//
you're reading...
Games

REVIEW: ALIEN ARENA

My first online FPS for Linux.  A 300meg ish deathmatch game, that is completely free of charge.

But how does it play?

Very well.  The games are fast paced and there are plenty of those annoying experts who jump around avoiding your bullets and bragging when you are dead.  The game has plenty of weapons to pick up.  You have your traditional rpg’s and machine gun types, to your lazers and all sorts of other fragging weapons.

I really enjoyed the games.  You have capture the flag, traditional deathmatch and others.

So is it Unreal Tournament? Well not really, but its certainly a great game, the GFX are crisp.  The fun is none stop and better than that its completely free.

You can also play single player, but then this game is meant to be enjoyed with others online, so dont expect too much from a single player game.

Now onto some issues I had.  At first connecting to servers simply shut down the program, without error message.  After managing to join a server, and waiting a good while for maps etc to download, I finally found that I could connect to all the servers I tried.

The other problem I encountered, was when I exited out of the game, Alien Arena had changed my resolution so I had to do a reboot to return everything back to normal.

These issues aside I had a great time with this game.  I just wish I could find a server that doesnt have any of those experts on it!

The game was tested on Ubuntu 8.04 and downloaded from its repository.  There were no installation or setup issues.

Visit the official site of Alien Arena by clicking here!

75% – A great game, not much depth but great fragging fun online!

About Tim Sparrow

Online tech writer, novelist/author of sci-fi literature and co-host of the TechBytes Show! I believe in multi-culturalism & diversity. Luton Town FC supporter.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: ALIEN ARENA

  1. I also have the resolution problem, a good fix is to hit ctrl-alt-backspace. This is like a reboot but takes less time (about three seconds of black screen and then you get the login screen again.) Basically it shuts down the graphical interface and all your programs, but the system processes stay there.

    Also, if you want a game at your own level, try joining any of the “beginners” servers, anyone who joins one of those who clearly isn’t a beginner is kicked and even banned.

    You may have a better experience on an “unlagged” server. I’ve played games where my framerate stayed above 100 the whole time and I had 300 ping.

    Posted by Max | September 9, 2008, 5:28 am
  2. Sorry, forgot to tell you, you should also know that the version in the repositories is out of date (last I checked,) so try getting the game from red.planetarena.org instead, or better yet try the SVN version at svn://svn.icculus.org/alienarena/trunk.

    Pull down the game console by hitting ~ and you should see either “v.7.10″ (stable) or “v.7.12″ (SVN.)

    Posted by Max | September 9, 2008, 5:34 am
  3. Thanks for that. I will update my version.

    Having said that, what Ive played so far is great.

    Posted by openbytes | September 9, 2008, 8:56 am
  4. Yea its an awesome game, the devs have and still are putting alot of work into it, I’ve been sitting back since Oct. 06 watching its transformation into a masterpiece. :D

    Posted by Assassin` | September 9, 2008, 1:02 pm
  5. Having looked at the latest version, I find the problems I experienced before are gone.

    Assassin, If I am right you are a MOD on the Alien Arena forums?

    If so, could you pass on my thanks to all those involved in the creation of the game. Great job!

    Ill certainly be detailing future versions of the game and look forward to fragging you in the game (after Ive practiced a bit more)

    Regards,
    Openbytes

    Posted by openbytes | September 9, 2008, 10:33 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: ALIEN ARENA v7.21 - FPS Action on a distro near you! « OPEN BYTES - Championing FOSS, exposing FUD! - February 7, 2009

Leave a Reply

about.me

Tim Wilson

Tim Wilson

Writer/Novelist of many facets both in the world of technology and fantasy/sci-fi. Co-host of the TechBytes audiocast and writer for both OpenBytes and Goblin's Domain. Supporter of free and open source software.

Stats

  • 521,202 readers

Follow Tim on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,897 other followers