 24, 2010

  3. Pingback: MVP program – Microsoft responds to Openbytes! « OpenBytes - May 17, 2010

  4. Pingback: Mutiny in the MVP ranks? No freebie for them? & Microsoft wants to gift you! « OpenBytes - July 31, 2010

  5. Pingback: MICROSOFT – Vulnerability patch on Monday « OpenBytes - July 31, 2010

Leave a Reply

about.me

Tim Wilson

Tim Wilson

Writer/Novelist of many facets both in the world of technology and fantasy/sci-fi. Co-host of the TechBytes audiocast and writer for both OpenBytes and Goblin's Domain. Supporter of free and open source software.

Stats

  • 518,806 readers

Follow Tim on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,109 other followers