//
you're reading...
News

Windows 7..deja vu edition?

We all love a good BSOD.  Remember the pre Vista PR?  Could Windows 7 be the deja-vu edition?

We all love a good BSOD. Remember the pre Vista PR? Could Windows 7 be the deja-vu edition?

I am a little sad that time of writing it appears the previous run of articles seems to have come to an end.  Since the outlandish claims had started (from a self claimed Red Hat dev!), I found it had become rather amusing.  Whilst the comments are left open, we do have to move on.

Today I am looking at a very good article by Ina Fried and you can read that here.

Ive been very vocal about the issues I have had with Vista.  For me Vista is the reason why I went from dual booting at home, to a complete removal of Microsoft products.  I have also been challenged when I make the remark Vista 7 (in respect of the impending 7 release) but would like you to consider Microsoft’s position of “if it doesn’t work in Vista it probably wont work in 7″ (or words to that effect)  I would also like users to consider XPM in 7 and suggest that 7 (or Vista 7) has more of a resembalance in terms of its core code to Vista than it does to XP.

To me though that should not be a point of challenge.  If, as the the MS faithful repeatedly tell me “there is nothing wrong with Vista” then they should champion the fact that 7 building upon what they claim is a great product.

Although, readers with more than a passing interest in the OS they are running know, the story is not quite as simple as that.

Lets take a trip back to 2007 and examine this article, entitled “No end in sight for Vista’s long goodbye” here.  now, does this suggest to you that Vista has been a great success or infact people wanted rid of Vista as far back as 2007?

Lets look at another more recent example from here. This was written in 2008 and is in regards to Angry Vista users vent over SP1 driver issues” Strange isnt it that the MS faithful like to claim that Linux has the exact same issues?

How about this article from August 2008  “Vista’s Security Rendered Completely Useless By New Exploit”

Now lets move on again, this time to 2009, where the release of SP2 has brought with it a new article, you can read that here. This is an article to help Vista users sort out network issues and again since the MS faithful like to claim that Linux has “issues” it seems strange that a “mainstream” OS released on the back of the popular (and now mature) XP that the Windows platform has to have posts like this.  If MS supporters are going to claim Linux is “not simple” why then after all this time does the Microsoft offering still seem to have problems?

Before anyone gives the reason of “new technology” as being a cause, let me stress that these examples are not a claim of incompetance on behalf of Microsoft, but more that no matter what OS you choose, you can have difficulties.  Whilst there are many claims made about alternatives to Microsoft product (being that they are not as good) its worth noting that a “good package” is something that is suitable for you and since many alternatives cost nothing to use, is there any harm in trying them for yourself?

CONCLUSIONS

The purpose of this article is to highlight a few points, firstly, the PR that Vista received pre-release from the MS faithful was, IMO very much the same as we see today for 7.  Regardless of what people try to claim, I think its a given that Vista did not receive the reception that Microsoft would have liked.  There are many more examples than I could post here and the aim was simply to highlight the ones that have similarities to the claims the MS faithful make about Linux and alternatives.  An interesting search of “Microsoft blames” is one I’d recommend everyone try in Google.

Windows 7 I believe shares more in common with Vista than it does with XP, and whilst it may well be a “polished Vista” we have to consider that not only are we in the middle of a recession, but IMO the dynamics of the “average user” have shifted.  I don’t believe the average user is now prepared to remain quiet about issues with software, I think the average user is more willing to consider alternatives and I also think the home PC’s role is changing.  I’ve voiced my opinions on Windows as a gaming platform in light of the massive popularity of games consoles.  I’ve also suggested that for most users the requirements they have of a home PC can quite easily be catered for by FOSS and without the need of proprietary solutions and I’ve also suggested in the past that the “hobby” of computing is returning, and that Linux with its customizable and open system allows that hobby to flourish.

Conversely I’ve also said that mass migration is bad.  To me Linux is a great platform since it strikes a happy balance between being accesable for the new user willing to learn a new way of working and a more “seasoned veterans” love of “tinkering”.  IMO Windows tries to please everyone and in doing so has become a bloated product which has an ethos of “one click solutions” for “one click solutions”.  In my humble opinion history will show that Vista was the biggest mistake of Microsoft’s and I believe that Vista is the main reason why alternatives are even being considered at all.  I’ve said before that unlike some FOSS supporters, I actually understand and agree with the need for proprietary solutions, however when those proprietary solutions have FOSS offerings that are, IMO better, then really one must question the value of them.

To finish on a lighter note, lets have a look at a “happy” Vista customer who is going to show you how to install Windows Vista in 2 minutes.  Funny that the problems experience by this chap are the same ones that the MS faithful claim about Linux time and time again.

Will Windows 7 be a “deja-vu edition” of Vista?  Time will tell.  But with articles like “London Stock Exchange to abandon failed Windows platform” that can be read here. One has to wonder how much damage has already been done to the Windows brand, regardless of what 7 turns out to be.

Goblin – bytes4free@googlemail.com

About Admin

Online tech writer, novelist/author of sci-fi literature and co-host of the TechBytes Show! I believe in multi-culturalism & diversity. Luton Town FC supporter.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Windows 7..deja vu edition?

  1. Then please explain why there is SO MUCH Vista user satisification, and how Vista has over 200 million registerd licenses, and is growing at over 20 million a month.

    IF Win 7 is “Vista 7″ what would make Linux Unix 2.0 right ??

    Its just a plain and outright stupid thing to say.

    Sure, I know you would love vista to be a failure, after all your whole FOSS model is based on putting down the oposition as opposed to creating a quality product yourselves.

    But hey, why create a quality solution when you can just create yet another “distro” to dilute and divide the FOSS community, and if thats not enough why dont you fight amount yourselves for awile regarding I dont know the use of a programming language as being “bad”. Why, because you dont like a certain company.

    But keep going, you continue to marginalise the FOSS community and confirm to everyone just the kind of people you are. Bitter, childish, purile, hatefull fanatics.

    Good luck with that, but FOSS is an epic failure its just taking you alot of time to work that out.

    Posted by darryl | July 3, 2009, 11:25 pm
    • Then please explain why there is SO MUCH Vista user satisification, and how Vista has over 200 million registerd licenses, and is growing at over 20 million a month.

      Why is Vista gaining so many new users? Because Vista is what is installed on people’s computers when they buy them. Why are people so happy with it? You be trolling, son.

      Sure, I know you would love vista to be a failure, after all your whole FOSS model is based on putting down the oposition as opposed to creating a quality product yourselves.

      Ooh, flamebait. Linux developers spend all their time trolling Microsoft. Of course. Now I understand why nobody ever gets any work done. So that’s the reason Firefox, OpenOffice, Apache, MySQL suck so much.

      But hey, why create a quality solution when you can just create yet another “distro” to dilute and divide the FOSS community, and if thats not enough why dont you fight amount yourselves for awile regarding I dont know the use of a programming language as being “bad”. Why, because you dont like a certain company.

      Yeah, freedom. It’s pretty neat, isn’t it?

      But keep going, you continue to marginalise the FOSS community and confirm to everyone just the kind of people you are. Bitter, childish, purile, hatefull fanatics.

      Good luck with that, but FOSS is an epic failure its just taking you alot of time to work that out.

      You’re adorable. Can I keep you as a pet?

      Posted by bambambox | July 4, 2009, 3:01 am
      • Hi Bambambox!

        I’m not sure if you will want him as a pet, although ravingstein proved that your average MS faithful is prepared to say anything and in terms of “pets” I think he would be far more entertaining!

        For the record of readers ravingstein has not developed for or contributed to Red Hat, that I am sure and since I have contacts that do, if he wants to dispute that he can and I will be able to confirm. (ravingstein, contact Red Hat with your details and ask them to confirm)

        My guess is he wont. I believe it to be a lie to try and give some validity to his point.

        Looking at Mr Hussains site, I bet he wishes that he hadn’t censored me. Thanks to my input he received the biggest hit of comments I believe any of his articles have ever had. Looking at his recent ones, he’s back to normal with precious little discussion by anyone. He allegedly gets paid for his work? Maybe I should call XP users lazy, will anyone pay me?

        There you go Mr Hussain, I mentioned your name again. Mr Hussain, I am writing an article on your site (I never realized how many silly remarks you made) Why not follow up on your threat? I’m waiting.

        Posted by openbytes | July 4, 2009, 5:24 pm
    • Win7 in WinNT 7
      Linux is
      L inux
      I s
      N ot
      U nix
      So, it’s not unix 2
      Shows how much you know about *x

      Posted by xD | July 9, 2009, 9:37 pm
  2. Quote “Then please explain why there is SO MUCH Vista user satisification,”

    Eh? Even the mainstream off the shelf press does not appear to support Vista. Enterprise in the main has not migrated (please research yourself if you doubt that) and if Vista is as great as people make out then why would Microsoft offer a downgrade option?

    This is all by the by since one only has to Google the word to find out the real feelings.

    Moving onto your next point, I would dispute any figures (and since you have given no source) even more so, but what you have to consider (if we want to go down the route of figures) is that Linux is alleged to have 10%, I am unsure as to Mac and when you consider most people (including myself) when they make a new PC purchase get Vista OEM, means that I am included for 4 Vista sales, yet I never once used it and upon purchase removed it from my new system.

    Quote “IF Win 7 is “Vista 7″ what would make Linux Unix 2.0 right ??”

    If you want. It wasn’t the point. If you had read my comment I said that there should not be an issue with Windows 7 being connected to Vista since the people who champion it claim its great.

    Quote “But hey, why create a quality solution when you can just create yet another “distro” to dilute and divide the FOSS community,”

    Quality solution? What are we refering to here? In respect of the diversity of Linux, yes there are plenty of flavors, but you can look at it the same way as “many brands of petrol, but they all run in your car”

    Whilst some try to cheapen the diversity and amount of Linux distro’s I think its a good thing, since someone’s distro can be very different to the next, it further makes exploits/malware harder to produce, since there is no standard IMO. The other good thing is choice. Until recently I had not been impressed with KDE as a DE (having been a Gnome fan) thats now changed, but I’ve also found myself tempted by fluxbox.
    To me choice is one of the key advantages.

    Youre comment about dividing the FOSS community is simply wrong and a common mistake when people think FOSS is simply Linux. It’s not, and as I said in a previous article, I know XP users who use and champion FOSS alternatives for their platform.

    Quote “and if thats not enough why dont you fight amount yourselves for awile regarding I dont know the use of a programming language as being “bad”. Why, because you dont like a certain company.”

    Maybe you’ve made a typo, that comment doesnt make sense. Are you refering to the MONO movement within Ubuntu? Please clarify then I will answer.

    Quote “But keep going, you continue to marginalise the FOSS community and confirm to everyone just the kind of people you are. Bitter, childish, purile, hatefull fanatics.”

    How? Childish? How? By quoting other articles? By daring to put my own opinion?

    You obviously havent thought about your post properly. In your first few lines about “dividing the FOSS community” it implies some genuine concern about it. You then go on to say:

    “Good luck with that, but FOSS is an epic failure its just taking you alot of time to work that out.”

    And thats not childish, hateful and bitter? LOL.

    The only insulting thing I find in your post is that you have such a weak argument. FOSS Epic failure? Maybe you have never seen that Firefox has taken a chunk out of the IE market. FOSS an epic failure? What about OpenOffice? the list goes on, I wont. Since you seem to think FOSS = Linux, its apparent to me you are arguing about a subject you know nothing about.

    EDIT: Waiting for Daryl.

    Whilst we wait to see if there are anymore revelations from Daryl regarding his theories on what FOSS is, I’d like readers to consider my post.

    Have I said Windows 7 is going to be bad?

    Have I said not to bother with it at all?

    I think you will find the answer to both those questions is no. What I am saying is keep in mind Vista, consider what alternatives there are to you (as I said before in a previous article, if you want to stick with XP, it doesnt matter what other people say), and also consider when you hear something negative about an alternative, in many cases its a severely distorted and in anycase is probably something which Windows has been reported as being guilty of.

    Daryl implies that Vista is a success and thats fine, thats his opinion. Why then does he seem so reluctant for an interference to be drawn that Windows 7 has got more than a passing similarity to it?

    Posted by openbytes | July 4, 2009, 12:06 am
  3. Good luck with that, but FOSS is an epic failure its just taking you alot of time to work that out.

    Talking about epic failure kind of reminds me of…Bing, which can’t survive without GNU/Linux

    Posted by Rui Seabra | July 12, 2009, 10:45 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: s5h.net » Blog Archive » More Signs That Vista 7 Will be Another Vista - July 12, 2009

  2. Pingback: How Microsoft Gags Dissenters and Bribes or Rewards Supporters | Boycott Novell - July 12, 2009

Leave a Reply

about.me

Tim Wilson

Tim Wilson

Writer/Novelist of many facets both in the world of technology and fantasy/sci-fi. Co-host of the TechBytes audiocast and writer for both OpenBytes and Goblin's Domain. Supporter of free and open source software.

Stats

  • 529,445 readers

Follow Tim on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,579 other followers