//
you're reading...
News

The Windows 7 problem that never existed is finally fixed.

Thanks to Roy Schestowitz of TechRIGHTS, my attention was drawn to this article.  I am sure TechRIGHTS will be covering the topic in more depth so you may want to check out the site shortly.

It is being written over at ZDnet by Mary Jo Foley that the battery complaint (in respect of battery reporting low) that was seen on some forums that

Microsoft officials said at that time that there weren’t any battery-related problems of note

Well she now reports that those “non-problems” have been fixed.

She later says:

Microsoft published a Knowledge Base article that points to BIOS refreshes now available from LG that will fix false “battery is low” reports.

So thats good news eh?  The problem that didn’t exist is now finally fixed.  You can read the ZDnet article here.

I think that says it all and maybe further shows why Microsoft were keen to award an MVP status that I wrote about in the previous article.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

If you are new to this blog (or have not yet read it) please take time to view the Openbytes statement, here.


About openbytes

Online tech writer, novelist/author of sci-fi literature and co-host of the TechBytes Show! I believe in multi-culturalism & diversity. Luton Town FC supporter.

Discussion

40 thoughts on “The Windows 7 problem that never existed is finally fixed.

  1. Heh. That’s Microsoft. Claim that the problem doesn’t exist, and then fix it by stealth.

    Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 3, 2010, 2:22 am
  2. Hey, Dude. Dr. Roy finally cracked and now he screens all comments for any negative criticism. So I’ll be spending more time over here.

    When your OS is the market leader on the desktop, you will likely get thousands of problem reports a day. Can you imagine how difficult it is to verify what problems could be caused by the OS itself or by any of the thousands of hardware configurations in existence? Microsoft, like any other company, will try its best not to acknowledge a problem unless it can be absolutely proven.

    In this case Microsoft is still correct. Some, particularly anti-Microsoft zealots such as yourself, were claiming that there was a single (Microsoft caused) issue affecting all laptops. That isn’t the case. Rather it was a problem affecting some machines. Also note that the fix required a BIOS update. Such is the responsibility of the manufacturer.

    I think it’s important to remember that this is a no-win situation with regards to Linux zealots. If Microsoft reports the bug early with little research then they must write bad code. If they wait until later and fix the problem when the real cause is found then they are accused of being sneaky.

    Posted by Robotron 2084 | April 3, 2010, 4:32 pm
  3. Welcome to Openbytes. Please could I firstly ask you to refrain from using the word “Dude” I don’t particularly like being addressed by it and it does not help to present your views as adult debate.

    Quote “Dr. Roy finally cracked and now he screens all comments for any negative criticism. So I’ll be spending more time over here.”

    Ok, very nice, but why should that be of interest to me. He runs his site the way he wants as do I. I suggest if you have issue you take it up with him.

    Quote “When your OS is the market leader on the desktop”

    My OS? What is my OS? I use Windows at work and Linux at home as a preference. Neither are “my OS” and if time spent using determines which one is “mine” then I’d say Windows is because I spend more time with it at work than I do home computing.

    Quote “….you will likely get thousands of problem reports a day. Can you imagine how difficult it is to verify what problems could be caused by the OS itself or by any of the thousands of hardware configurations in existence?”

    And you point is? Ive said as much myself before although I disagree with the hardware configs because Linux has the same issues of different combinations as Windows does, if that were an issue in itself then Ok, its not and all the machines I use which now run Linux, came Windows OEM with exactly the same hardware. In terms of stability I don’t think you would be surprised to note that Linux has not given my the issues Windows has with EXACTLY the same hardware.

    Quote “..will try its best not to acknowledge a problem unless it can be absolutely proven.”

    And that was the point of the article.

    Qoute “anti-Microsoft zealots such as yourself,”

    How is it that anyone who dares to say they get a better experience away from Windows is a Linux Zeolot. If you stopped telling lies (or merely guessing) you would see the many places where I have defended Microsoft products…not too long ago I said the Xbox 360 was the best console of the three (putting aside the rings of death issue) I said XP was a stable enough system and actually recommended that a Twitter user (Winobs) went with an XP netbook instead of a Linux one since the XP ver better suited his needs.

    Of course its very easy to throw “Linux Zealot” when you can’t argue, what’s to say you are not a Windows one?

    Quote “yourself, were claiming that there was a single (Microsoft caused) issue affecting all laptops”

    Please read what I actually put, which was

    “(in respect of battery reporting low) that was seen on some forums”

    Where do I suggest everyone? I even link to Mary Jo Foleys article. How come out of the 900+ UIP’s I received on this article, you are the only one who can’t grasp that? Coincidence that Roy has seen fit to ban your comments?

    Quote “I think it’s important to remember that this is a no-win situation with regards to Linux zealots. If Microsoft reports the bug early with little research then they must write bad code. If they wait until later and fix the problem when the real cause is found then they are accused of being sneaky.”

    Please tell me where I am reporting something incorrect? the bug did exist, Microsoft denied it (and you agreed with that tactic) and then fixed the issue that didn’t exist. Please correct anything that is wrong there. This article doesn’t even mention Linux.

    Please also tell me where I call Microsoft sneaky? and whilst you are at it maybe you can explain what Microsoft were being in respect of Plurk?

    I look forward to what I assume will be a regular visit.

    Best of luck
    Goblin.

    Posted by openbytes | April 3, 2010, 8:42 pm
  4. Do you really want Robotron? I’ve been having a lot of problems with comments, some people seem to think that they can conduct a war in my comments section and that I should support them.

    On the other hand, at least Robotron is on topic. So far.

    Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 4, 2010, 2:49 am
    • Hi Mad Hatter,

      To be honest I don’t mind. If Robotron wants to debate and does so politely then I would welcome an opposition to my opinions.

      If Robotron engages in the behaviour of some of the others that have appeared here then they only show themselves up.

      I give everyone the benefit of the doubt and am sure Robotron is merely an interested IT user.

      The hits to my site are always increased by a decent debate, so I hope Robotron returns.

      Regards
      Goblin.

      Posted by openbytes | April 4, 2010, 6:41 am
  5. Hi,

    Goblin, while I try to be respectful, I find it strange that you speak about a Windows 7 problem being fixed, when your own article states that LG fixed a bugous BIOS version.

    While the two claims from MS doesn’t contradict each other, since one replied to issues in windows itself, others speak about bugous BIOS (bug isn’t in windows) your post contradicts its title. Since it wasn’t a windows 7 problem that got fixed, but a BIOS problem.

    As you can guess, when your links and copied and pasted by people who don’t want to notice the difference to speak against an OS and support another, that seems to be bad.

    No, it won’t make people switch to linux.

    It will show: Someone had distorted vision / mind.

    And I am sure that in Linux community people stated that there is no issue (in linux) when there was no issue in linux, but still tried to help with hardware / bios / etc issues repeatedly.

    But I don’t see such behavior in a distorted light, and doesn’t post my distorted opinion about it it, to support one software over others.

    And if many linux users tend to use distorted facts to show support for linux, many will question if there are any real advantages of linux, or they all are just distorted stories.

    Maybe you don’t want to see that.

    Posted by TheElf | April 5, 2010, 12:06 am
  6. Hi Elf.

    Firstly please re-read the article. The issue is not what the problem was or even who actually fixed it, it was the “non-acknowledgment” of a problem in the first place which we have seen before (and even closer to home) with the 360 (infact Ive even quote another stating such a claim)

    Quote “No, it won’t make people switch to linux.”

    Whilst you claim to try and be polite you do me the dis-courtesy of second guessing my opinion. If you care to check back over the blog you will see that I largely blame the “net result” of Windows on the users it tries to pander to. Ive often said I DONT WANT a mass migration to Linux lest we end up with Linux being like a Windows platform. Now whilst it unreasonable for me to suggest that you read my entire blog, you could have at least asked me to elaborate on my view before making a guess.

    Quote “And I am sure that in Linux community people stated that there is no issue (in linux) when there was no issue in linux,”

    I can really only talk for others generally, but as a rule the linux community is very outspoken when it comes to issues and if those issues are not fixed tends to make alot of noise about it. Check out the sound issues of Ubuntu 9.10 for example.

    Quote “But I don’t see such behavior in a distorted light, and doesn’t post my distorted opinion about it it, to support one software over others.”

    So its distorted of me to prefer software that is better for me is it? Its distorted to dare to put an opinion on the net is it? Talking of opinion we’ll come to yours in a minute.

    Maybe I should refresh your mind as to what Mary Jo said and then you can compare again:

    “lthough Microsoft officials said at that time that there weren’t any battery-related problems of note, it looks like there were battery problems with certain LG machines, including the R500 family of notebooks. Microsoft published a Knowledge Base article that points to BIOS refreshes now available from LG that will fix false “battery is low” reports. ”

    Seems to me my article is no more or less distorted than ZDnet and infact I even link to the article.

    Quote “many will question if there are any real advantages of linux, or they all are just distorted stories”

    Hang on, why should this be an issue to me? Many will question eh? Fine. Thats the point of discussion. Its always the way though, use and write about Linux get called a Linux Zealot. Maybe you would then like to comment how the Plurk incident has been distorted or if it wasn’t was that then a case of Microsoft using code from another package without permission, code lifting if you will?

    Quote “Maybe you don’t want to see that.”

    I’ll tell you what I see, a very bad attempt at providing a counter. Lets have a look at your post in which you try to be clever.

    In the first line, I knew I was in for an insult (or at least someone telling me my own opinion)

    Quote “Goblin, while I try to be respectful, ”

    A good attempt to try to convince the reader that the rest of the comment will be balanced. Thats fair enough but when you then proceed to call my opinion distorted and try to state what you believe I want (which at best is misleading and worst dishonest) you’ve let yourself down.

    Now looking at your site (and if it really is accurate) I cannot help but ask the question how a roleplayer/gamer feels qualified to be able to state my views without at the very least reading my blog to see what they actually are.

    Your comments put me in mind of the tactic that we see all so often:

    “I love Linux but……” and when that fails to cheapen an alternative to Windows they always resort to “Ahhh your killing FOSS”

    Anyway, whatever you use is no concern to me, but for you I will repeat my stance since either you can’t be bothered to read it or simply don’t understand.

    I DO NOT WANT LINUX TO HAVE THE MARKET SHARE WINDOWS HAS.

    I hope thats clear now for any future comments you might make and look forward to reading them. BTW You don’t happen to know where the other “new” recent commenter is? (Robotron) I was so looking forward to them returning.

    Maybe you should stick to casting fireballs rather than second guessing people?

    Kindest regards
    Goblin

    Posted by openbytes | April 5, 2010, 6:59 am
  7. Openbytes says:
    “I DO NOT WANT LINUX TO HAVE THE MARKET SHARE WINDOWS HAS.”
    ——————————————————–
    Actually, Goblin has always had this opinion. Its not new, he has stated this even back on MS Watch in comments.

    Myself, I respectfully disagree and think it would be a great thing if GNU/Linux did have at least equal share with Windows on the desktop computer. First of all, the pain of Windows malware would be less. Second, if MS started to lose market share rapidly, I think MS would actually have to try and compete with better Windows products, at reduced prices. Competition is a good thing. Third, GNU/Linux would gets more games, and area where it is already starting to get them.

    Posted by Chips B Malroy | April 5, 2010, 5:52 pm
    • The thing is Chips, we can disagree and have sensible debates because we are actually interested in the subjects and have that interest from the basis of honest held belief.

      The same cannot be said of certain other posters….

      Posted by openbytes | April 5, 2010, 6:04 pm
    • I agree. Windows is a pain in the backside on a good day. You have to wonder when a company of that size continuously produces such a crappy product. Microsoft, General Motors, and a lot of other huge companies appear to have no ability to deliver a product that people really want to buy.

      I think a large part of the problem is the current obsession with short term goals. The next quarter’s results are the only thing, and when you don’t plan for the quarter ending the year five years from now. Apple is one of the few North American companies that manages to do this. The Japanese majors also tend to be better at long term thinking.

      Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 6, 2010, 1:05 am
  8. The problem is, Linux is not a proven product like Windows. Put Linux in Windows shoes and it would fall apart. Its a hobbyist platform that is not tested or used like Windows. Windows is used on some of the most powerful machines around the world to the simplest desktop form factors out there. Linux does not have that history, that backing, that broad range of support. Windows is everywhere, and everybody loves Windows! It is what you expect when you buy a PC.

    Linux is just too difficult and confusing to use. It has made some small improvements over the years, but it lacks the depth and richness of Windows in many areas. Application and Device compatibility top the list. The immersive user experience delivered on the Windows desktop is just something you won’t find in Gnome or KDE or any other environment on Linux. When you look at the enhanced Taskbar in Windows 7 with features like Live interactive thumbnail previews, Aero Peek, Touch ready, customizable, yet simple.

    Windows is more engaging. Its about focusing on what users want and that is a relationship with their PC that’s positive and predictable. You just cannot achieve that with a Linux based system, its too much trouble. Its why Windows is on 1.3 billion systems and counting, its why Windows 7 has already captured 10% of the market. I hope all of you could realize this.

    Posted by Andre Da Costa | April 9, 2010, 12:00 am
    • Sure… It’s not a tested platform… That’s why it’s not a mission critical machine, like WINBLOW$… Dream on, Fanboy…

      Posted by Ruy | April 9, 2010, 1:34 am
    • Andre,

      The problem is, Linux is not a proven product like Windows. Put Linux in Windows shoes and it would fall apart. Its a hobbyist platform that is not tested or used like Windows. Windows is used on some of the most powerful machines around the world to the simplest desktop form factors out there. Linux does not have that history, that backing, that broad range of support. Windows is everywhere, and everybody loves Windows! It is what you expect when you buy a PC.

      You are wrong. Linux is tested and proven. It is used in huge projects (super computers) and everything from that down to microwave ovens. It has a far wider uptake than Windows has, and has a reputation for reliability that Windows lacks. Windows is only what you expect when you buy a PC because Microsoft’s exclusionary deals with the computer OEMS means an entire generation of users has never seen anything else. Except for Apple, and Apple currently has a 75% market share on customers selling for more than $1000.00 US/

      Linux is just too difficult and confusing to use. It has made some small improvements over the years, but it lacks the depth and richness of Windows in many areas. Application and Device compatibility top the list. The immersive user experience delivered on the Windows desktop is just something you won’t find in Gnome or KDE or any other environment on Linux. When you look at the enhanced Taskbar in Windows 7 with features like Live interactive thumbnail previews, Aero Peek, Touch ready, customizable, yet simple.

      Linux is easier to use than Windows or OSX, and is technologically superior to both, Linux offers a wider range of desktop choice, better eye candy (KDE4 is far superior to Aero), better stability, easier installation, better hardware drivers, and a totally virus free experience.

      Windows is more engaging. Its about focusing on what users want and that is a relationship with their PC that’s positive and predictable. You just cannot achieve that with a Linux based system, its too much trouble. Its why Windows is on 1.3 billion systems and counting, its why Windows 7 has already captured 10% of the market. I hope all of you could realize this.

      You definitely can’t have it on a Windows or OSX based system. Both are fall into the ‘my way or the highway’ design category. If you don’t like what Microsoft or Apple deliver, too bad, you are stuck with it.

      As to Windows 7 and it’s market share, look at the raw numbers. OSX has gained an additional 1.1% market share since the release of Windows 7. Linux has gained an additional 0.6% market share since the release of Windows 7. Both numbers are very significant.

      OSX is only available on machines built by Apple, which are only available for sale in certain jurisdictions. Because the the limited supply chain, it is almost impossible to buy Apple computers in large areas of the world.

      Linux is even harder to find. Due to Microsoft’s exclusionary contracts it is very hard to buy a computer with Linux pre-installed. Since most users buy their computers and NEVER upgrade or change the operating system (upgrade in this case being defined as migrating from Vista to 7. Installing service packs does not count). So whatever is on the computer that they buy stays there. So the average user will never see Linux, or get a chance to try it.

      So there are huge issues with finding OSX and Linux computers for purchase. Microsoft has done probably more advertising for Windows than ever before. Meanwhile WIndows is slowly, but steadily loosing market share. This continual erosion of market share tells me that Microsoft has some really nasty problems. I have my opinion of what those problems are, but they are an outsider’s viewpoint, and may not be right.

      On the other hand I do read Microsoft’s financials, and Microsoft is in trouble financially as well. Most of Microsoft’s profit is actually from Microsoft Office, and every computer that runs Linux is a lost sale for Office. Every computer that runs OSX is also probably a lot sale, due to Apple now selling their superior IWork product. And then there’s OpenOffice.Org! I have been amazed at the number of normal (non-geeks) people who know about and use OpenOffice.Org, and consider it a fantastic alternative to Microsoft Office. Each lost sale of Office has a huge effect on Microsoft’s profits. Right now Microsoft is where General Motors was 7-8 years ago, and if the company doesn’t fire Ballmer and hire a capable new President, it will end up following General Motors down the Chapter 11 path.

      Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 10, 2010, 4:47 am
      • Hi Mad Hatter!

        I assume you were not present a few years ago on MSWatch, but with Andre, he doesn’t let facts get in the way of a good PR release. To be fair, his PR posts are pretty obvious for what they are and if you look at how he responds, he does it in a very politician type way, he will never respond directly.

        People have been commenting for years about his copy and paste answers that look like they have been lifted from a MS PR sheet entitled “What to say when people ask…”

        So this is now the level which the MVP is at. I think this says it all.

        The MVP is not a title, its a branding. Maybe MS should give all MVP’s a bell to ring so people can know when they are coming. What an awful title of shame.

        Posted by openbytes | April 10, 2010, 9:43 am
      • I assume you were not present a few years ago on MSWatch, but with Andre, he doesn’t let facts get in the way of a good PR release. To be fair, his PR posts are pretty obvious for what they are and if you look at how he responds, he does it in a very politician type way, he will never respond directly.

        No, I don’t read MSWatch. He does have all of the hallmarks of a paid troll though.

        Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 10, 2010, 12:18 pm
  9. Hello Andre, pleasure to have you here.

    Quote “The problem is, Linux is not a proven product like Windows”

    Really, so the internet’s backbone and its Linux relationship is not proven? ok..how about the French Police…they certainly think its proven, unless of course you are trying to suggest that the French government would allow its police force to depend on “dodgy” software.

    What actually is there to prove Andre? Even WINE stats for native Windows binaries seem to outperform Windows. What more do you need? Do you require Linux to be the victim of as many exploits as Windows? Do you require Linux to have performance issues (most notably like what we saw with Vista) or do you require the Linux devs (like Microsoft) to take code from other peoples projects without permission.

    Please tell us what you require for Linux to be proven.

    Quote “Its a hobbyist platform that is not tested or used like Windows.”

    So its a hobbyist platform that seems to be far more popular and championed on mobile tech than Winmob…ok…lets put that to one side though and carry on through your post…

    Quote “Windows is used on some of the most powerful machines around the world to the simplest desktop form factors out there.”

    What about the LHC Andre? Whats that running? What about all the servers Andre? Is Linux absent? – of course not….but in your books its still not proven…ok.

    Quote “The immersive user experience delivered on the Windows desktop”

    Lol…Andre, you are welcome here any time with those coments, takes me back to your MSwatch days when every post was so full of buzz words it sounded like Ballmers bedside prayer. Andre, update for you, even average users don’t buy into buzz words anymore and they certainly don’t buy MS PR….What happened to the Windows party ads Andre? or what about “Comedy” Shoe skits?

    Quote “Windows is more engaging. Its about focusing on what users want and that is a relationship with their PC that’s positive and predictable. You just cannot achieve that with a Linux based system, its too much trouble. Its why Windows is on 1.3 billion systems and counting, its why Windows 7 has already captured 10% of the market. I hope all of you could realize this.”

    Andre, thanks for that. I really don’t need to counter it because anyone interested enough to read it will clearly see it for what it is.

    Andre, I do love reading your attempts at PR on behalf of MS, although I don’t for one minute think that this type of post is endorsed by them purely because it comes across as being so fake.

    You talk about proven, then mention figures (which mean nothing) yet fail to mention about how much penetration Linux has in the server market….come on Andre why not tell us.? then we can ask the question, Is Windows proven?

    Finally I’ll end on:

    Quote “Linux is just too difficult and confusing to use. ”

    For you? I thought you were a “tech enthusiast” or are you trying to talk for other people?

    Your profile description says:

    “Microsoft MVP, Technology Enthusiast, Windows Enthusiast, Windows Live, Windows 7, Blogger, Notebooks.com, ActiveWin.com”

    and just like your closing paragraph it says it all. The difference between me and you is that I am quite open about my likes and dislikes, you on the otherhand have an opinion filled with words which sound like an MS press release.

    We asked the question so many times before on MSWatch, who thinks Andre is genuine?

    and all to often people gave the same response, didn’t they Andre?

    Maybe whilst you are here, you would agree to answer some questions for an article for openbytes?

    I would be very interested Andre to ask you what you were thinking when you wrote that it was a shame Micahel Jackson didn’t live to see Windows 7.

    How about it Andre, a little Q&A?

    Kind regards
    Goblin.

    Posted by openbytes | April 9, 2010, 12:29 am
  10. Andre says: “Its why Windows is on 1.3 billion systems and counting, its why Windows 7 has already captured 10% of the market. I hope all of you could realize this.”
    ——————————————————–
    Actually its more like people were forced to get Windows Seven as Microsoft has a monopoly on OEM pre-installs mostly. Unless you count Dell with Ubuntu, but you cannot just go down to Best Buy and get anything without MS on it. And 10% could be hardware failure and the fact that windows crashed so bad (or was infected with malware) that it was cheaper to buy a new computer than fix the old one.

    One thing I do agree with Andre on, is Windows can run more types of programs than Linux, and that type is malware.

    Posted by Chips B Malroy | April 9, 2010, 12:45 am
  11. Chips, I think you may have hit on something there….maybe when people start becoming the victims of exploits then it will be “proven” and accepted by Andre.

    I wonder why he won’t justify his Michael Jackson comment?

    Maybe we should have our own one….”Its a shame Darth Vader didn’t live to see the new version of Wolvix”

    There you go Linux is now proven.

    Posted by openbytes | April 9, 2010, 12:50 am
  12. I am not into negativity, just the facts. I went to the bank yesterday, and you know what the bank tellers were running on their systems, Windows. I asked the IT guy whats on the back end, Windows. Windows works for so many people. Why must you have this negative approach to it? I have been using Windows since the mid 90’s and I have never been affected by any malicious code. I think a lot of stories we hear are just a lot of fairy tales generated by the Open Source propaganda. I don’t understand the hate.

    Michael did love Windows, he had 12 PC’s at the Never Land Ranch, he played X-Men games (which obviously would not work on Linux) and Michael is a person who wants something to work, so obviously, Michael would never touch Linux or have any interest in it. Not to mention, popular music programs do not work on Linux. That’s a perfect example of where Linux falls short. Windows is very secure, it includes a strong set of protections that keep users safe everyday.

    Come on now, if Windows was not safe, 1.3 billion persons would not be using it. Anyone who is using Linux, is probably just checking it out, not as a replacement, but out of natural curiosity to know what else is out there. Nothing is wrong with that. Those persons always go back to Windows because they know its the best platform for entertainment/gaming, productivity, choice, the Internet and performance.

    Posted by Andre Da Costa | April 9, 2010, 3:59 am
    • Andre,
      You are very good as a paid spokesman for MS, but where you fail is where you say things like “I have been using Windows since the mid 90’s and I have never been affected by any malicious code.” You see, average home windows users, they will not believe that statement. Its why so many computer shops make money by cleaning out Windows infected computers. And why your credibility is zero even with most windows users. Another example is to go to a site like majorgeeks.com and look at the top ten downloads for windows, about half of them are anti-virus or anti-malware, which says to most of us, that yes, malware is a problem on windows. Odd that you seem to be the only person on this planet that has not seen that.

      Posted by Chips B Malroy | April 9, 2010, 4:08 am
    • Winblow$ is not safe. That’s why there are thousands of botnets. Even your friends at M$ were willing to tax internet to “end” botnets. If Winblow$ was secure, there would not be botnets, nor spam.
      In my country a bank running winblow$ in their ATM systems gave 2 thousand bucks to a guy, when he only wanted to draw 10 bucks. That’s winblow$ technology. Luckily the guy returned the exceeding money to the bank, but the press made it a joke, which still resonates to this day.

      Posted by Ruy | April 9, 2010, 4:17 am
    • Quote “I am not into negativity, just the facts”

      So you stand by your “fact” of “Its a shame Michael Jackson didn’t live to see Windows 7″ do you?

      Quote “I went to the bank yesterday, and you know what the bank tellers were running on their systems, Windows. I asked the IT guy whats on the back end, Windows.”

      Er Andre, I think we can agree that Windows market deployment is massive…how about though explaining the UK Stock market computer system? Or would you like me to?

      Quote “I have been using Windows since the mid 90’s and I have never been affected by any malicious code.”

      I was using PC’s prior to Windows, infact unlike you Andre my first computers loaded data off tape Ive been a victim so have others I know, if you haven’t, great, the roulette wheel of Windows security has smiled on you, or are you denying the millions of complaints on the net?

      Quote ” Open Source propaganda. ”

      Thats rich, its not the FOSS community using buzz words and posting like you do (Im pleased to see in this post you have realized how fake your previous text sounds)

      Quote “Why must you have this negative approach to it?”

      I don’t Andre, I highlight the issues otherwise whats the alternative? Stay quiet when the next BSOD comes along? Stay quiet when a new exploit is discovered? Smile sweetly when its alleged Microsoft has lifted code from other packages i.e Plurk? Should we stay quiet when MS doesn’t want to bring BBCi to the Xbox because the BBC wont let them charge for what the BBC offers as a free service? Come on Andre, if we didn’t mention these things and similar incidents, whats the point of having a discussion or the net?

      Quote “I don’t understand the hate.”

      Theres no hate, but then its easy to use that so that you don’t have to answer any questions. Shall I quote your MSWatch articles and let the readers decide where the hate actually is? I don’t hate MS, its just Im not intimidated by challenges, infact please see what Ive actually typed about some MS tech’s then come back.

      Quote “Michael would never touch Linux or have any interest in it. Not to mention, popular music programs do not work on Linux. That’s a perfect example of where Linux falls short.”

      Rubbish, you don’t know that. How on earth can you speak with the family of Michael Jackson. At the time you made that silly remark, others claimed he was a Mac user. They are just as credible as you. Maybe the Jackson family should be made aware you seem to think you can comment on their dead sons behalf?

      Quote “Windows is very secure, it includes a strong set of protections that keep users safe everyday.”

      Sorry then, my mistake. The millions upon millions of complaints and articles on the net to the contrary must all be liars. There you go folks…Andre is right and the millions on the net (easily found by google) are all liars.

      Quote “Come on now, if Windows was not safe, 1.3 billion persons would not be using it. ”

      Glad you brought it up, because OEM gives people little choice. The average user is familiar with Windows, but since even TV shows make fun of Windows problems I think everyone is well aware of what its like. I ask the readers here that use windows to sit and think about their experiences. I don’t even need to evidence my counter Andre.

      Funnily enough Andre, remember your “Vista is loved” and “Vista is a gift to the world” comments? Still standing by those too?

      Quote “Anyone who is using Linux, is probably just checking it out, not as a replacement, but out of natural curiosity to know what else is out there. ”

      So after calling everyone with a problem with Windows a liar, Andre is now saying that all Linux users are just trying it out of curiousity. There you go folks….Remember Andre is a Microsoft MVP.

      Quote “Those persons always go back to Windows because they know its the best platform for entertainment/gaming, productivity, choice, the Internet and performance.”

      Well I didn’t, so what are you saying?

      By the way you still havent answered the question, would you be willing to answer a Q&A? There is much that you posted on MSwatch that needs to be challenged, Ive only tackled the tamer stuff.

      Kind regards
      Goblin.

      Posted by openbytes | April 9, 2010, 10:04 am
    • I am not into negativity, just the facts. I went to the bank yesterday, and you know what the bank tellers were running on their systems, Windows. I asked the IT guy whats on the back end, Windows.

      American bank, right? Canadian banks don’t use Windows, in fact most of them are still running OS2. Curiously the Canadian economy is in excellent shape, while I neighbours south of the border are in disastrous shape. I wonder if there’s a connection?

      Windows works for so many people. Why must you have this negative approach to it? I have been using Windows since the mid 90’s and I have never been affected by any malicious code. I think a lot of stories we hear are just a lot of fairy tales generated by the Open Source propaganda. I don’t understand the hate.

      My experience is that anyone who moves from Windows to OSX or GNU-Linux never goes back. Curious that. If they had such a good experience with Windows, why would so many people be leaving it?
      And I hear a lot more stories from ordinary users. I know a lot of people who’ve switched, and were amazed at the superiority of both OSX and GNU-Linux. One guy I was talking to last night said, ‘If I’d know how reliable Linux was compared to Windows I would have switched years ago’. The next thing he said was that the computer magazines did their customers no favours by concentrating on Microsoft Windows.

      Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 10, 2010, 12:26 pm
  13. Andre says:
    “I am not into negativity, just the facts. I went to the bank yesterday, and you know what the bank tellers were running on their systems, Windows.”
    ——————————————————–

    http://www.siliconrepublic.com/news/article/15770/cio/visa-issues-alert

    Quote: “Credit and debit card issuer Visa has issued an alert warning all retailers that trojan-driven keylogger incidents are on the rise, with Windows-based terminals being particularly vulnerable.

    The rising number of keylogger attacks on retailers’ till terminals is due to the fact that many units are Windows-driven and therefore susceptible to the same type of malware infections as office and home PCs.”

    Posted by Chips B Malroy | April 9, 2010, 4:42 am
    • Chips I think we can remember this route from MS Watch. Andre dares to talk about “hate” when he has obviously forgotten about his comments on Microsoft watch or his double identity of Mr Dee on CNET.

      For readers here that don’t know, Andre has admitted having a double identity on CNET, why would someone create two accounts? I’ll let you decide, before you ask, Andre was found out and has admitted this on Twitter. It was well documented.

      Posted by openbytes | April 9, 2010, 10:10 am
  14. Because Windows runs on over 1.3 billion PC’s and counting world wide, there are nefarious individuals who constantly are trying to find ways attack PC’s running the worlds most popular and most used platform. Of course, it would be common sense to implement effective security solutions to build on that layer of well proven defenses already built into Windows. Just like you would have to secure a business network running UNIX or Linux with additional technologies both hardware and software, this also applies to PC’s.

    I have been on Windows NT exclusively since Microsoft introduced Windows 2000 and I have never experienced a system hang. The reliability of Windows is built on that foundation. If you do experience a System Hang, its most likely a poorly written device driver. For which the Windows Team is not to blame.

    Again, MJ was a PC user, the only thing Apple related he owned and used was a iPod Touch. During MJ’s ordeal back in 2003, there were 12 PC’s and one iBook found on the property. Also, in Martin Bashir’s interview, Michael can be clearly seen sitting beside a PC in his home studio. Trust me, it ain’t running Linux. Linux was like the stone age back in ’03. Leaked photos of MJ at home with his kids show Michael sitting in front of a Dell PC.

    Posted by Andre Da Costa | April 9, 2010, 3:56 pm
    • The bad designs of winblow$ are done in purpose, so they can sell another patch, another update, an anti virus, and so on.
      As people realize winblow$ is not the only option, sure M$ will have to run to catch up in its designs flaws in winblow$. But, perhaps, you are blessed from heavens, and nothing that occurs in real life, with real people, with winblow$ PC’s happens to you… Who knows ??? And, perhaps, a blessed soul like you, could Channel MJ to learn what systems he used… Who knows ???

      Posted by Ruy | April 9, 2010, 4:49 pm
    • Andre, there is so much to comment on in respect of this….first off you suggest people are liars then you say there are problems and go on to explain that dodgy individuals are behind them…..Andre think….I don’t think it matters in the least to the victim what the reason is…its the fact they are victims is the problem.

      Im pleased to see you read your original post and decided to correct your stance. Since you look a little silly trying to brush the security issues of Windows under the carpet.

      Quote “I have never experienced a system hang”

      Lucky you, try google and see how many people share that claimed experience.

      Quote “During MJ’s ordeal back in 2003, there were 12 PC’s and one iBook found on the property. Also, in Martin Bashir’s interview, Michael can be clearly seen sitting beside a PC in his home studio. Trust me, it ain’t running Linux. Linux was like the stone age back in ‘03. Leaked photos of MJ at home with his kids show Michael sitting in front of a Dell PC.”

      Andre, stop this now. You can’t speak for the Jackson family or for Michael and for all you know the PC shown in the TV interview could have been a stage prop. You can’t say what OS’s MJ used and you have neither the authority nor the knowledge to comment on behalf of the Jackson family.

      The funny thing is Andre, you still don’t understand do you? It wasn’t about if Michael Jackson used Windows or not…that was not the point. Whilst trying to promote Microsoft you were completely oblivious to the point being made about your “Its a shame comment”

      How about Andre, whether Windows user or not, how dare you use a dead celebrity to make suggestions on how great Windows 7 allegedly is. I don’t know about anyone else, but your comment of

      “Its a shame Michael Jackson didn’t live to see Windows 7 ”
      appears to me that you are using the name of a dead star to promote windows. Obviously Microsoft has no problem with that tactic since you are now an MVP. In my opinion that common was a shameless attempt to promote Windows at the expense of someone who can sadly no longer respond.

      Quote “Trust me”

      Yes Andre, like your denials of being Mr Dee and then your confession when you were found out. Like your comments of “Vista is loved” or “Vista is a gift to the world”

      I put it to you that you are an indictment of the real worth of the Microsoft MVP title. I put it to you that obviously Microsoft has no problem with your behaviour since you have the title and just like 2 years ago on MSWatch you are prepared to say anything in order to promote Microsoft.

      Remember Andre what happened on MSwatch? – I thought you might have learned your lesson.

      Posted by openbytes | April 10, 2010, 1:03 am
  15. Andre MrDee Adacoster says:

    “I have been on Windows NT exclusively since Microsoft introduced Windows 2000 and I have never experienced a system hang.”
    ——————————————————–
    And there you go again. This and your other statement about malware, is why Windows users do not believe you, as they have had malware problems and system hangs. Take a little advice from Chips, you would be better off not trying to spin Windows as perfect. Everyone knows its not perfect, in fact, most windows users know its has a lot of problems. That is why Linux and Mac usage is growing.

    It is too bad that MS did not listen to its critics, and improve its product windows, instead MS spend its time on DRM and eye candy, the result was Vista, the most unloved poor windows ever.

    Posted by Chips B Malroy | April 9, 2010, 5:12 pm
  16. Please refrain from using derogatory connotations when discussing Windows, I find it very closed minded and immature. You don’t see me going around calling Linux Linuts. Chips, its quite obvious you are living in a bubble. Microsoft listened to its customers and improved on that rich foundation introduced with Windows Vista producing an exceptionally innovative release that is powerful at the heart as it is on the surface. When you look at core improvements like on demand loading of services and loading of the most essential in parallel, with support for up to 256 cores, it clearly shows Windows is ahead of the pack.

    Microsoft embraces innovation in its products. It carefully listens to customers. That’s why I get so much joy around the idea of Windows 7 being “my” idea. Microsoft cares, it cares about moving forward while maintaining that rich legacy of compatibility and reliability through powerful technologies such as virtualization. You cannot get anything like that on the Mac or Linux. Linux is geared toward that person who who likes to kill 15 mins of some time and then go back to Windows to really experience a powerful combination of solutions and innovations from both Microsoft and third party vendors in both hardware and software.

    Posted by Andre Da Costa | April 9, 2010, 9:34 pm
    • Ohhhh… Wow… And you say Chips is living in a bubble… You must be living in never land, that is… It will be easier to you to start channeling MJ… And… Name ONE innovation M$ did… Just one… And you’ll have my credit…
      My “derogatory” connotations are rooted in real life. Or you think I’ve never used that system ??? I did. For some time. Until I had a better option. But the whole stuff is: People get tired of promises. And when those promises cost money, time, efforts etc… People get angry. But I have a video that sums it all: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nKh8bg3eHo
      An angry Consumer ranting about promises and vapourware…

      Posted by Ruy | April 9, 2010, 10:07 pm
    • Quote “Please refrain from using derogatory connotations when discussing Windows, I find it very closed minded and immature.”

      Instead of trying to insult my readers Andre, cast your mind back to your own comments (or would you like me to?) also keep in mind you claim Linux is not “proven” that sounds closed minded to me.

      Here is what Andre had to say on MSwatch when Joe Wilcox left:

      “I don’t understand, if there is no Joe Wilcox on Microsoft Watch where will I go to argue against Linux fanatics? I find it therapeutic.”

      How about we look at your other comments Andre?

      Quote “Linux is geared toward that person who who likes to kill 15 mins ”

      Really, so why two years on from MSWatch are you commenting on my blog, which is about Linux? I’m certainly still using it.

      The rest of your post is priceless to read….

      Quote “Microsoft embraces innovation in its products. It carefully listens to customers. ”

      Yep in the case of the Plurk incident it went one step further than merely embracing, it lifted code from someone elses project and tried using it as its own.

      Quote “while maintaining that rich legacy of compatibility”

      Lol. So why the need for XPM in 7 then? Further more why no DX support for the aforementioned XPM either?

      Quote “You cannot get anything like that on the Mac or Linux”

      Don’t be silly Andre, do your research. Do you think the readers here cannot perform a search in Google?

      The one thing I do agree with is the part about innovations of 3rd party vendors. Theres plenty of Windows users who still use Windows because their favorite package is only available on the Windows platform. Thats fair enough, although Wine is changing that (and has already changed that in respect of many)

      Posted by openbytes | April 10, 2010, 1:13 am
  17. Andre MrDee Adacoster,the guy who get free laptops from M$ for so many comments, says:

    “Microsoft embraces innovation in its products. It carefully listens to customers. That’s why I get so much joy around the idea of Windows 7 being “my” idea. Microsoft cares”
    ——————————————————
    We agree that “Microsoft cares.” But not what they care about, hint, its money and only money, pure greed. But thats also what motivates you isn’t it, free laptops, computers, plane tickets, hotel rooms, software, awards,etc? Or do I have you all wrong?

    As far as “windows 7 being your idea,” NOT. Maybe Vi$ta was your idea, as in Ballmer needs someone to blame for that mess. Ok, so maybe not even that one. But when you make statements like that one, from the MS commercials on TV, well, you become a TV commercial and people will not deal with you like a real believable person. Simply because you become sort of fake.

    I haven’t taken issue with all the false statements you have made about Linux, cause it seems you have not a clue there.

    Lastly, “Microsoft embraces innovation in its products.” Everything MS does is me too after someone else has already done it. Bing after Google, Zune after Ipod, Xbox after Sony Playstation, and the list goes on and on of failures that cost their stockholders Billions every year.

    Posted by Chips B Malroy | April 9, 2010, 10:02 pm
    • One more comment here: We’re living in the dark ages of the internet thanks to Micro$oft, which KILLED Netscape and INNOVATION. And, shoved in our throats THAT Atrocity called Internet Explorer 6. We should have already virtual reality through the internet, video conference, voice, images, text, integration… But no, thanks to M$, which stifled the market and barred any innovation. And, THANKS to Firefox, they started to catch up with IE 7 and 8. So, they hate innovation and they hate their customers. That’s why Opera is getting so many downloads in Europe. When people have choice, they don’t choose Micro$oft.

      Posted by Ruy | April 9, 2010, 10:41 pm
  18. I don’t think Andre will be back now, when the “brand of Da Costa” gets too toxic he merely disappears only to return when he thinks everyone has forgotten.

    With that in mind, lets remind ourselves of the article that showed his double identity over on a forum.

    http://openbytes.wordpress.com/2009/06/28/andre-da-costa-posting-as-mr-dee-on-cnet/

    it was only after this “slip up” of his that he admitted to having two accounts.

    I wonder how many other accounts he has in order to support/promote his own pro-MS stance?

    Remember Microsoft appears to deem this behaviour worthy of the MVP status.

    Posted by openbytes | April 10, 2010, 10:12 am
  19. For Andre;

    Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 11, 2010, 11:58 am
  20. That’s annoying, it won’t let me embed an image. OK, click here for Andre.

    Posted by The Mad Hatter | April 11, 2010, 11:59 am
  21. more article windows 7 please..!

    Posted by berry | May 1, 2010, 7:11 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Vista 7 Does Have Battery Issues (Microsoft Lied) and Microsoft Gives “MVP” to Man Who Loves “to Argue Against Linux Fanatics” | Techrights - April 3, 2010

Leave a Reply

about.me

Tim Wilson

Tim Wilson

Writer/Novelist of many facets both in the world of technology and fantasy/sci-fi. Co-host of the TechBytes audiocast and writer for both OpenBytes and Goblin's Domain. Supporter of free and open source software.

Stats

  • 523,269 readers

Follow Tim on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,165 other followers